We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great condo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great condo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was our second stay at Outrigger Kanaloa. We stayed in apartment 603 and it was great!

We arrived around midnight and were checked in by the security guard, who was very helpful. After a few minutes in the condo, we opted to pay the extra $25/day for AC as it was extremely hot (we were on the Big Island in the middle of a heat wave)!

The condo was everything we wanted. Although a bit dated, everything was in great shape and well taken care of. The grounds were very well tended, with gardeners out every day taking care of the plants. The pools were lovely, and the oceanside pool was our favourite (although it is the busiest one).

We were staying in the condo when hurricane Iselle was approaching the island, and the staff made sure we had the information we needed and gave us a list of supplies that we should have in the condo.

We will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here at Kanaloa at Kona. We will look forward to a return visit in the near future. Aloha and Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    245
    58
    43
    25
See reviews for
318
249
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The location of the condo I stayed in was superb, with the lanai facing the sea, you can hear the ocean all the time. The lawns are beautifully manicured and gardens kept beautifully. We stayed in room 2001, and whilst spacious, the kitchen & bathroom areas require serious updating. The cupboards are so old that they emit an odour of mould & disuse. The kitchen was not as well equipped as other places I've been to, but adequate for a short stay. The extra charge for air con is a huge minus for me, I've never heard of such a thing. If I were to come here again, I would want a more updated condo.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 101Knights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments, we will use it to make improvement. Regarding the air conditioning, not all units have the choice of using air conditioning, and the cost is to help the individual owner to off-setting the electricity expense incurred by the use of it. Thank you once again for your comments, hope we will see you on a return visit. Aloha and Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at this property in July 2014. It was in the 90s with no breeze when we were arrived and our first surprise was that air conditioning was not included - extra $26.50 per day! We booked through a travel agent, on a budget, and were unfortunately not aware of this before we left! The property itself was dated but large and had everything we needed. the grounds were also beautiful and well kept. The person checking us in was warm and welcoming. We never did get to speak with the activities director as his hours were during the day when we were out doing activities and he was not there before we left for the day or after we got back. Fortunately we already had activities planned. If you're looking for an easy dinner - we ordered pizza from Patz Pies and brought it back one night. Delicious!

Room Tip: We stayed in a first floor, garden view room 301. Two bedrooms: queen and two twin beds. Very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments. Yes, the air conditioning charge is paid directly back to the owner of the unit. Not all rooms have the option for use of air conditioning, currently about half of the units have this option. We appreciate you taking the time to comment, and hope you will visit with us on a return trip. Mahalo and Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked an oceanfront Apartment in January and got an early bird rate at $ 185 + tax, which is a really attractive price for 185 m2 + lanai. Beautiful sunsets + Dolphins playing in the morning was a treat. Apartments are nice - kitchen could be renewed and so also bathrooms - but in general fine with lots of Space. Location is good - the oceanfront pool has great views (almost like you are swimming in the ocean). Book an oceanFRONT Apartment - do not settle for less.
Minus: You need to pay $ 25,- per day for aircon.

This complex is next to a bay where one can snorkel with 10-15 ft Manta Rays in the evening. DONT MISS THIS !!!
Also - do not miss Volcanoes National Park and Mauna Kea. Sam Choys is a great place to eat. Avoid the crowds in Kona and especially Bubba Gump - probably the worst restaurant in Hawaii

Room Tip: Book oceanFRONT
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DK-Gentofte-PN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We appreciate your comments, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Kanaloa at Kona. The dolphins make their way on a morning routine right along our coast. Yes, the snorkeling is great, but be very careful of the ocean surf, if it is a bit rough, it will be difficult to enter and more difficult to exit. We hope you will visit with us again in the near future. Aloha and Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This property is just great. From the beginning at check in with
Paulette, she just starts you off on such a happy journey. She is so warm
and friendly that you just wanna stay and chat with her. The covered
parking is a plus, keeps the car cool on those scorching days.
The rooms are nice, well equipped, roomy. We did experience a few
setbacks, ...I.E; the clothes dryer was broken, and could not be fixed
during our stay. But, housekeeping was just absolutely wonderful.
The next day the air conditioner broke, and let me tell you , during
this past summer, we had one of the driest and hottest nights I
can ever remember...WHEW...But, yet again the maintenance crew
came and fixed it.
Now, I need to admit, with the dryer, the A/C, oh and the sliding
door being stuck...these are things that could make anyone just lose
their patience, and yes I did. But, the way they came and made right of
the situation, made me feel like they understood and went that extra
steps to make us feel comfortable. For us THAT is what MAKES a
stay worthwhile. Also, Sandy at check out was just super. And the
Manager -{who's name I regret to admit, escapes me at the moment}
he IS the kind of manager EVERY resort needs to have. I wasn't ignored
just because I was a local, and that is the mistake alot of these hotels
and resorts make, they tend to 'brush off' the locals. But, Kanaloa is
just the best. I have recommended this property to ALL of my family
and friends, and we WILL be going back again. Mahalo Kanaloa.

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct Ask for the ocean view (it's BEAUTIFUL)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hula15girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments, I will pass it on to the staff. We do preventive maintenance but, as you know, mechanical things will break and usually at the worst time. We appreciate your understanding, and look forward to your return visit. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We rented a first floor partial ocean view 2BR/2BA condo, and were impressed the moment we stepped in. The layout was comfortable, the rooms were clean and tastefully decorated, bathrooms spacious and modern, and the place felt updated. We especially enjoyed breakfasts and desserts on the deck gazing at the ocean and hearing the waves. When my husband went to swim with the Mantas at the Sheraton, the kids and I watched the lights of boats that had dropped anchor that evening and tried to guess which one he was on. Our deck was very private, and in general the home felt private.

Our unit had A/C, which we didn't mind paying a little extra for. Just got the key from security and turned it on. My kids needed the A/C to sleep since we are from northern CA where there is no humidity.

We could hear the kids in the upstairs unit running around. No different than most condos. But we were so jet lagged never had problems falling and staying asleep even with some noise.

The kids loved the warm main pool, the ocean pool was being fixed while we were there. At one point we couldn't figure out how to get the cable TV working, and the maintenance man came right over - helpful and friendly.

Only had enough coffee for one day in the condo (you get another one at the concierge when you check in). But found they have coffee brewing in the main office lobby. Concierge can also get you better deals for excursions than I found online.

Walking distance to the Keahou Bay, where several of the snorkeling boats for Captain Cook's statue take off. We liked the Fairwinds II trip, and enjoyed the convenience of it being close by.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for an ocean view. Not only will you love hanging out on your deck but it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMomOfTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, that are appreciated, and it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation time with us here at Kanaloa at Kona. We welcome you to visit with us again in the near future. Mahalo and Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#4 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
3.0 mi away
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Castle Kona Bali Kai
#27 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Property: Kanaloa at Kona
Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing