We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Every moment from arrival to departure was perfect. Rooms are spacious and well appointed, resort is stunning, restaurants excellent. Range of activities on offer is enough to keep you busy if thats what you want, but just walking along the beach is breathtaking. Can only hope that I will get to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 74pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,397
    237
    91
    48
    22
See reviews for
796
1,343
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my family spent 6 nights in this resort. We are a family of three, and we booked an ocean view room. The whole experience was just amazing. We spent only one day out- to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. When we arrived, the atmosphere was relaxing and tranquil. A true resort-like feeling. (The night before were spent at FS Maui, and FS Maui was more like a luxurious hotel than a resort.) We were driven to our room by a buggy. The room was big enough for three people with an extra bed. The indoor decor was Hawaiian style, which exceeded our anticipation. I recommend that if you want a room with real ocean view- book an oceanfront room at least. We could hardly see ocean from our lanai, but the view was not bad whatsoever-the room over looked a big, well-maintained lawn. The service was great, especially the concierge- right after we confirmed our car rental the night before our one-day trip to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, they asked us if we need any help. We said sure, and they took a map out, which was adorable, and started to help us on arranging our itinerary. We followed the route they recommended and had a wonderful day. Their concierge was extremely helpful and impressive.

Their restaurants were actually very good. We could see the Kona sunset every single day- it was indeed gorgeous. Bring up to there swimming pools- all of them were fantastic. The king's pond was the best of all- we went snorkeling in the pond three times during our stay! The Ka'upulehu culture center was unique. We learnt to play ukulele and their traditional dance, and the experience was unforgettable.

Overall, the whole experience was like an epic. Everything was managed so elaborately that made every detailed faultless. But I strongly suggested that they make the same housekeeper to clean the same room during the period of time when the same guests stay in a room for consecutive days. In that the housekeepers can know what guests are accustomed and make all the service personalized.

We will be back!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank terencehuangtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Greetings from Hualalai!

Your review of your recent vacation with your family here at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai put a huge smile on my face. It is always our intention to provide the most memorable vacation possible for our guests and your kind words let us know that we achieved our goal. We hope you will visit again and again to enjoy the resort and all that the Big Island has to offer.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I think I previous reviewer for its title was just book it. This stay has created a dilemma for my wife and I which travel quite frequently for pleasure- i do not know if we will be happy staying anywhere else. This was our 10th trip within a year with 3 at other FS properties- Maui, Nevis and Chicago and the others at mostly RC properties. Upon arrival, reception drink and cool towels and in the room giant chocolate covered strawberries and champagne. On the night of my wife's birthday we were out all day and when we arrived back to our room there was a birthday cake with candles and a card. This design of the property left us in awe and every staff member we came in contact with were true professionals- engaging and personable. Dinner at beach tree restaurant was excellent having dinner there 4 nights with my wife requesting several recipes, ULU was good also. We did not go into the ocean as there was only a small beach swimmable area that looked rocky - nothing like seven mile beach on grand cayman or beaches in provenciales on Turks and Caicos island with long stretches of aquamarine water and smooth white sand but the quiet pool was great with attentive service- water, cool towels, pineapple and frozen rum Popsicles. Location is so close to the airport- one left turn out of the airport property and a left turn about 10 minutes away and you have arrived in paradise and perfection. Also we noticed the weather was much sunnier and drier at this location. One last point- the bed was so comfortable I just contacted the hotel to make inquiry on the brand and where we can purchase one.

Room Tip: We had the most basic room- golf with ocean view but was close to reception and were able to park in...
See more room tips
Green Features: Soaps and shampoos in refillable containers- we were fine that.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kap117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Aloha!

I remember the first "Just Book It" review and your "Just Book It 2" was equally interesting to read and so gratifying! I am happy that you chose Hualalai as the place you wanted to celebrate your wife's birthday. In my biased opinion, this is a perfect spot to celebrate all special occasions. We are blessed to have wonderful weather year-round with sunny days and occasionally rainy nights. Mahalo for your vacation summary, "you have arrived in paradise and perfection." What a lovely compliment!

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of assistance to you. Hurry back to our little slice of paradse.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have had the pleasure of staying here twice now. We were frequent guests at the fairmont orchid but since staying at the four seasons this has become our new favorite. Everything about the property is exceptional from check in to check out. The rooms are beautiful and well appointed with the high point (for me) being the outdoor shower. The staff go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. Loved Ulu bar also, spent a few evenings snacking on sushi and sipping pineapple honey martinis....paradise!! Can't wait for our next trip

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rona_kami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the resort for 5 days in May and still talk about how much we loved the property. We were lucky enough to have a ground floor room in the wing that surrounded the adult pool (complete with swim-up bar) with just enough privacy for newlyweds but also a nice view of the ocean. The service was excellent overall and, when we encountered a hiccup at the spa, the hotel did go out of their way to make sure we felt everything was handled fairly (as an aside, I note that the Kona property's "hot stone massage" was more hot stone than massage and wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for much massage).

The unique design, which winds along the beachfront so that no room is too far away from the ocean, in a way that feels very Hawaii and close to nature (unlike many of the other 5* properties I've stayed at throughout the islands) is reason enough to visit-- but make sure to stay for the food. We had amazing meals, every meal, and really enjoyed watching the sunset from the sushi bar at ULU. Breakfasts at ULU were also worth writing home about, I'd love to get the recipe for their healthier take on eggs benedict. My husband loved that they brought local coffee producers to the property for breakfast so we could sample their brews.

Our only regret was that we didn't have more time as we had to leave for Lana'i after 5 days. In summary, this is one of a very short list of properties that we intend to return to ASAP.

Room Tip: Ask the concierge or reservations agent for the best crescent for your needs-- some are better suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AttyOut2Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The resort is stuffy and we encountered two hotel staff members who where rude. We had a large group of friends at the swim up bar pool. There was only one other hotel guest there who joined us. We decided to turn on the iPhone for music because there was none, Kasie H and JeanneB told us to turn off the music. Now we had just spent a half of day there spending money on drinks and food for approx. 10 of us, and again no other hotel near by, and we where told to turn of our music. ( the request by hotel staff got heated). This place is perfect for someone in their late 70's who raises early and goes to bed by 8. If we wanted to talk and joke around we needed to go to the kids pool area. But the pool we were at is the quite pool before 3 and after that you can talk at a low level, but again why the swim up bar?? I would not recommend the property and would go to another near by that has nightly entertainment.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice, the lower room have a outside rock shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We apologize that we did not meet your expectation and value your feedback.

The vast majority of our guests appreciate the tranquility of our Palm Grove Pool but we do understand your point of view and we will be looking at ways to accomodate all of our guests needs. It was certainly not the intention of our pool service staff to be rude when asking you to turn off your music during our tranquil hours at the pool and we apologize.

Thank you,

Chris White
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

No wonder why this place won a Traveler's Choice Award! The Four Seasons continues to impress us no matter how many resorts or times we visit.

This was our first trip to FS Hualalai, and a much needed trip since we had our first child. We were bringing him to make it a family vacation. We wanted to go somewhere tropical, but with the safety of U.S. This fit the bill perfectly. We booked through AMEX Fine Hotels and Resorts to take advantage of the complimentary continental breakfast, dining credit, and room upgrade.

I had called in ahead of time that we were bringing our little boy and needed a crib. They were happy to provide a complimentary crib, changing table and bath tub. They even asked if we needed a sound machine and baby monitors. We did ask about babysitting services, and though they didn't provide it directly from the resort, but used Malihini Keiki Care.

We checked in around one and were happily greeted by the valet staff with leis and a member of the front desk. He gave us fresh cool towels and Mai Tais. Our room wasn't quite ready but it was worth the wait. We were upgraded to the Ocean Front Room with Outdoor Lava Shower (#801), in front of King's Pond.

We checked in and were greeted to a pleasant surprise. The Four Seasons embroidered my son's name on a bib! As well as providing us some baby shampoo, lotion, and other goods, as well as a diaper genie. When we walked to the bathroom, the baby bathtub was already there, and the staff had drawn fish, turtles in bathtub.

The hotel is two stories tall, and every room has a lanai/balcony. There are three pools, one "activity pool" which is where the kids pool is, and one quiet pool, and one adults only pool with swim up bar (the chairs are almost always taken by 9am!). The adults pool have their own drink menu. There are four restaraunts, 'Ulu (which is where breakfast is served), Beach Tree (near the quiet pool), Hualalai grill, and Residents Beach House (which is open to hotel guests too). The spa, gym, sundries shop is off a little ways from the resort, but its a short walk. There is also snorkel area called King's Pond, which has their own Eagle ray and several species of fish.
The beach area is rather small and you can't really swim in the ocean there, due to the waves and rocks. But there is a swimmable area , where it is protected by rocks so you have a calm pool to swim in.

Also, sea turtles usually laze around the beach area in the afternoon and worth a look. Don't touch them as it's illegal to pester them.

The staff and service were impeccable. We were always happily greeted by name, and offered a ride to wherever we wanted. On the trip to the resort, I had forgot a piece of our stroller at home, which rendered it useless. I called the front desk, looking to rent a stroller, and they happily let us borrow a stroller they had around. The crib they provided us was nice, but the sides were too tall for my wife. We called the front desk again, and they happily exchanged it with a pack and play.


The pool service was the highlight of our trip. The hosts were easily located, and always checked in on us. We met Danny who greeted us everyday we were there, and Cat, who was very sweet. One day, we were at the pool, and it was nap time for our baby, so she helped bring out a pack and play to the pool, and pulled down the shades to the cabana. Another time, my wife and I were on the beach (sans baby), and Caitlyn, one of the pool managers said we can go the adult pool if we wanted to. We said all the chairs were probably taken, but she said she can call over there and reserve us two seats. Ashley, who was also great, was working there that day and took great care of us.

We went on several date nights by ourselves, and left the babysitting to Michiyo, a sitter from Malihini Keiki Care, took great care of our son.

This resort was a wonderful first vacation for our new family. It was wonderfully child friendly, yet it allowed us to relax and feel far away from it all. Thank you to the staff there, and we definitely will be back.

Green Features: They grown their own food, and harvest moi fish, and shrimp (in the water hazards on the golf course!). They also support local farmers.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rkmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing