We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay for your birthday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to stay for your birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I believe this is the best hotel to stay in while on the Big Island. it was my birthday and at every point of contact a staff member wished me a sincere "happy birthday". The service, food, accommodation and spa were all top notch. It truly is a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Greetings from Hualalai!

I agree with you wholeheartedly that Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the perfect place to celebrate special occasions, birthdays especially! We hope you will return to celebrate more birthdays (or just to celebrate life)!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,192
    217
    79
    40
    19
See reviews for
717
1,229
39
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai for a week in April to celebrate our son's graduation from culinary school.
Every member of staff, from concierge to grounds keepers showed us excellence in professional and thoughtful hospitality (from the time of inquiry for booking and throughout our stay) that sets the standard for the industry.

The location and grounds are beyond beautiful and set the stage for a wonderful experience alone.
But it is the impeccable attention to detail at every turn, with every interaction throughout the duration of our stay that has impressed me enough to take the time to write this review.

The Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu manifests "Aloha" to it's fullest meaning, right before your eyes.

By the way, the food is excellent too !

I highly recommend this resort to anyone visiting Hawaii.
And we will certainly be coming back to stay here in the future.

Room Tip: There are choices for rooms and locations to meet everyone's needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Greetings from Hualalai!

Congratulations to your son on his graduation from culinary school and thank you for choosing Four Seasons Resort Hualalai as his celebration destination! As you discovered, we are blessed to have a wonderful staff who are so willing to share their genuine aloha with our guests. This is an amazing place to work and visit, and we all are grateful to our wonderful guests who choose to visit with us. We will hold you to your promise to return soon.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

There have been so many reviews written about this resort, it is difficult to add something really original but I will try.

Appearance: The 15 minute drive from the Kona airport is through a bleak lava field but then you turn left on to Ka'upulehu Drive to the lush green grass of the golf course. The road flows through the golf course until you reach the entrance to the resort. One of the most impressive features of the resort is the landscaping. I am not sure what was here before but now it is an idyllic tropical paradise with a profusion of plants and palm trees. Beautiful. Every day, there were numerous staff tidying and maintaining the grounds.

Rooms: We had a room in the King's Pond crescent. This was perfect for us. It had a natural feel and the pool is only open from 10 am to 4 pm making it quiet at the start and the end of the day. The rooms are not spectacular but they are very comfortable with great beds and all of the amenities you would expect in a 5* resort. Housekeeping was twice a day and the room was perfectly cleaned and tidied each time. The refillable bath and shower products were of a very high standard and do show a commitment to the environment.

Food: We did not have a disappointing meal the whole time we were there. The Beach Tree was our favourite because of the more relaxed atmosphere but the food in Ulu was excellent and we had a very good lunch at the Resident's Beach House. The breakfast buffet in Ulu was excellent and we really enjoyed lingering there in the mornings. Did not try the Hualalai Grill. We did have dinner on the beach one night, it was of a very high quality but it is expensive and may not be for everyone.

Facilities: The resort has everything on site that you could want. In addition to water sports and other acitivities, there is an interesting cultural center giving some insight into Hawaiian culture. You really don't have to leave but if you want to go out for a day, the resort can organise a rental car.

Beach: Some people comment that the beach is not perfect but it is good. Ocean access is difficult but as a place to sit, soak up the sun and watch the waves, it is hard to beat. There is an idyllic beach about 15 minutes walk south from the resort. Well worth a visit.

Spa: The Spa is excellent with a lap pool, saunas and plunge pools open to all guests. The fitness equipment is first class. We did not attend any of the classes but by all accounts these are excellent.

Staff: Everyone we encountered was helpful, professional and very welcoming. Some people went above and beyond what we expected: from the person who took care of a tray that I was carrying back to the room, to our morning server, Noi in Ulu, who learnt to make tea exactly the way we British like it!

Events: We were there with family and friends for our wedding. A big thank you to Carly and her team for making it such a relaxed and enjoyable occasion. The package offered may seem expensive, but when you consider what is included, it represents excellent value.

A couple of hints that we think might be helpful. When the resort is busy, it is a good idea to make restaurant reservations in advance of your arrival. The resort has a very different feel depending on what crescent you stay in. King's Pond has a more natural feel and the limited hours make this a quiet area in the mornings and evenings. Sea Shell crescent seems to be family oriented and "busy". The crescent around the Beach Tree is a mix of all worlds and the Palm Grove crescent has the feel of a couples only retreat.

Overall: This is an expensive resort but considering the location, the service and the amenities, we considered it to represent very fair value. Definitely worth a splurge.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are a little bit brighter but the downstairs rooms have the outdoor lava showers. Har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utah_fan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Aloha from Hualalai and congratulations on your marriage!

We are thrilled that you chose Four Seasons Resort Hualalai as your wedding destination and we are delighted to hear that every aspect of your stay was exceptional. I truly do not think I can add anything to your very positive review except to say thank you ... mahalo for sharing your observations. We hope you will visit many times in the future, perhaps for every wedding anniversary.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

People who rate this place with anything other than 5 stars are grouches.

Unbelievable property, excellent service, exceptional restaurants, beautiful guest rooms.

We will certainly return to this resort and would recommend it highly to all of our friends.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Greetings from Hualalai!

You really put a smile on our faces! What a lovely review. Thank you for sharing!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Four Seasons on the Big Island. We stayed for one wee during April 2014, with the intention of relaxing, eating and having spa treatments. The services were without a doubt impeccable. Whenever we needed something everyone was only too glad to help us with whatever. This includes the folks around the pools, the concierges, the restaurant staff...literally everyone had a smile and was eager to help. We loved the adult only pool and the pool with the swim-up bar. The gyms are amazing...love that the aerobic and weight rooms are separate. The spa was over the top...with outdoor steam and sauna. The locker rooms are stocked with lovely potions and creams. For those wanting a nearby shopping experience, any of the boutiques are loaded with beautiful choices. These are just a few of the details describing our stay. I would recommend this destination to anyone wanting a luxurious and relaxing vacation. Kudos to the entire staff at The Four seasons.

Room Tip: Loved the second level room looking over the adult only pool, Room #2312. Very private. Some prefe...
See more room tips
Green Features: Had recycling in the rooms and many other places in the resort.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabethanne1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Wonderful hotel, perfect service, relaxed and professional personnel though it was easter weekend and the hotel thus fully booked… thanks! Especially the silent pool, both restaurants, one more classy, one with a more relaxed beach atmosphere (and nice pizza - we are from Europe and now what that means…;-)…) are recommendable.
Worth every penny, made us change our mind - we will come back to Hawaii though its the other side of the world...

Room Tip: Spend the money and go for a partial/full ocean view - it is worth it, sensational sun sets. Some...
See more room tips
Green Features: No one way soap, several initiatives for recycling, but no (negative) impact on luxury, atmosphere or whatsoever - so a very good impression on our side.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KuhlmaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Aloha from Hualalai to Germany!

We are delighted to hear that even though you are on the other side of the world, you will return to Hualalai! That is the greatest compliment you could pay us. Thank you for sharing that you had an incredible vacation even though it was Easter and the resort was busy. The layout of the resort with several crescents and swimming areas gives everyone plenty of space with no feeling of being "crowded."

We will hold you to your promise to return to Hualalai. Please let me know anytime I can be of assistance to you. Thank you for your extremely positive feedback.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

A once in a lifetime location and resort to stay at while visiting the Big Island. The outdoor shower was a great way to start or end your day. The food was awesome, who knew you could get wonderful Italian fare on the Big Island. (The Boathouse Italian dishes rule) The spin and yoga programs were a great way to burn off a bit of energy and relax the mind!!! The location on the Big Island is awesome, great sights aplenty and a fantastic golf course. A memorable experience for me and my wife!! Thanks Four Seasons.

Room Tip: Ask for the hotel room with the outdoor showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Greetings from Hualalai!

We are delighted that you and your wife discovered Four Seasons Resort Hualalai and that you a memorable vacation experience. I think you discovered the magic of Hualalai - enjoy the delicious Italian food then burn it off with yoga and spin classes. We can return you home as fit as when you arrived!

We hope you will visit many times in the months and years to come. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is ever anything I can do to assist you.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
12.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the legendary Kona-Kohala Coast of Hawaii Island, Hualalai is a Hawaiian destination unlike any other. Blessed with 863 acres of lush oceanfront beauty, authentic Hawaiian artistry and the highly customized services of the award-winning Four Seasons, Hualalai is a holistic, sustainable and globally renowned community that continues to set the standard by which all other resorts are measured. Hualalai inspires and enriches every experience, forever transforming and connecting the lives of all who come here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing