We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and beautiful view”
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Spacious and beautiful view”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Rented an individually owned condo thru Alohacondos.com website at this property. The condo was gorgeous, 2 bedrm, 2 bathrm, #3601. Oceanfront with lanai. Every amenity possible. This was our 3rd stay at this resort, which is quiet, beautifully landscaped and nicely located. You do need a rental car, as is the case with most places on the Big Island. Great snorkeling 5 min. drive away. Groceries and other stores close. Centrally located on the island. Only reason for not rating it 5 stars is the property has no restaurant. It does have bbqs, 3 pools, lots of green space, is on the ocean and next to a golf course. Love it here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Aloha and Mahalo, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed the property during your 3rd vacation here at Kanaloa. Hope you will be back soon, the mangos near your unit are all ready to eat now! Thank you for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    252
    58
    44
    25
See reviews for
323
252
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was the second Hawaiian island we were unaware of how far we were from facilities.

We arrived a little before the room was ready, but the nice front desk staff, were able to manage this, and get us organised for lunch.

Nonetheless, it was a nice place, but a little dated and run down. However, after being on the road for about 3 weeks, it was great to have a large place with many rooms to stretch out.

Pools were clean, and it was nice to have a place that was adults only.

No resort fee - got my vote.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahame_B255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Aloha from Kona, yes, a car is highly recommended, then you are able to tour the Big Island at your own pace. Even if a complete shopping center is located less than 5 minutes drive, it is tough to carry a load of groceries by walking. We appreciate your comments and will use it to improve our service to our guests. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Big Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a two bedroom, oceanfront unit with the spectacular surf crashing in right next to us, and the ocean spray misting our lanai! Our unit was well-equipped, Hawaiian-themed and the location could not have been better. The resort is quiet and close to everything in Keauhou. It is close enough to Kona, but away from the hustle and bustle of Kona proper...Beaches, snorkelling, great restaurants, shopping, excursions are all close by. We really enjoyed the bar-b-q's for doing fresh fish ourselves. The grounds are beautiful and the lava rock shoreline is very cool! We watched kayakers and surfers from our unit, and had several whales pass by in pretty close promimity to the unit ie. no binoculars needed! Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ and be ocean-front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your comments. Your descriptions are "spot on", I could not say it any better. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Whales are seen more and more each year, along with dolphins, turtles, and some times even a manta ray. We look forward to a return visit in the near future. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed there for our visit to Big Island. The rooms were large and the quality good. We had a view on the golfcourse which was a bit of a pitty because sea view was much nicer. The building was clean and the staff was friendly. One disappointment is that one has to pay for airconditioning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roland_manders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your comments, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The air conditioning charge is put in place by the owner, and not all units have the option. We are working on getting all units with air conditioning. I will pass on your comments in our next owner's meeting. Once again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Wow! We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath Ocean front unit. It was immaculate and beautiful. We couldn't get enough of the ocean view. It's within walking distance of a great shopping center for food, etc. The desk help was wonderful and helped us book our excursions! If and when we visit again we will definitely stay at this property and hopefully in the same unit!

Room Tip: Ocean front all the way! Corner units are large and sunny. We never needed to use the A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gloria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your comments, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your time here during your vacation. I cannot agree more about our location, we are away from any main roads, ocean front, and still less than 5 minutes from a full shopping center. Hope to see you again on your next visit to the Big Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were lucky enough to rent unit 405 at this property for the month of February. The location is absolutely wonderful at the far end of Alii Drive where there is less traffic and noise. This unit has a large lanai that faces the golf course and we spent a lot of time enjoying this for breakfast and in the evening. There is a handy storage unit right by the carport which had noodles and boogey boards for enjoying the water. The complex has a wonderful ocean pool where we spent lots of time enjoying the weather and watching the whales and dolphins play in the ocean. The condo was spotless, had ample towels and the kitchen was well furnished. It is a bright and breezy unit and we enjoyed our stay there and would probably go back again. The master bedroom is huge and gets nice breezes throughout the day. However, there were definitely some maintenance issues that would need to be addressed before we would give it a 5 rating. The first thing we had to do was fix the faucet in the upstairs shower so that it would turn on! A lot of the lights in the unit were burned out and high enough up that we couldn't have reached them even if we wanted to. The downstairs bathroom had 3 lights - 2 of which worked most of the time.The tile on the bathtub was kind of hanging on by a thread. We think it is the ballast in the lights. The screen door on the lanai kept coming off the track because the wheels on the bottom were cracked and broken. The kitchen needed updating badly, several of the lights were out and when we crawled up to check them the area was filthy with bugs and grease. The kitchen faucet is frozen in one position and can't be moved, so even though there is a garbage disposal you can't use it because you can't run the water into it! The dishwasher is unique, it's a double, the top is quite large with a lot of wasted space. It also did not clean very well and we basically had to wash everything before we put them in the dishwasher.There is a refrigerator on the lanai, which is great, but it never got very cold, even at the highest setting. The tv in the master bedroom was iffy at best, took about 20 mins. for it to get a picture that you could see. As wonderful as this unit is, if you have problems with steps this is probably not the unit for you. There are 19 steps from the parking lot to the unit, 15 steps up to the main floor of the unit and 15 more steps up to the master bedroom. We got used to them quickly, but this definitely not a handicap accessible unit.

Room Tip: Unit 405 is close to the entrance of the resort and easy to access the main road. It is a great uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar0nT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your comments, they are very descriptive and detailed. I would suggest that you contact the owner whom you rented from about your concerns. We do not manage this particular unit.
It is good to hear that you enjoyed the property during your stay. Hope to see you on a return visit someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Spacious, immaculate & homey. Furniture was like new & comfortable. Washer/dryer & cable TV were a plus. Bathrooms were spotless with an ample soap & towels. Had everything you need!

A great choice!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your vacation here at Kanaloa at Kona. Hope to see you on a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
59.8 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.6 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Property: Kanaloa at Kona
Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing