We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly first-rate resort with local elegance & style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The setting is fantastic and the style of the whole resort in terms of architecture and how it blends into the environment is the most iconic here for us. We've been here many times of the years and it is consistently beautiful with signature Four Season service and everything is excellent.

There have been some minor ups and down with the menu at some of the restaurants and the service is not stellar 100% of the time. But, this is one fantastic 5-star resort that gives a wonderful Hawaiian flavor to your stay. I won't nitpick on what is "authentic" and so forth, but they shoot for something here which is simply elegant, not ostentatious, and very at-home for Hawaii and it works extremely well.

Work with the staff or concierge to pick the right room as that can make a key difference in your stay -- see below for why. The breakfasts and dinners at the main restaurant are simply amazing with the setting and view. The golf courses are excellent and really enjoyable to play. The second may only be available to residents and their guests. If you have an opportunity to play on either and are a golfer, make sure you do.

A slice of tropical heaven.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the different clusters of bungalows and which are by quieter adult pools and which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,499 - 1,505 of 3,030 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai in April and let me tell you, it has set the bar for any future holidays I may take!

The resort itself is beautiful. The grounds are impeccable and well maintained. All of the staff, from the concierge, to the maintenance to the front desk staff, are incredibly welcoming and helpful. Every time you walk past someone they great you with "Aloha." When we arrived we were greeted with a lei and a mango mojito. A great way to start our holiday!

We spent some time at the adults only pool, the beach and the family pool. The adults only pool has a swim up bar and very attentive bartenders and waiters. The drinks were all wonderful! We ate at all the restaurants on the property and every single one of them was amazing. Try to get a reservation at Beach Tree for dinner to watch the sun set. I also really enjoyed the sushi at Ulu. Incredibly fresh!

I would HIGHLY recommend staying at this resort. It is expensive but worth the investment. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAK_2780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience.

I will be sure you pass on your compliments to the staff.

We look forward to the chance to welcome you back to Hualalai

With warmest aloha

Chris White
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A great authentic experience laced with luxury. Great staff, rooms, services, and grounds. Had a few business functions on grounds and they were very well done. Decor, food, drinks, and service was impeccable. A lot of attention to detail.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186nadiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic week-long vacation at the Four Seasons Hualalai. From the personal check-in to the late check-out and the use of the spa to freshen up before our plane ride out, the service was fabulous. Although this is a large resort, we never felt crowded or rushed, and the service at the pools and on the beach is fabulous. If you want a specific beach or pool location, try to claim it before 10 am. We ate at both the ULU Grill and the Beach Tree restaurants at the resort, and they were delicious, although we preferred the Beach Tree, which is an Italian restaurant. Make reservations before you go if you can. The price at dinner is comparable to a nice dinner elsewhere on the island, but cocktails are more expensive. The Palm Grove pool bar (the adults-only pool bar) is fabulous, particularly Cory the bartender, who grows his own herbs for the drinks. The breakfast buffet is also quite good. The hotel was also extremely helpful in planning and booking excursions for us. Additionally, if you venture out exploring on your own, order a picnic from room service- it comes packed to stay cool all day. Request a lower-level room with an outside-shower- they are beautiful. This is both a family-oriented and a couples-oriented resort, so if you are travelling without children, I recommend requesting a room near the adults-only pool- it's a little quieter. Overall, we had a great time, and will be back!

Room Tip: Request a lower-level room with an outside-shower- they are beautiful. This is both a family-orient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I LOVED this resort! Everything about our stay was wonderful. The staff-everyone you come across, from the checkin and concierge to housekeeping and engineering was so welcoming. I think it must be mandatory if staff sees a guest to say 'aloha.' Everyone said it no matter what time of day! And it was genuine, nothing seemed forced here. I love that the hotel is going green an deli mating individual bathroom essentials and instead refilling large bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body wash, body lotion and after sun aloe lotion. They are all so luxurious too, my skin was so soft the whole trip!
I love that there is a laundry basket provided in your room to use with the complimentary washers and dryers scattered through the resort. It was so nice to go home with all clean clothes!
A beach bag is provided for use during your stay which is a nice touch. You have the option to purchase as well. It's super cute.
So many activities for the young and old! In the span of 8 days we fed the fish and eagle ray in kings pond, received 2 spa treatments, walked morning and night along the beach looking for turtles and crabs, ate like royalty (and gained 5 pounds!), snorkeled in kings pond and in the beach "pool", swam and laid out at the seashell infinity pool and on the beach, zip lining ( off site).night swimming with the manta rays (off site) and ate yummy shaved ice while watching the waves.
What we had the most fun with though was walking and exploring all the tide pools. Go to Walmart and pick up a pair of $10 water shoes and your feet are safe from the uneven lava- careful though still slippery! We went to the right past kings pond in front of the old kona village resort which is fun to look at as well through the fence. While walking the tide pools we saw a black tipped shark, swimming turtles, lots of crabs that had unfortunate endings :(, sea cucumbers, sea urchins and do much more!
I loved our time here! Counting down until we can go back. You will not be disappointed!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Stephanie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Aloha!

You certainly had an activities-packed Four Seasons Resort Hualalai vacation and I loved reading your review, "Relaxing yet exciting." There is so much to do (for all ages) or our guests can relax by the pools or on the beach if that is more their style! I join you in "counting down" until you can return to our little slice of paradise. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

My husband kept our honeymoon a complete surprise until we pulled away from our wedding after a big send off from family and friends. Upon our arrival in Kona we picked up our rental car and drove right into paradise.
From the moment we entered the property hospitality was at its best!
Waiting on us in the lobby were fresh squeezed mai tais and the easiest check-in we've ever experienced.
The staff was helpful, friendly and we enjoyed the most incredible honeymoon!



eever ever imagined

1  Thank Meredith L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Resort is amazing, staff are friendly and learn to know you very fast. Spent most of our time when not doing work functions at the swim up bar pool, staff remembered us the first day and took care of us all week. Resort is beautiful and green. Rooms were very nice and clean, beds and pillows were extremely comfy. I need those pillows here at home!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wickedfaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
12.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
13 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £669 - £1,309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing