We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the US, hands down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in the US, hands down.”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

From the second you check-in, with a personal hug and greeting, and a cocktail and lei, you know you are in heaven. I will not belabor the points others have made, but if you can't enjoy yourself at Hualalai you need a long look in the mirror. We like to chose a lower room for the outdoor shower option, and without kids the beach tree or palm grove side (or even the golf course side) are the best options. With kids, stay on the sea shell or kings pond sides.
Also do the bed and breakfast option. You eat enough at a late buffet that you can make it all the way to dinner. The bar at beach tree grill is actually fun with great bartenders and some locals. Don't pack too much--they have laundry right outside every building.

Room Tip: Lower floor for the outdoor shower.
See more room tips
Green Features: I like the sustainability of the place--they have made major improvements post Tsunami.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,392
    236
    91
    48
    22
See reviews for
792
1,342
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

No need to reiterate all the great things about this resort--- from the moment you check in you can tell this will be different. Eric at the Adult pool was fantastic and hard working. Concierge desk is extremely helpful.

Things to consider:

- just have to say that the wifi is terrible (I actually did a speed test on it and it was less than 0.5MB, and your home internet is probably 15MB). So you can pay an extra $20 per day for real wifi, but this all seems so counter-intuitive to the exceptional service you get everywhere else on the resort
- resort is located on the western (dry) side of the island. Many attractions are a far drive away. And given the perfection at the resort, it will be hard to get motivated to get out and see the island.
- tremendous fitness center. Not many restaurant options, and I can see how they would get old if you had a lengthy stay, as some mention.
- golf course was not crowded at all on Memorial Day weekend
- beach could be better, as many have noted, but it is still gorgeous. And the snorkeling pool seems under-utilized and definitely worth checking out

Overall this resort looks just like the photos on the internet, if not better. Clearly 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This resort sets the bar for luxury and perfection. It's hands down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. Yes, it's not cheap, but you get what you pay for. The service was excellent - from check in to check out and everything in between. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and accommodating. The resort itself is very large and spread out, which helps it feel quiet and serene. The rooms are fabulous and spacious (including a very large lenai) and even housekeeping was at the top of their game. The property is beautiful and the setting is very peaceful. There doesn't seem to be anything this hotel hasn't though of. My only somewhat negative feedback would be regarding the restaurants. The hotel is fairly secluded and the closest off property restaurant is perhaps 25 minutes away. There are several restaurants on property, but it can be difficult to get a reservation. If management could improve on that it would truly make for an absolutely stress free, relaxing experience. But that doesn't detract from all the other great things about this property. Truly an excellent experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Aloha from Hualalai!

Thank you for your lovely review. The widespread layout of our resort enables our guests to feel they are not elbow-to-elbow even when we are fully occupied. There are four restaurants and a casual Coffee Company and menus which offer a variety of dining options. We encourage our guests to contact our concierge team to make as many dining reservations, spa appointments, golf tee times, acivities, etc. in advance of arrival to have a stress-free vacation. Please allow us to help you plan your itinerary for future visits.

We hope you will visit many times in the months and years to come. Please do not hesitate to contact any of us for assistance in planning your trip.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It was really the best place I have stayed. Relaxing and worry/ hassle free. Excellent services, large room. An outdoor shower made it stand out over other places I have stayed in Hawaii and mainland.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Everything was near perfect! We stayed here four nights for our honeymoon. It started with their warm welcome in the lobby. We were greeted with leis, cocktails and a warm towel as we were seated in the beautiful lobby. I can't even call it a lobby and it's something you have to experience in person. The entire staff is super attentive and friendly. Everyone from the pool, front desk, fitness center, etc. The fitness center is the best we've ever seen with a huge lap pool, several work out buildings, lots of different classes and amazing locker room. A good variety of swimming pools and we especially enjoyed the adult pools. The landscaping and grounds are immaculate. The golf course is world class and jaw dropping beautiful. The outdoor lava shower is amazing. Every meal we had exceeded our expectations at the pool, breakfasts in our room and dinner. The snorkeling pool is pretty cool but snorkeling on the beach with the turtles was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We recently were here for a company incentive trip with a large group. Be prepared for quiet and serenity. This resort starts winding down at 10:30 and is completely shut down at 11:00. Focus is on being quiet so be prepared to whisper, even at the pool areas. One of the 4 pools was "kid" oriented so talking was allowed there. A little too serene for my liking. The resort was beautiful, clean, luxurious and service was impeccable as expected from Four Seasons. Spa and fitness areas were amazing which included large lap pool. Restaurants were good, but very expensive. A simple dinner for 2 (1 app, 2 mains) with a bottle of inexpensive wine (@$100) cost $280.00. A nice experience but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kane2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Greetings from Hualalai!

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations regarding your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai. With five main swimming pool areas, we like to think we have a place for everyone. Two of our pools are designed to be "quiet" pools and are enjoyed by people who want to read, nap or just relax. Families with children gravitate to the Sea Shell pool where we provide toys, kid-size chairs and even a couple of kid-size cabanas. King's Pond, the snorkeling pond, is enjoyed by all ages and the spa lap pool is ideal for our guests who like to stay fit. I am sorry to hear that you felt the atmosphere was a little too quiet for you.

We do hope you will return to visit with us again when you are looking for a relaxing vacation. We will do everything possible to build a happy memory for you.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel picked us up from the airport and we were attended to with priority right from the get go. All the staff throughout our stay addressed us or passed by us with a friendly Aloha greeting and made eye contact. I was there for a wedding and we were taken care of very well but the bride and groom were truly pampered which they deserved. The hotel restaurants were very well appropriated with food and amenities. It was a mini vacation to remember. I personally had a view of the 18th hole designed by Nicklaus and a view of the ocean just beyond that. Whoa!
My only negative would be to recommend arraigning your own cab service. The 'hotel' taxi service was more expensive than what could be arranged on your own. Great stay at a great hotel! Would do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezcemot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Administrative Assistant at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Greetings from Hualalai,

We are delighted that you had an opportunity to attend a wedding here at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, in my opinion, a perfect spot to be married. Our staff thoroughly enjoys pampering our guests and I am happy to hear that not only the bride and groom, but you as well felt the aloha.

I loved your comment, "would do it again in a heartbeat." We look forward to your return!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Otel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing