We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never leave the resort. It's a lifestyle.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Never leave the resort. It's a lifestyle.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Although we were not fans of Kona or the big Island, the Four Seasons Hualalai was amazing and we should have just stayed there and never left the resort. Our amazing room had it's own Lanai which was lit nightly with torches. We could literally climb the lava rocks down from our lanai and dive into a natural fish aquarium and snorkel. It felt like being out in nature yet it was developed. Through our large walk-in shower, we could step outside to a private outdoor shower. Showering outside every morning while the birds perch in trees around you is amazing. The food was fabulous and the pools exactly what you would hope for while vacationing in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Please ensure you receive a room on the snorkel lagoon with an outdoor shower off of your bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Aloha!

Your review is absolute poetry. I am so happy to hear that you had a lovely Hualalai experience and hope that you will return many times to build more storybook memories.

Mahalo and mahalo!!!

Rheba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,282
    222
    85
    46
    20
See reviews for
743
1,282
40
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I paid about a $1200 a night for 7 nights based on the reviews on trip advisor.
I wanted to see what the fuss was all about.

The GOOD:
I was impressed with the service, the staff ask for your room number and then address you by name whenever they are waiting on you at that location.
Did not feel very crowded.
I appreciate the eco-friendly philosophy.
We loved snorkeling at the Kings Pond.
Paying an extra $100 a night for an ocean view was worth it.

The BAD:
One of the themes that interested me was that there was a lot to do here. However, unless you want to pay $80 for your child to learn about science and pay $25 for each yoga/spinning etc class you take...there is not much that is complementary with your room. It was $50 a day to play tennis!!!! Apart from the swimming pools, there is very little else to do save view the sunset on the beach. This was a total bummer.
Food is more expensive here than Michelin star restaurants. A regular entree is about $40. A meal for two could easily be $200 without alcohol.
The eco-friendly part was sometimes taken to extremes, soap bars were not replaced unless broken into bits.
The beautiful floor to ceiling plantation shutters let in too much light and we were always awake before 6:30am due to the room being too bright.

Summary: This is a very unique hotel where you pay for good service and it does not feel crowded BUT they limit a lot of the fun with outrageous pricing for small things that are normally free when you call yourself a resort. I should have called before signing up.

Room Tip: The in-room lava shower for the first floor rooms was a nice touch.
See more room tips
Green Features: Its a bit much, soap was not replaced till it fell apart!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Greetings from Hualalai!

We are most grateful that you took the time to share your observations following your recent visit to our resort. There are quite a few activities to enjoy at Hualalai and many of them are complimentary. The Kids for All Seasons program is complimentary, but there is a charge for special events which are designed for the evenings when parents would like to have a quiet adults-only dinner. All of our Cultural Center activities (ukelele, hula, shell making classes) are complimentary. There is a charge if a special instructor is brought in to teach classes such as feather-making. There are complimentary yoga classes and snorkeling, which you enjoyed in King's Pond, is complimentary with snorkel gear provided.

When you plan another visit to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, please contact our concierge team who will be happy to assist you plan an itinerary to keep you busy at no additional charge! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room with an outdoor shower, which I think is one of the best amenities we provide!

Happy Fourth of July!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

we took 4 days to get away and decompress and all of our expectations were met. Top 4 Seasons service and graciousness, plus a level of intimacy afforded by its small size of only about 250 rooms- all 2 story bungalos. We never left the grounds.
Hotel breakfast buffet was about the best we've ever had, but for other meals we strongly recommend theBeach House, which is just outside the hotel property line and is owned by a homeowners' association. They accept room charges and the food is amazing. Especially try the gaspacho and the grilled shrimp. The atmosphere is much more intimate than the hotel and you dont feel like a tourist.

Room Tip: second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Greetings from Hualalai!

Mahalo for your positive feedback! This resort does cater to people like you who need a short break from their hectic lives as well as people who are taking a long vacation in paradise. Our goal is to send everyone back home feeling refreshed with beautiful memories of the time they spent at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai. We hope you will remember us (and the delicious food) when you need another "refresher."

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were there for our first visit and honeymoon. We had heard a tremendous amount about the hotel and it met the expectations and hype. The service was impressive. Our room was at the King Pond area, which I highly recommend to honeymooners. There was a bottle of sparkling wine and Hawaiian cookies upon our arrival. Though the hotel was at capacity, there were always empty chairs and cabanas available for use at even the peak hours. The restaurants, spa, and other facilities were otherwise great. I would stay here again without doubt.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at Kinds Pond, ideal for honeymooners. Request one with an outdoor lava rock shower.
See more room tips
Green Features: No plastic bags. Refillable soap/shampoo/conditioners in rooms, and auto-air conditioner shut off when sliding doors opened.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Surprised my wife with a trip to the Four Seasons (we are avid Four Seasons fans...or, she is...). This trip exceeded MY wildest expectations. Such a beautiful property and amazing staff. Kudos to everyone from reception to food and beverage. Great job, Four Seasons, you've earned raving fans.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric4882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel was by far the nicest place I've ever stayed. We ended our honeymoon here and it was well worth the splurge. From the moment we walked arrived the service was phenomenal. The staff is on top of every little detail. The hotel tried to make our honeymoon extra special with a complimentary room upgrade.

The pools and beach were beautiful and there was plenty of room. We didn't have to worry about claiming chairs first thing in the morning and there were always plenty of options. The attendants at the pool were very attentive, always making sure we had water or clean towels.

The restaurants at the hotel are wonderful. Beach Tree was my favorite. I'm gluten free and every restaurant had a gluten free menu and the breakfast buffet had a gluten free section.

This hotel is a splurge but well worth it. I definitely hope to return here at some point.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALN610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This resort is amazing. This was our first visit. The resort is breathtakingly beautiful. The property is large and the buildings with the rooms are only two stories tall. No elevators for the rooms - just a very short walk up or down the stairs from the resort path to your room. The restaurants were fantastic. This resort is not next to any other resorts and hotels. Gives the feeling of privacy. Very relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Green Features: Wonderful landscaping. The resort setting gives the feeling of being in a beautiful tropical island, which is literally true.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing