We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel and service ever had experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This hotel and resort have the best service i have ever receive from my travel, My first trip to Kona with my Wife, we were surprise at how welcoming the staff at the Four Seasons are.
1. When we were just strolling along the pool and walking towards the trading Shop, staff who walk past us will greet and offer us water.
2. Golf Course very well maintain and it is beautiful again the Staff will come up to you and give tips and what ever you need, is at hand
3. Room is big and comfortable, we have some slight problem with the room air-con, give a call to front desk and it was fix when we came back from dinner, and the maintenance staff left us a voice mail to apologize the trouble we have to go through and explain the fault. (again another great Service)
4. Upon Check out, there a little error with our bill, went to front desk, again no questions ask from the staff and fix the problem for us.
5. Breakfast was nice but i just found it a little pricey but having said you are getting the best quality food from the island and many items are made by the chef.
We Stayed there for five nights, will definably go back to Kona Four Seasons again Next Year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CK2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Aloha from Hualalai!

I am delighted to hear that you and your wife had a truly memorable first trip to our resort. As you discovered, we are fortunate to have a staff who are so willing to extend their aloha, which comes naturally since our employees enjoy working in such a lovely setting. I am happy you mentioned the food. At least 75% of the ingredients used in the preparation of the meals in our restaurants is locally sourced, from vegetables, meats and seafood, plus our culinary staff is happy to make special items requested by our guests.

We will hold you to your promse to return to visit next year. In the meantime, have a happy and healthy 2014.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,836)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,440 - 1,446 of 2,837 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Hands down the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at in the world. We stayed here for the last 2 nights of our honeymoon. We should've stayed at least another night! Hotel upgraded us to a room with a better view for our honeymoon. Greeted us with mai tais served in a coconut at check in and some local nuts. Room was impeccable. We took the advice of other tripadvisor guests and got a room on the lower level of the bungalows so that it would include the outdoor volcanic shower. Very cool!

Dusty and Candace were the standout employees! Candace at the Beach Tree restaurant talked the kitchen into staying open to serve us dinner as we arrived late at the hotel on our first night and the kitchen had closed about 10 minutes earlier. She stayed late and gave us 5-star treatment. Dusty is one of the on-resort drivers who takes you around in the golf carts. We coincidentally had him drive us 2 or 3 times, including check out. He's a gem! Polite, friendly, smart! Dusty & Candace provided the type of extraordinary service that Four Seasons is known for.

I tried having a tennis clinic at the club at the resort. Unfortunately, between a miscommunication from the Concierge and the rude staff at the tennis resort, this didn't happen. I play a lot of tennis so this was going to be a bit of a treat, so it was very disappointing that it didn't pan out. I phoned the hotel before departing on the honeymoon and they said i didn't need to book in advance and could sign up in person; this wasn't really accurate.

On the other hand, we ended up taking a golf lesson from the head pro at the world-class golf course. This was money well spent. The head pro (can't remember name) was incredible! We could've listened to him all day long!

We tried the buffet breakfast one morning and it was excellent with tables right on the beach. Our last morning, we ordered room service. The staff set up everything on the outdoor terrace. They unfortunately forgot half the food and got one of the two main dishes wrong. But they fixed it soon enough. I felt bad having the server go back and have to fix it. But given the prices, was hard not to make sure we got the correct items.

Last but not least, we went twice to the gym and the spa. The gym was closed the first morning for repair. Understandable but surprising they couldn't fix it in the off hours. The spa was awesome! Hands down the best spa i've ever been to! Excellent service! Very expensive, but a great experience! A small gecko did end up in my food after the treatment though! This made for a great photo and i loved it, but I could imagine this being undesirable for others. I guess that's what happens when you have an amazing spa that happens to be outdoors on a tropical island.

We will return to this hotel hopefully sooner rather than later! This hotel was 100% better than the Hilton Resort in Waikaloa where we spent our first few nights! If the other Four Seasons in Hawaii are anything like Hualalai, then we will have to experience those as well! Extraordinary overall!

Room Tip: Get the lower level in the bungalows with access to the private, outdoor volcanic rock shower. An aw...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at the FS Hualalai. We had such a wonderful overall experience. We typically travel to the FS Wailea every December for her birthday week, but this time decided to try Hualalai. It was spectacular. The setting of the hotel, the grounds and landscaping, and the rooms are phenomenal. We were upgraded to an ocean view room by the King's Pond. It was very quiet, and had a nice view of the pond and ocean from the lanai. It was on the bottom floor, so- as others have stated- was a little loud from the guests upstairs, and the view was not quite as nice as a second floor room, but it did have the outdoor shower which we used every day and really liked. We spent most days at the Beach Tree pool, which was great, but then discovered the Palm Grove (adults only) pool, which we preferred. The one thing we were very impressed with was the food- the ULU was fantastic- the regular menu items as well as the sushi--, and we also enjoyed the Beach Tree. The menu had a nice variety of dishes and everything we had was just delicious. There really was no need to leave the resort to eat. The breakfast buffet at ULU also was so good. We like to work out in the morning when we are on vacation, and the jogging trail and the fitness facility were great for this- it really was a bonus. Overall, this was one of the most amazing places we have stayed at. But to be fair and critically helpful, we will also mention the very minor things that could be improved upon.. One is the service at the pool- not always prompt, and the drinks served at the Beach Tree were not very good. A couple of days the jacuzzi at Beach Tree was luke warm/cool, but this was corrected. One night we ordered a pizza at the Beach tree and the chef forgot to put the toppings on it. The waitress brought out the missing toppings and told us we could just put them on top of the pizza at the table (?). One thing we knew when we booked, was that the beach was not really for swimming, and we saw this as a slight drawback. There is one small area where you can get in the water, but it is still a little rocky and it is a very confined area. We really like the beach at Wailea compared to this. But this is typical of the Big Island I suppose- rocky, volcanic coastlines- beautiful but not so conducive to swimming/snorkeling. We don't want these very minor criticisms to imply any disappointment whatsoever- this is a beautiful place and was one of our most amazing vacations ever!. Highly recommend...

Room Tip: Suggest rooms around the Palm Grove pool for "tranquility"
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muffinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Greetings from Hualalai!

I am so pleased to hear that you had one of your "most amazing vacatons ever." Thank you for your observations/suggestions which we will certainly follow up on. We too wish we had a lovely white sand beach, but we try to compensate with 5 swimming pools, including King's Pond which was designed as a snorkeling pool.

We hope you and your wife will make plans to return to our little slice of paradise for her birthdays and perhaps to celebrate other special occasions.

Than you for taking the time to share your experiences.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I will likely echo what you've already read. Nobody does it like Four Seasons. It's the little things that stand out. The constant sense you are being pampered. "Oh, please, let me move your beach chair for you". "Did you want your sunglasses cleaned?" "Care for a smoothie shot?" And if you know Four Seasons, you know to bring your wallet. This is a lovely property but what made it particularly special was the lava walled outdoor shower. Every ground floor room has this additional space with orchids and palms. Soaping up takes on a new meaning. Spa has individuals huts for treatments and is available daily for open use. Don't miss the new-to-menu chicken and waffle breakfast!

Room Tip: ground floor rooms with lava shower a must
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLemonCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Aloha from Hualalai!

I agree 100% with you that the outdoor showers are not only unique, but totally refreshing. Showering surrounded by orchids is a special treat which I am happy you experienced. Thank you for the lovely compliments you heaped on us. Hurry back for more pampering!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stunning locale. Beautiful, immaculate, spacious and exceedingly quiet rooms with a view of the ocean 70 yards away. Lush, varied and expertly designed landscaping. Wonderful ~2 mile waling path along the ocean. Spa staffed with seasoned professionals who masterfully applied their skills. I was always greeted by name, "Hello Mr. XXXX", which was stunning. Did they sit around at night and memorize all the guests names? Crazy. My favorite feature of our room was the outdoor shower. I took two showers a day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Aloha!

You are so kind to write such a glowing review of your visit to our beautiful resort. As you discovered, we are blessed to have a wonderful staff who are so willing to extend their aloha. I loved your question, asking if the employees sit up all night to memorize our guests' names. Our guests quickly become members of our 'ohana and it is easy to remember family names!!

We hope you will visit many times in the months and years to come. Please let me know if there is ever anything I an do to assist you.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

After being solicted for an upgrade to a suite for double that the price of our room, we were given a musty smelling room with a damp rug and it was dark. We waited 5 hours after arriving to get into a decent room. We had no coffee service in our room for the first two days. We did not get turn down service the first night.
The beach is not good. The staff is great and courteous but we did not feel compensated for the ruin of our first day there. I don't think the rooms are up to the standard we have experienced in other Four Seasons properties, like the Seychelles or Koh Samui.
A yoga class cost $150. We think that is insulting. The massage in the spa was marginal. The spa is too dark.

Room Tip: Be careful where your room is located.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Lephiphanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This resort has ruined me for any other resort. The grounds were well kept, the food was amazing and the staff was the most courteous people I have encountered in the hospitality industry. I was there for 7 days and during my stay I was greeted by name and my food and drink orders were remembered. I don't know how they did it. I also have a nut allergy and they accommodated my meals and desserts accordingly. The golf was fabulous as well as the spa. If you have a lot of activities planned, be sure to leave at least one day to stay on the resort and explore or relax.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are great for the view but the ground floor rooms have outdoor private showers.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Greetings from Hualalai!

What a lovely review!! Thank you/mahalo for the wonderful compliments you gave our staff. We are happy to hear that we "ruined" you for any other resort. That is our goal! I am also happy to hear that you had a full week here to discover the spa and golf. There are so many wonderful activities right here on property that many guests never leave the campus.

We hope you will return many times in the months and years to come. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is ever anything I can do to assist you.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
15.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
12.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
9.4 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £608 - £1,414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing