We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience! Best inn we've been to!”
Review of Big Island Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Big Island Retreat
Ranked #3 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience! Best inn we've been to!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Seaside Suite, which is the largest suite. We were very happy here because it is very spacious and had everything we needed. No need to even pack beach towels! The bed was super comfortable, the room was extremely clean, bright and airy with windows all around. We also had a very large lanai where we enjoyed our coffee every morning. There is a big outdoor communal kitchen that we used a few times for barbecuing, but mostly we just used our kitchenette as it had everything we needed - toaster over, toaster, coffee machine, kettle, big fridge. The inn is a little difficult to find at first - but we just called Randy, told him we were lost and he helped us find our way. We can't wait to come back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JLP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
111
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Paradise room while on the big island. It was just perfect. Not too big, not too small. The lanai was cozy. The room is very colorful and exactly like the pictures, which was nice - instead of having photos that are made to look better than the actual thing!The welcome basket was a treat, we especially loved the shortbread (and looked for it on every other island we went to later!). Randy was very responsive in terms of reservation and suggesting places to visit. The snorkeling just across the road was fabulous! We almost couldn't believe how close we were to such a spot :) We did make use of the beach gear kept at the BnB.
It was a bit tricky to drive up to the BnB the first time (once you turn off off the main road) but just keep going up the tiny road till you see a sign for it on the right. Our flight got delayed when we reached Kona but even so there was someone to welcome us and show us the place once we reached, around midnight. Somehow we were billed twice but Randy was super quick to fix that once we brought it to his notice. All in all, a wonderful place to stay. Mahalo for everything!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gupta-Lopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Big Island retreat is a quaint, quiet, cozy little getaway. Hidden just off of Alii Drive at the north end of a lovely beach that is well known for snorkeling. The decor gives a perfect Hawaiian ambiance. It is an amazing feeling when you wake up to the sound of the birds each morning, have coffee on the lanai, share a meal in the common kitchen. Beds are super comfy. everything is squeaky clean, Great for couples of all ages. You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - some are a little larger than others but all are adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktill50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Big Island Retreat is a gem! Me and my wife stayed in a number of great places in Oahu, kauaii and the big island. In fancy resorts, hotels, and swanky apartments. Nothing beats Randy and Shannon's place though, we have really enjoyed our stay at BIR so much. You can pretty much read it all in prior reviews, no need to repeat all of it.

We do want to mention a few special points, one being the price. We almost didnt book it because we really wanted a super place to stay, and from our experience you need to spend quite a bit anywhere on Hawaii to get a gorgeous place. The reviews, rightly so, changed our mind and we are so happy that we booked it and stayed those 4 nights in the Ocean (or Sea.) View room. Beautiful!

Very spacious, clean, airy, great decorations, beautiful colors, lovely welcome basket with lots of treats, complete kitchenette, super veranda with ocean view.. All great. Sleep on the sound of crashing waves.. Oh, and of course we shouldnt forget to mention the awesome bed! The whole house is very pretty, this is what a great bnb should be like, with a communal area, access to laundry facilities for a very small fee, and all sorts of beach equipment to borrow. Outdoor kitchen with bbq.

Randy was the perfect host, so incredibly nice and helpful. He really will do whatever possible to make your stay a great stay. Gave us great tips for places to visit. If all bnb owners had about half his energy and passion, traveling would be even better. Randy and Shannon really make this place so special.

We will absolutely come back to BIR whenever we visit Hawaii again, in fact, this place will even make us travel back sooner!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan and Th... Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first time to Hawaii Island and aside from falling in love with the island itself, Big Island Retreat was the perfect base to explore from. Whilst a little tricky to find at first, Randy was on hand to take a call from our transfer driver and ensure we arrived safely. We stayed in the orchid room which was just beautiful, partial view of the ocean and lovely airy, light feel. The welcome hamper was a lovely touch - fresh pineapple, granola (which came in handy for breakfast) and macadamia nuts - and whilst the room was plenty big enough for the two of us (kitchenette included) there was a lovely downstairs area to sit and relax - which we did! Just across the road from the Big Island Retreat is a beautiful bay where you can snorkel and see lots of fish - some endemic to the island - as well as turtles. The local shuttle bus is fairly infrequent, but, if you get the timetable from the driver, it's really easy (and cheap) to get into Kona for dinner and / or drinks. We went to Huggos to watch the sunset which was a definite must do. We also went on a trip to the summit of Mauna Kea, and a trip to swim with the spinner dolphins. Would highly recommend both of these. Thank you Randy for having us stay at Big Island Retreat and I hope we can come back one day!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StuartandLaura_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

What a WONDERFUL place to stay! The only sad part for us is ... not having more days to spend at the Big Island and Big Island Retreat.

Reservation
Randy was so friendly and helpful from the beginning (reservation process). It was a real easy process and when I had questions, he was just a phone call/text away. He was very responsive and helpful. I am not sure if he sleeps ... because no matter what time I text, he answered immediately, even in the middle of the night (due to different time-zones). He took the time to describe the different room options and helped me pick the perfect room for our stay. Randy also bent over backwards to get us a late checkout because we have a late/ evening flight. Trust me, you won't find anyone else more genuine and helpful. Randy is an amazing host!!

Room
The Big Island Retreat is a real treat! Randy and Shannon thought of every little detail to ensure your stay is perfect! Our room had a really nice lanai with ocean view. The bed was an awesome 4-poster bed and comfortable. Everything was decorated tastefully! The room and all the public areas (lobby/living room and kitchen/eating area) are stocked with everything you need. Every time we said, "I wish I had a ....", all you need to do is look around. They have it in one of the drawers or cupboards. They also had beach towels, snorkels, boogie boards, etc. .... even sunscreens, that you can use. On top of that, we received a wonderful Welcome Basket of local treats - a really nice surprise!

The gas grill was awesome. We went to the KTA supermarket down the street and s..picked up a nice filet of Ahi Tuna. In less than 10 minutes, we were eating deliciously-fresh grilled tuna steaks.

Lots of pros (near Kahaluu beach, Keauhou shopping center, great customer service, amazing rooms) but We can't come up with a single cons!

If you need a place to stay, just book it - you won't regret it! But do yourself a favor and stay more than 2 nights ..... Or else, you will kick yourself afterwards. I did! And when I come back to the Big Island again, this is where I"ll be staying!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berry_Smoothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAngeleshiker
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Given the saying of "you get what you paid for" and the relatively limited reviews of the Big Island Retreat we were initially skeptical. However, upon arriving we realized that we had it all wrong. Randy was so friendly and constantly showed his appreciation for us coming to stay and really made us feel welcome. The premises are well equipped for those who plan on staying for at least several days and had we known we would have stayed there for much longer. There is a BBQ area with full cooking facilities so you can grill to your heart's content. Also, there is a full kitchen in the room with dishes, cookware and a full size fridge.

The room was beautiful (we stayed in the Seabreeze room) and the bed was really comfortable. Everything was new, spotless and clean. There is a huge porch where you can chill, see the sunset, eat etc. and you literally sleep to the sounds of the waves. There is a terrific snorkeling area right across the street and about a 2 minute walk from your front door. Randy has all the gear and sunscreen available but in case it's in use you can rent everything that you need for next to nothing right next to the property. There are also laundry facilities on location for a small fee so you can really have a comfortable long-term stay.

The only regret that we have is that we didn't stay for longer. This is definitely far better than the major hotels and you get so much more and pay so much less.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
4.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,819 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.7 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Island Retreat

Property: Big Island Retreat
Address: 78-226 Kahaluu Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Island Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautifully maintained and landscaped property with five bright, well-appointed, clean guestrooms. We are just steps from Kahaluu Bay, which offers excellent snorkeling and surfing, but tucked back off the main road so the atmosphere is tropical seclusion. Each guestroom has its own private lanai, bathroom with tub-shower combo, refrigerator, convection oven, electric hot water kettle and coffeemaker. Additionally, we provide the following complementary amenities: use of beach equipment, garden sitting room with library and games, and gazebo with gas BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Island Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Island Retreat Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing