We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just what you expect”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

we took 4 days to get away and decompress and all of our expectations were met. Top 4 Seasons service and graciousness, plus a level of intimacy afforded by its small size of only about 250 rooms- all 2 story bungalos. We never left the grounds.
Hotel breakfast buffet was about the best we've ever had, but for other meals we strongly recommend theBeach House, which is just outside the hotel property line and is owned by a homeowners' association. They accept room charges and the food is amazing. Especially try the gaspacho and the grilled shrimp. The atmosphere is much more intimate than the hotel and you dont feel like a tourist.

Room Tip: second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Greetings from Hualalai!

Mahalo for your positive feedback! This resort does cater to people like you who need a short break from their hectic lives as well as people who are taking a long vacation in paradise. Our goal is to send everyone back home feeling refreshed with beautiful memories of the time they spent at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai. We hope you will remember us (and the delicious food) when you need another "refresher."

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,392
    236
    91
    48
    22
See reviews for
792
1,342
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were there for our first visit and honeymoon. We had heard a tremendous amount about the hotel and it met the expectations and hype. The service was impressive. Our room was at the King Pond area, which I highly recommend to honeymooners. There was a bottle of sparkling wine and Hawaiian cookies upon our arrival. Though the hotel was at capacity, there were always empty chairs and cabanas available for use at even the peak hours. The restaurants, spa, and other facilities were otherwise great. I would stay here again without doubt.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at Kinds Pond, ideal for honeymooners. Request one with an outdoor lava rock shower.
See more room tips
Green Features: No plastic bags. Refillable soap/shampoo/conditioners in rooms, and auto-air conditioner shut off when sliding doors opened.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Surprised my wife with a trip to the Four Seasons (we are avid Four Seasons fans...or, she is...). This trip exceeded MY wildest expectations. Such a beautiful property and amazing staff. Kudos to everyone from reception to food and beverage. Great job, Four Seasons, you've earned raving fans.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric4882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel was by far the nicest place I've ever stayed. We ended our honeymoon here and it was well worth the splurge. From the moment we walked arrived the service was phenomenal. The staff is on top of every little detail. The hotel tried to make our honeymoon extra special with a complimentary room upgrade.

The pools and beach were beautiful and there was plenty of room. We didn't have to worry about claiming chairs first thing in the morning and there were always plenty of options. The attendants at the pool were very attentive, always making sure we had water or clean towels.

The restaurants at the hotel are wonderful. Beach Tree was my favorite. I'm gluten free and every restaurant had a gluten free menu and the breakfast buffet had a gluten free section.

This hotel is a splurge but well worth it. I definitely hope to return here at some point.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALN610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This resort is amazing. This was our first visit. The resort is breathtakingly beautiful. The property is large and the buildings with the rooms are only two stories tall. No elevators for the rooms - just a very short walk up or down the stairs from the resort path to your room. The restaurants were fantastic. This resort is not next to any other resorts and hotels. Gives the feeling of privacy. Very relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Green Features: Wonderful landscaping. The resort setting gives the feeling of being in a beautiful tropical island, which is literally true.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas,TX
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We finished our trip to Hawaii on the Big Island after 5 night at the Four Seasons in Maui. Quite honestly, we have stayed in Maui at the Four Seasons many times and it blew away Hualalai. Don't get me wrong, Four Seasons Hualalai was extremely nice, but not like we had anticipated. I guess the build up was too much. We had 2 kids--17 & 14 --and my wife and I. We had connecting rooms that were on the 18th hole near the clubhouse on the ground floor. It was about 10-12 min walk to the breakfast restaurant, Ulu and another 3-5 min to King's Pond--which was excellent and we enjoyed very much. The rooms were very nice and the outdoor shower was nice. We had a great view of the 18th hole and a small sliver of ocean. I guess we were expecting a more of a wow factor from the rooms and the resort. Plus, we felt very removed from the heart of resort. The staff while nice, felt very out of touch. Just not the quality and care Maui gives. The restaurant, Ulu, at breakfast was decent the first 3 mornings and then dropped horribly the next 2 mornings. The birds were terrible as is the case in most Hawaii outdoor breakfast settings. The food was good, but not excellent. We tried a couple times to get into restaurants for dinner and we had no success. We finally had dinner at the Beach House, but had to eat at the bar. Our $200 bills resulted in very mediocre food and very slow service. Again, not what we expected from a 5 star hotel. The lack of reservations is tough because is a bit of a drive to go into Kona. I did golf one day and while the course is very, very nice, they had just sanded the greens and i was not told when i had made a tee time. Paying $275, you expect almost perfection. The round was to include unlimited play and unlimited non alcoholic drinks. I saw that person 1 time in 27 holes of play. Again, just average service for the money paid.
The best thing we encountered was the Kings Pond. We all enjoyed the complementary snorkel equipment and we did this several times. The views from all pools and restaurants were terrific.
We always finish a vacation with "would we return to this resort?" Our family was split 2 for and 2 against. That basically matches our rating of 3 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geauxtgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Greetings from Hualalai,

We sincerely appreciate the time you spent sharing your observations regarding your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai. I truly regret there were several areas which disappointed you and your family, including the location of your guest room and not being able to make dining reservations. We hope you will visit with us again to give us an opportunity to provide an exceptional vacation. Our reservations team will discuss various room locations and our concierge staff will be happy to help you plan an itinerary, including dining reservations, spa appointments, golf tee times, etc. when you hopefully will plan a future visit to our resort.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is ever anything I can do to assist you.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at this resort 11 years ago and from that experience we promised ourselves we would return. This trip we were not disappointed; from the moment you arrived to the sad time when you have to leave the staff was always there to make your stay one of the most memorable experiences you will ever have.

Room Tip: the rooms at the very end of the resort # 101 and 110 were the best for views and privacy. Room 110...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Otel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing