We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

A gorgeous resort with great facilities and food, and super-friendly staff. Expensive but worth it. Would return tomorrow if I could. Kids loved snorkelling in the Kings pool and I liked lying by the main pool with regular treats (such as alcopops) being brought around! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were chatty in a very natural and genuine way.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Aloha!

And we cannot wait to welcome you back! I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at Four Seasons Resort.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is ever anything I can do to assist you.

Mahalo for your positive feedback!

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,192
    217
    79
    40
    19
See reviews for
717
1,229
39
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Amazing. Cant really say much more. This resort offers something for everything with its pre-designated pools and activity areas. Food, service, staff, friendliness and the gym etc are all amazing. The porice is certainly up there but it is well worth it.
If you have children the best rooms we found were the ones that look out to the kids pool as they have a large lawn in front of them and as mentioned are close to the sandy bottomed childs pool

Room Tip: see above, with kids be by the kids pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sampan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Greetings from Hualalai!

The first word of your review is a wonderful compliment ... "amazing." We are fortunate in that the unique design of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai in five separate crescents with five distinct pool areas allows us to offer our guests a specialized experience. The Sea Shell crescent where you and your family stayed is great for families because of the lawn and close proximity to the children's pool. I am happpy to hear that you were pleased with the location of your room.

We hope you will visit many times in the months and years to come. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is ever anything I can do to assist you.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent 5 days here in February 2014 after 5 days in Waikaloa (my daughters had to do the DolphinQuest thing, which was cool, but the Hilton was pathetic in comparison). Wish we had spent the entire 10 days here! My daughters (6 and 8) felt like Princesses, primarily because of all the attention to detail and to them. They quickly met "best friends" from San Diego and never wanted to leave. Service was impeccable, the food was outstanding, although expensive. The resort is gorgeous. It felt very private and uncrowded, loved the pools and the view. Remarkable place to decompress. My girls are agitating for a return this August so I am trying to convince myself to spend all the $$ again!!! Well worth the LONG trip and every cent!!!

Room Tip: Shouldn't really be in your room in Hawaii....
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice touch, and not burdensome at all. Inspiring in fact...
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BKB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We recently celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with a week at this wonderful resort.
Its room prices are higher than most of the resorts on the Big Island. The big question I had in my mind was would it be worth it. The answer is a resounding yes! We were there for a week and never felt the need to leave the property.
As individuals who travel a great deal, we often wonder what makes a hotel and/or resort great.
The physical facilities are obviously important, but to us it is the staff and service. The staff, particularly Tim Grossman, night manager, Katherine the concierge, Hilary the maitre'd are just representative of the staff that is uniformly excellent. Everyone is exceptionally competent and dedicated to making your experience truly memorable.
The facilities are beautiful with a dedicated adult pool section. You never feel crowded. The dining venues are different in atmosphere serving wonderful food.
As you can tell, we were very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Although we were not fans of Kona or the big Island, the Four Seasons Hualalai was amazing and we should have just stayed there and never left the resort. Our amazing room had it's own Lanai which was lit nightly with torches. We could literally climb the lava rocks down from our lanai and dive into a natural fish aquarium and snorkel. It felt like being out in nature yet it was developed. Through our large walk-in shower, we could step outside to a private outdoor shower. Showering outside every morning while the birds perch in trees around you is amazing. The food was fabulous and the pools exactly what you would hope for while vacationing in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Please ensure you receive a room on the snorkel lagoon with an outdoor shower off of your bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Aloha!

Your review is absolute poetry. I am so happy to hear that you had a lovely Hualalai experience and hope that you will return many times to build more storybook memories.

Mahalo and mahalo!!!

Rheba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I paid about a $1200 a night for 7 nights based on the reviews on trip advisor.
I wanted to see what the fuss was all about.

The GOOD:
I was impressed with the service, the staff ask for your room number and then address you by name whenever they are waiting on you at that location.
Did not feel very crowded.
I appreciate the eco-friendly philosophy.
We loved snorkeling at the Kings Pond.
Paying an extra $100 a night for an ocean view was worth it.

The BAD:
One of the themes that interested me was that there was a lot to do here. However, unless you want to pay $80 for your child to learn about science and pay $25 for each yoga/spinning etc class you take...there is not much that is complementary with your room. It was $50 a day to play tennis!!!! Apart from the swimming pools, there is very little else to do save view the sunset on the beach. This was a total bummer.
Food is more expensive here than Michelin star restaurants. A regular entree is about $40. A meal for two could easily be $200 without alcohol.
The eco-friendly part was sometimes taken to extremes, soap bars were not replaced unless broken into bits.
The beautiful floor to ceiling plantation shutters let in too much light and we were always awake before 6:30am due to the room being too bright.

Summary: This is a very unique hotel where you pay for good service and it does not feel crowded BUT they limit a lot of the fun with outrageous pricing for small things that are normally free when you call yourself a resort. I should have called before signing up.

Room Tip: The in-room lava shower for the first floor rooms was a nice touch.
See more room tips
Green Features: Its a bit much, soap was not replaced till it fell apart!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Greetings from Hualalai!

We are most grateful that you took the time to share your observations following your recent visit to our resort. There are quite a few activities to enjoy at Hualalai and many of them are complimentary. The Kids for All Seasons program is complimentary, but there is a charge for special events which are designed for the evenings when parents would like to have a quiet adults-only dinner. All of our Cultural Center activities (ukelele, hula, shell making classes) are complimentary. There is a charge if a special instructor is brought in to teach classes such as feather-making. There are complimentary yoga classes and snorkeling, which you enjoyed in King's Pond, is complimentary with snorkel gear provided.

When you plan another visit to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, please contact our concierge team who will be happy to assist you plan an itinerary to keep you busy at no additional charge! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room with an outdoor shower, which I think is one of the best amenities we provide!

Happy Fourth of July!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

we took 4 days to get away and decompress and all of our expectations were met. Top 4 Seasons service and graciousness, plus a level of intimacy afforded by its small size of only about 250 rooms- all 2 story bungalos. We never left the grounds.
Hotel breakfast buffet was about the best we've ever had, but for other meals we strongly recommend theBeach House, which is just outside the hotel property line and is owned by a homeowners' association. They accept room charges and the food is amazing. Especially try the gaspacho and the grilled shrimp. The atmosphere is much more intimate than the hotel and you dont feel like a tourist.

Room Tip: second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Greetings from Hualalai!

Mahalo for your positive feedback! This resort does cater to people like you who need a short break from their hectic lives as well as people who are taking a long vacation in paradise. Our goal is to send everyone back home feeling refreshed with beautiful memories of the time they spent at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai. We hope you will remember us (and the delicious food) when you need another "refresher."

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
12.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the legendary Kona-Kohala Coast of Hawaii Island, Hualalai is a Hawaiian destination unlike any other. Blessed with 863 acres of lush oceanfront beauty, authentic Hawaiian artistry and the highly customized services of the award-winning Four Seasons, Hualalai is a holistic, sustainable and globally renowned community that continues to set the standard by which all other resorts are measured. Hualalai inspires and enriches every experience, forever transforming and connecting the lives of all who come here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing