We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$350
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$216
US$205
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$176
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Tiki Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village(Kailua-Kona)
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,064)
Filter reviews
3,064 results
Traveller rating
2,600
275
106
57
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,600
275
106
57
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerking's pondpalm groveeagle rayswim up barcultural centerbeach tree poolgolf courseulu restaurantadult poolcold towelsthe big islandquiet poolmoment you arrivebeach houseice waterour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,672 - 1,677 of 3,064 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I have had the pleasure of staying here twice now. We were frequent guests at the fairmont orchid but since staying at the four seasons this has become our new favorite. Everything about the property is exceptional from check in to check out. The rooms are beautiful and well appointed with the high point (for me) being the outdoor shower. The staff go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. Loved Ulu bar also, spent a few evenings snacking on sushi and sipping pineapple honey martinis....paradise!! Can't wait for our next trip

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rona_kami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the resort for 5 days in May and still talk about how much we loved the property. We were lucky enough to have a ground floor room in the wing that surrounded the adult pool (complete with swim-up bar) with just enough privacy for newlyweds but also a nice view of the ocean. The service was excellent overall and, when we encountered a hiccup at the spa, the hotel did go out of their way to make sure we felt everything was handled fairly (as an aside, I note that the Kona property's "hot stone massage" was more hot stone than massage and wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for much massage).

The unique design, which winds along the beachfront so that no room is too far away from the ocean, in a way that feels very Hawaii and close to nature (unlike many of the other 5* properties I've stayed at throughout the islands) is reason enough to visit-- but make sure to stay for the food. We had amazing meals, every meal, and really enjoyed watching the sunset from the sushi bar at ULU. Breakfasts at ULU were also worth writing home about, I'd love to get the recipe for their healthier take on eggs benedict. My husband loved that they brought local coffee producers to the property for breakfast so we could sample their brews.

Our only regret was that we didn't have more time as we had to leave for Lana'i after 5 days. In summary, this is one of a very short list of properties that we intend to return to ASAP.

Room Tip: Ask the concierge or reservations agent for the best crescent for your needs-- some are better suited to families and others for adults. Rooms on the ground floor have outdoor rock showers.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AttyOut2Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The resort is stuffy and we encountered two hotel staff members who where rude. We had a large group of friends at the swim up bar pool. There was only one other hotel guest there who joined us. We decided to turn on the iPhone for music because there was none, Kasie H and JeanneB told us to turn off the music. Now we had just spent a half of day there spending money on drinks and food for approx. 10 of us, and again no other hotel near by, and we where told to turn of our music. ( the request by hotel staff got heated). This place is perfect for someone in their late 70's who raises early and goes to bed by 8. If we wanted to talk and joke around we needed to go to the kids pool area. But the pool we were at is the quite pool before 3 and after that you can talk at a low level, but again why the swim up bar?? I would not recommend the property and would go to another near by that has nightly entertainment.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice, the lower room have a outside rock shower.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We apologize that we did not meet your expectation and value your feedback.

The vast majority of our guests appreciate the tranquility of our Palm Grove Pool but we do understand your point of view and we will be looking at ways to accomodate all of our guests needs. It was certainly not the intention of our pool service staff to be rude when asking you to turn off your music during our tranquil hours at the pool and we apologize.

Thank you,

Chris White
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

No wonder why this place won a Traveler's Choice Award! The Four Seasons continues to impress us no matter how many resorts or times we visit.

This was our first trip to FS Hualalai, and a much needed trip since we had our first child. We were bringing him to make it a family vacation. We wanted to go somewhere tropical, but with the safety of U.S. This fit the bill perfectly. We booked through AMEX Fine Hotels and Resorts to take advantage of the complimentary continental breakfast, dining credit, and room upgrade.

I had called in ahead of time that we were bringing our little boy and needed a crib. They were happy to provide a complimentary crib, changing table and bath tub. They even asked if we needed a sound machine and baby monitors. We did ask about babysitting services, and though they didn't provide it directly from the resort, but used Malihini Keiki Care.

We checked in around one and were happily greeted by the valet staff with leis and a member of the front desk. He gave us fresh cool towels and Mai Tais. Our room wasn't quite ready but it was worth the wait. We were upgraded to the Ocean Front Room with Outdoor Lava Shower (#801), in front of King's Pond.

We checked in and were greeted to a pleasant surprise. The Four Seasons embroidered my son's name on a bib! As well as providing us some baby shampoo, lotion, and other goods, as well as a diaper genie. When we walked to the bathroom, the baby bathtub was already there, and the staff had drawn fish, turtles in bathtub.

The hotel is two stories tall, and every room has a lanai/balcony. There are three pools, one "activity pool" which is where the kids pool is, and one quiet pool, and one adults only pool with swim up bar (the chairs are almost always taken by 9am!). The adults pool have their own drink menu. There are four restaraunts, 'Ulu (which is where breakfast is served), Beach Tree (near the quiet pool), Hualalai grill, and Residents Beach House (which is open to hotel guests too). The spa, gym, sundries shop is off a little ways from the resort, but its a short walk. There is also snorkel area called King's Pond, which has their own Eagle ray and several species of fish.
The beach area is rather small and you can't really swim in the ocean there, due to the waves and rocks. But there is a swimmable area , where it is protected by rocks so you have a calm pool to swim in.

Also, sea turtles usually laze around the beach area in the afternoon and worth a look. Don't touch them as it's illegal to pester them.

The staff and service were impeccable. We were always happily greeted by name, and offered a ride to wherever we wanted. On the trip to the resort, I had forgot a piece of our stroller at home, which rendered it useless. I called the front desk, looking to rent a stroller, and they happily let us borrow a stroller they had around. The crib they provided us was nice, but the sides were too tall for my wife. We called the front desk again, and they happily exchanged it with a pack and play.


The pool service was the highlight of our trip. The hosts were easily located, and always checked in on us. We met Danny who greeted us everyday we were there, and Cat, who was very sweet. One day, we were at the pool, and it was nap time for our baby, so she helped bring out a pack and play to the pool, and pulled down the shades to the cabana. Another time, my wife and I were on the beach (sans baby), and Caitlyn, one of the pool managers said we can go the adult pool if we wanted to. We said all the chairs were probably taken, but she said she can call over there and reserve us two seats. Ashley, who was also great, was working there that day and took great care of us.

We went on several date nights by ourselves, and left the babysitting to Michiyo, a sitter from Malihini Keiki Care, took great care of our son.

This resort was a wonderful first vacation for our new family. It was wonderfully child friendly, yet it allowed us to relax and feel far away from it all. Thank you to the staff there, and we definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rkmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

If you get a chance to stay anywhere where there is a Four Seasons hotel then you really need to consider booking the place. Like all Four Seasons this hotel lives up to the name and reputation.
We had a beautiful room overlooking the golf course. I actually like the golf course view more than an ocean view. Perhaps to save some cash or perhaps because I'm not an ocean girl.
We had a fantastic experience at this place.

Room Tip: The golf course view was very nice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgirl f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews