We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wonderful first time experience at this resort. We had our 2 year-old daughter with us, and she loved the resort. Great service, beautiful setting, delicious food. Worked out everyday and used the beautiful spa. Expensive splurge but very much worth it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank HawaiiBoyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,409 - 1,415 of 2,982 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

There really is no place like this on the Big Island. If you want a memorable vacation that stands out from all the rest, just come here. The staff is wonderful, the rooms are comfortable, the amenities are terrific and the grounds are utterly gorgeous.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goblue1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for his 50th birthday. In advance of our arrival, I planned a surprise vow renewal. Everyone at the hotel did an amazing job planning, executing and keeping the renewal a secret! The views, pools, spa, and restaurants were great. You don't have o leave the property to experience a memorable time. Of everywhere we have stayed, we would definitely come back to this property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLDorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Greetings from Hualalai!

We are so happy that you chose Four Seasons Resort Hualalai as the destination for not only a special birthday celebration, but a vow renewal as well. Thank you for your positive feedback and promise to return. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were there for a week and still left wanting more. Breakfasts at Ulu are fabulous! The gym was great. I worked out at 2pm and I had it all to myself. I went at 8am and it was jammed. If you are traveling without kids the adult pool is the place to be.

Room Tip: If you don't want a long walk to your room make sure to ask to be near the main pool not overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaLeander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our family of four thoroughly enjoyed everything about The Four Seasons Hualalai! We had adjoining rooms that were beautiful and more than comfortable. The personal attention and service was so wonderful and sincere--every employee we encountered was genuinely happy to be there and to serve us in any way. The grounds were amazing and each of the pools had a unique atmosphere. It was a dream vacation! And while it is very expensive, we'd do it again and again--so worth it! We ate at BeachTree, Ulu, and had room service several times. All were outstanding--food, service, etc. Amazing place in every way! My husband and I stayed at the Four Seasons Maui two years ago (no kids) and felt the same way. Perfection!

Room Tip: The outdoor shower rooms are so nice! I highly recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Greetings from Hualalai!

What a lovely review! This resort is an ideal vacation destination for families since there are so many activities planned for younger children, water sports, tennis and golf for teens and their parents. As you discovered, we are blessed with a wonderful staff who are so willing to share their aloha and we are pleased to hear that you were the happy recipients.

We hope you will visit many times in the months and years to come.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you can imagine it, they have created it better. Service is top notch in every way and every spot. They go beyond on all fronts: Spa, awesome. Gym, better than home. Trained fish, check. Fabulous food, check. View to sweep you away, check. High price tag, check. Worth every cent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckybay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

When pulling onto the winding roads leading up to the resort the first thing you will notice is an absence of greenery. Instead, you will see a swatch of road before you, and natural lava rock formations on all sides. After a few more minutes in the car you begin to see life all around you. The vast swatch of bright green that is the award winning golf course, the trees create a canopy above you, and the fragrant tropical flowers hang low and lush, acting almost like a curtain that contains nirvana behind it.

We pulled up to the front and were immediately greeted by name. Ushered into the lobby we were again welcomed with leis, a cool towel, and a drink. The lobby itself is open air, masterfully crafted and breathtakingly beautiful.

We were driven by golf cart to our ground floor bungalow. The rooms are fantastic. Modern but with the spirit of old Hawaii. Beautifully appointed furniture, spacious, two floor to ceiling wooden shades covered an entire wall. The shades were opened and before us was a private veranda complete with dining table and chairs...and a view that was breathtaking. I witnessed large sea turtles basking in the tropical sun just a few feet from my vantage point.

The bathroom was gorgeous. Luxurious. As to be expected, but the most magical amenity was the outdoor lava shower. Picture large smooth blue slate stone under your feet. Tropical plants and flowers in the corners offer a sweet aroma. A thatched roof which lets the sunlight through and a shower which will quite literally wash any worry you have away at that moment. Imagine showering as the sunlight beams down, warming your body and illuminating the drops of water as if they were diamonds falling. Imagine in the evening as the soft light from the bathroom shines in listening to the crickets chirp and the waves crash feet away. Completely private and closed in, it was a dream come true.

The staff here is extraordinary, exemplary, and world class. You are treated with the utmost respect at all times. There is nothing more important to them that making sure you have a fantastic stay. As you stroll the grounds, employees talking will hush so as not to disturb you. As you lounge in the pool or on the beach staff will try to make you as comfortable as possible, bringing you water and towels and such. In room dining was fantastic, as was their restaurant ulu. I've never eaten so good in my life.

As for the grounds, they are unreal. Everything is manicured with the greatest attention to detail. The beach is beautiful. A small cove was created to shield their guests from rough surf. As you bathe in the lukewarm water prepare to be poked by curious fish and sea turtles. They won't hurt you! The waters are teeming with life, it is magic to see.

We were extraordinarily sad to leave this place. It is pricy, but it is absolutely, without a doubt, 100%, worth it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank thetravelkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
12.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
13 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
11.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £672 - £1,448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing