We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband did the Kona Ironman 70.3 and our family (with three young kids) spent our last night at the Four Seasons Hualalai after a one week stay at a rental property. Wow! Talk about saving the best for last! Check-in staff were cordial and accommodating and allowed us to use the pool and lunch on the property as our two partial ocean view rooms were not yet ready (it was about 10:00AM).

The property is massive with about 7 pools and we lounged around the cozy cabanas in the family-friendly Sea Shell infinity pool overlooking the beach. Food at the Beach Tree Bar and Lounge was satisfactory and the wine list was great! Order the cheeseburger but watch out for the birds.. they swoop down and nick your food when you're not looking. Dinner at the Hualalai Grille was average but the service and ambiance were excellent. We ordered the 3 Filet Mignons medium-rare which disappointed us as meat was dry. The wine list, however, was expansive and definitely a winner!

Connecting rooms were large and luxurious with a terrace and kids got personalized messages on their bathtubs and received gifts like stuffed turtle toys, caramelized popcorn & M&Ms, and a hula skirt. They were thrilled. We loved that they supported the local groups by purchasing their shampoo, lotion & body wash amenities from them.

The gym space was huge. There are separate rooms for the cardio equipment, weights and some machines were outside in case guests preferred a no-aircon environment. There were several studios as well for yoga and many choices of classes were offered during the day.

Overall, our only regret was not staying longer! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAtienza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,329
    226
    89
    48
    20
See reviews for
755
1,312
40
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I mentioned after my first visit that having stayed in many 5-star hotels, I am rarely surprised by a new resort. However, this place keeps on amazing you even after the first visit. It is truly a special place and I would consider giving it 6 stars if I could.

The services is very personal and friendly without being over the top far better than even some other well run places like the Four Seasons in Maui. The environment is serene and beautiful.

I think it is probably equally good without children, it is particularly great for families. The number of activities available such as the snorkeling pond and the kids club as well as the protected beach are delightful and classy without detracting from the enjoyment of adults.

I am a hardcore foodie and usually find the restaurants in these kind of hotels a bit lacking. The Four Seasons Hualalai, while not a gourmet paradise, offers very solid options. The made at your table ahi poke at ULU is my favorite in Hawaii.

I will no doubt be coming back as soon as I can manage.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Greetings from Hualalai!

Mahalo for sharing that if you could, you would give us 6 Stars! That is a wonderful testament to the lovely memories you have built while vacationing at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai. Thank you too for pointing out that there is a place and activities for couples traveling without children, families, honeymooners, etc. etc. We hope you will return many times in the months and years especially to enjoy the tableside poke presentation.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our first time staying at a Four Seasons resort... Enjoyed the very friendly and attentive staff. All our meals prepared at the four restaurants located on the property were delicious. Great sunset views from the Beach Tree lounge area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

From the second you check-in, with a personal hug and greeting, and a cocktail and lei, you know you are in heaven. I will not belabor the points others have made, but if you can't enjoy yourself at Hualalai you need a long look in the mirror. We like to chose a lower room for the outdoor shower option, and without kids the beach tree or palm grove side (or even the golf course side) are the best options. With kids, stay on the sea shell or kings pond sides.
Also do the bed and breakfast option. You eat enough at a late buffet that you can make it all the way to dinner. The bar at beach tree grill is actually fun with great bartenders and some locals. Don't pack too much--they have laundry right outside every building.

Room Tip: Lower floor for the outdoor shower.
See more room tips
Green Features: I like the sustainability of the place--they have made major improvements post Tsunami.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

No need to reiterate all the great things about this resort--- from the moment you check in you can tell this will be different. Eric at the Adult pool was fantastic and hard working. Concierge desk is extremely helpful.

Things to consider:

- just have to say that the wifi is terrible (I actually did a speed test on it and it was less than 0.5MB, and your home internet is probably 15MB). So you can pay an extra $20 per day for real wifi, but this all seems so counter-intuitive to the exceptional service you get everywhere else on the resort
- resort is located on the western (dry) side of the island. Many attractions are a far drive away. And given the perfection at the resort, it will be hard to get motivated to get out and see the island.
- tremendous fitness center. Not many restaurant options, and I can see how they would get old if you had a lengthy stay, as some mention.
- golf course was not crowded at all on Memorial Day weekend
- beach could be better, as many have noted, but it is still gorgeous. And the snorkeling pool seems under-utilized and definitely worth checking out

Overall this resort looks just like the photos on the internet, if not better. Clearly 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This resort sets the bar for luxury and perfection. It's hands down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. Yes, it's not cheap, but you get what you pay for. The service was excellent - from check in to check out and everything in between. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and accommodating. The resort itself is very large and spread out, which helps it feel quiet and serene. The rooms are fabulous and spacious (including a very large lenai) and even housekeeping was at the top of their game. The property is beautiful and the setting is very peaceful. There doesn't seem to be anything this hotel hasn't though of. My only somewhat negative feedback would be regarding the restaurants. The hotel is fairly secluded and the closest off property restaurant is perhaps 25 minutes away. There are several restaurants on property, but it can be difficult to get a reservation. If management could improve on that it would truly make for an absolutely stress free, relaxing experience. But that doesn't detract from all the other great things about this property. Truly an excellent experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Aloha from Hualalai!

Thank you for your lovely review. The widespread layout of our resort enables our guests to feel they are not elbow-to-elbow even when we are fully occupied. There are four restaurants and a casual Coffee Company and menus which offer a variety of dining options. We encourage our guests to contact our concierge team to make as many dining reservations, spa appointments, golf tee times, acivities, etc. in advance of arrival to have a stress-free vacation. Please allow us to help you plan your itinerary for future visits.

We hope you will visit many times in the months and years to come. Please do not hesitate to contact any of us for assistance in planning your trip.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It was really the best place I have stayed. Relaxing and worry/ hassle free. Excellent services, large room. An outdoor shower made it stand out over other places I have stayed in Hawaii and mainland.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing