We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing condo and location.”
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in condo 2501, ocean view, single bed with full kitchen from June 21 - June 28. We absolutely loved the condo, the beautiful gardens, the adults only pool, the ocean pool and the tennis courts. The property is located a short drive from the beach, shopping center and is located fairly centrally for day trips by car. The staff were always friendly and willing to help. The condo was clean and easily maintained. Our view from the lanai out to the ocean pool and the Pacific was sensational. I love the Big Island and staying at this beautiful resort made out stay simply awesome. We will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Aloha from Kona, thank you for you comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed you visit with us. We will look forward to see you on your return trip. Mahalo and Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in 1002, the price was great but the decor needs serious updating and the condo is starting to show some wear and tear. The grills and views from the pool are tremendous. Condo is about 25 minutes from the airport, 25 minutes from two step and 50 minutes from Hapuna. About 15 minutes from downtown Kailua, Safeway and Wal Mart.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed the property. Please notify the person with whom you booked the unit. Sorry we do not manage this unit. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in condo1504. My only negative comment is that the carpet needed to be cleaned. It was slightly dirty. But overall the furnishings were excellent. Our ocean view was beautiful! We paid extra for air conditioning and used it. The room did get hot. Not all condos have available air conditioning so ask if you need it. You do not get maid service daily. The kitchen was well equipped and we used the washer/dryer daily. The pools were beautiful. The concierge tries to get you to go to a Wyndham time share presentation so beware. He was nice and did give good advice on restaurants and beaches




Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Pitshanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Mahalo for your comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here at Kanaloa at Kona. I also like that view from the unit you were in. We hope to see you on a return trip in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

easy to find about 30 min from airport, reception friendly.stayed in 1601 oceanfront 1 bedroom apartment,ensuite ,bed was very comfortable, good size plenty of room,fully self contained,large balcony with good views to ocean,over looking the golf course
washing machine,dryer everything you need .little out of the way so have a car to get around in.also have a cleaning fee depending on what size apartment you stay in.

Room Tip: pay extra for oceanfront just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your comments and detailed descriptions. We hope you will be back on a return trip in the near future. Aloha and Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The location of the hotel is beautiful, especially if you have a good ocean view room. However, we were quite disappointed with the service and cleanness of the hotel.

We checked in late in the evening into a one-bedroom partial ocean view apartment. The view is really a bay view, which is not ideal. The next day, we talked to a front desk person, who was able to help us switch to a room with slightly better view (ocean view but partially blocked by some buildings and bushes). The room is close to the ocean pool, which offers a nice view of the ocean with swimming and jacuzzi pools.

We were first being disappointed by the cleanness of the hotel: there are roaches moving around the apartment complex, in two of the apartments we stayed. We don't see such creatures at home; and it is definitely not pleasant to see them in a vacation. The bedding linen in the master bedroom is dirty with some unknown black spots in sheets. During our three-night stay, no one visited us and collect trashes.

There is construction going on around our apartment during two days (9 am - 5 pm) out of our three day stay. The noise is very very loud; for some people, it is not tolerable to stay nearby. We complaint to the management and they were able to offer 30$ discount.

The good side of the place is the location: it is by the ocean and an ideal spot to watch sunset and see the waves splashing into rocks. There is an interesting trail in front of the ocean pool.

The front desk staff were showing willingness to help us switch the apartment in our first day; and offer a small discount upon our check out due to the construction noise.

Room Tip: choose a good ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jingmei Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are sorry about the noise from the work being done. Each unit is individually owned and there are times that someone will do work in their unit, and we are not always informed of such work.
We have a professional pest control company who tries to manage our invasion of the insects natural area, yes there are time that we have a call about insects, but we can treat it immediately upon notification.
Our housekeeping services are done upon check-out, other services are available upon request.
Once again, thank your for your comments, Aloha and Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed with 3 other friends. We really like this place a lot. The condo we rented #2612 was clean, roomy and seems updated. Kitchen supply was adequate. Although the unit is on ground floor, the lanai has an ocean view and close to the pool area. If youre looking for a place that's for relaxing and away from the noice and the crowd, this is the place. Still, the drive to Kailua Kona isn't that far. Close to Kahaluu Beach park a good spot for snorkelling. Also close to KTA supermarket for food and supplies.

Room Tip: Unit #2612 is a very good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TabsterInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for your comments. It is nice to hear that you had a great time here in Kona and enjoyed Kanaloa at Kona. We hope you will make a return visit in the near future. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were a family of 4 and stayed at their oceanfront 2 bedroom condo. Great deal and value for money. Very clean, peaceful and amazing views. The location is very close to Keahou Shopping Center and A'lli Drive. The staff was very helpful at checkin. Only negative point is they charge extra if you want airconditioning in the room, that too 25 $ a night. This important detail is tucked away in fine print in the booking agreement. Also there is no service by the poolside. But besides that its a perfect place. no complaints. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay at the ocean front rooms for an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ami J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your comments, nice to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Regarding air conditioning, not all units have that option, and the entire fee collected for the use of it is passed directly back to the owner of the unit to help off set the highest electricity costs, and maintenance of such a unit. Once again, Mahalo and Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.6 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £127 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing