We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the best !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Every trip back to Hualalai is always amazing
the whole package is really hard to beat
This time it was spring break and my daughter and I had a fantastic stay
The management gave us a great room as close as you can get to the water
sleeping with the sound of the ocean is always magical
The restaurants have quite improved for me and the Beach Tree has improved by leaps and bounds
I really enjoy alternating all of them as that makes the experience
Can't wait for my next trip

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,386 - 1,392 of 2,876 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Best hotel experience ever. I was here for an awards program and did not want to leave the property or come back!

From the the beauty of the property location to the outstanding service provided the trip will last as one of my best travel destinations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecrea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

recently stayed here for several days. This has to be the best Four Seasons anywhere. They truly think of everything. Rooms are stunning, yet intimate & comfortable. loved the outdoor shower in our room Bed was super comfortable and bathroom was amazing. Service was impeccable. highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: first floor rooms have outdoor shower, upper levels don't, but have the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KateB990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I would raise my rating of this resort with just a few alterations on their part. This is a very expensive, exceptional service, gorgeous place with many amenities and one of the most wonderful staffs we have encountered anywhere. A few suggestions: Be aware that you need to make meal reservations as soon as you book or you will not likely get what you want - this is a bit crazy as you don't have a lay of the land or an understanding of the nature of the restaurants before you see and/or experience them.....Tell them if your children have birthdays while there as they do a marvelous job of celebrating at all meals if you like, by the poolside, and even decorating the room. The birthday cake was incredible - they even had little green geckos climbing all over the cake (fake of course!).....Bring a kite and blow up inner tubes for kids.....Bring beach shoes to go into the ocean as there are a lot of rocks and lobsters down there!!....Get to the snorkeling pond early as they only take 14 kids adults to feed the stingray each day.....Understand that kids 4 and under eat free at all meals but only if you are in a restaurant.....Beech Tree is the best restaurant for kids - best food and service too with a lawn where they can play and dance to the music......Sign your kids up for the art projects on the lawn behind the family pool - lots of fun but can be pricey. Downsides - the Kid's Club toys and games need not to be in a state of disrepair and there should be someone there at all times to supervise and assist (not to baby sit). They need more wait staff at every restaurant at dinner time (Beech Tree the best in this regard). They should raise the free food age to 5 from 4 - this age child doesn't eat much and food here is very expensive throughout the resort. Be prepared for a chaotic airport scene when you leave! We had a marvelous family week and, with few exceptions, loved this Four Seasons. Despite its classiness, it is very casual!

Room Tip: We were in rooms 302, 303 (lower floor), and 511, 512 (upper floor) - all reasonably quiet and reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lkweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Aloha and Mahalo!!

The suggestions you gave people who will be visiting Four Seasons Resort Hualalai were "spot on"! The more information we have regarding preferences, special celebrations, etc. gives us an opportunity to not only provide the best possible experience, but allows us to get to know our guests even before they arrive. And yes, we encourage everyone to make as many dining reservations, spa appointments, golf tee times prior to arrival to ensure a stress-free vacation. Thank you for mentioning this.

I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful family vacation and hope you will continue to visit with us when we will strive to earn the highest scores!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We recently spent four nights at this resort (we then traveled to Four Seasons Lanai Manele Bay which I reviewed separately). After a disappointing stay at the Four Seasons Nevis several years ago we hadn’t been back to one of their resorts. When we decided to visit the Big Island I finally convinced my husband we should try this resort given the great reviews.

We were not disappointed. During our entire stay there was not one misstep. The service was great and you could tell the resort makes it a priority. Everyone we encountered was friendly and knowledgeable. The resort offered many amenities, large and small, that make a luxury property.

We loved the organization and flow of the property with the various pool and beach areas and the way the buildings were spread out. We were visiting at prime time and the resort was very busy but it never felt that busy. We saw families with small children having a great time and our group of four adults had an equally great time.

The breakfast buffet is nicely done and we were happy we booked the Bed and Breakfast package. We also had a fabulous dinner at Ulu and a very good dinner at the Hualalai Grille. Lunches were also very good. I would recommend making dinner reservations ahead of time as I did wait too late and had trouble getting our preferred times. We also had a wonderful off property dinner at Merriman’s in Waimea.

Our family takes a “beach vacation” every spring, generally to Hawaii, the Caribbean, Central America or Mexico. We’ve stayed at some very nice places but our standards are pretty high and we’ve yet to find a place that we loved enough to make a return visit. We all agree we’ve just found that place. Very well done Four Seasons Hualalai! We look forward to seeing you again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank 299SueF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Amazing experience. If you have a chance to stay here it's a must do. Very family friendly, tons of things to do for everyone. They have a snorkel pond with 4000 fish and an eagle ray to swim with. Service was impeccable. Didn't want to leave and planning trip back sometime soon.

Room Tip: golf course rooms are more quiet and fantastic for honeymooners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Quick summary: Four Seasons Hualalai is an amazing resort and worth the splurge, especially with kids. The grounds are beautiful, you hear the ocean everyone, the fitness center is awesome, and the hotel staff were all kind and helpful. My wife and I traveled with my parents and our 2-year old son. We all plan to return.

************

The resort has a great location in Kona and there are two beach restaurants that are unsurpassed in terms of proximity to the ocean, view, and experience. Despite the hotel being at 100% occupancy during spring break, it did not feel over crowded and we were able to get chairs setup at every pool.

The quality of amenities was very high, especially the indoor-outdoor fitness center, tennis center, and spa facilities. (We did not golf during our stay but have heard great things about the course). As others have mentioned, the sand is a bit course and the beaches are not the reason to visit this resort (although it has an awesome shoreline and is one of few places in Hawaii where you can see turtles chilling on land). However, this resort has awesome pools, especially Kings Pond which is a great spot to snorkel, feed an eagle ray, and have your kids experience a touch tank where they can hold starfish, sea cucumbers, and more in an educational setting. The kids pool has its own beach with plenty of toys available. There are washing machines and laundry + detergent throughout the resort, helping guests to travel light, or in our case, lighter.

And one more note on the kids - the hotel caters to and cares about your kids. The staff got to know our son and some interacted with him on a first name basis. The hotel had a list of complimentary items that guests can request for their kids, including baby bathtubs, toilet seats, and video monitors. Also, kids under five eat for free. We did not use the kids for all seasons but heard great things.

TRUE 5-STAR SERVICE - One thing the Four Seasons does better than anyone is to consistently provide superior service during the entire stay, from checking-in, to setting up the pool chairs, to the bellman gathering your bags. It feels like every staff member is invested in your relaxation. At Hualalai, we could not pass staff on a pathway without their cart slowing down to ensure our safety and wish us an aloha or good morning. I can only imagine staff training must be intense.

And one last note on service: Unlike other luxury hotels chains we've experienced, Four Seasons staff members are empowered to make decisions. You will almost never hear, "let me check with my manager or you are welcome to speak with my manager". What you hear instead is: "no problem, I will take care of that." This is the Four Seasons difference - they truly want you to have an enjoyable, hassle free vacation and go above and beyond their role and responsibilities to ensure that happens.

If you are willing to splurge, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Ballgame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian R, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai.

On behalf of the entire staff and myself, thank you so much for taking time to write about your experience. We certainly appreciate your glowing words of praise about our property.

Mahalo, Mahalo and we look forward to your next stay !

Florian Riedel
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
15.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
12.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
9.4 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £679 - £1,521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing