We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 1 Place to Stay”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Lansing, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Number 1 Place to Stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We were unexpectly delayed in Kona for an additional eight days following a one week vacation at a time share. The Seaside was recommended by airport staff and this was a great place to stay. Near the ocean and pier. Reasonable rates. Housekeeping is timely and the rooms are very clean. Staff is very friendly and knowledgable about the island events, restaurants and transportation. Staff made us feel at home, always smiling and a very warm and inviting atmosphere. The Seaside proved to be a better place than the timeshare. When we return (and we will be going back) , we plan to stay at the Seaside Hotel.
Seaside has a placque that reads "Komo Mai No Ka Hale" (Come In, Our House is Yours) and we definetly felt at home.

Room Tip: use AAA card for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    535
    262
    57
    57
See reviews for
245
506
122
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The website for the Kona Seaside Hotel makes it look like it is much nicer than it is. It is a serviceable hotel - more of a motel feel, actually - and good for business people who are on the island for a short period of time. The people at the front desk were very nice, and it was great to be so close to the ocean. It just isn't the luxury hotel that it makes itself seem to be.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devoneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butlerville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The hotel has a convenient location within walking distance of all you need in downtown Kona and a quick drive to all the shopping centers. Go to Tantes for breakfast, nice and cheap, but delicious food and calm scenic dining. Ask front desk for coupons for free meal or $ off. Read the most of the reviews and you will get the picture of this place. It has a nice location when you want to spend time in Kona but I would recommend driving 5-10 minutes either North or South for much better beach areas. Some rooms do have a view of the ocean but you could spend about as much on a room not far from Kona and have tons better scenery. Park about a block away for free. They keep the place clean but you can only get old carpet and furniture so clean. They need to remodel. They kept the pool sparkling.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view or garden view with an angle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cakesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is in a great location for exploring Kona. It is in the heart of the old village, steps away from the pier and shops. The rooms are clean and quiet, if a bit dated. I stayed for a night before re-locating into a time-share suite and found the hotel perfect for a short stay. Longer-term stays may be a bit more difficult as the kitchenette is rather basic, but sufficient. I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lollslynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Very friendly hotel. We used it as a base for Kona airport and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cratendune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed 2 nights on quick trip to Big Island from Oahu. Front desk attendants very nice and helpful. Breakfast vouchers to nearby Tante's were awesome- 3 yummy options. Mini-fridge was nice to have. Location was great as borders Ali'i drive with all the restaurants, shops, and water activities. Kona Brewing Co just down the street. Secured parking for $5 a night which we opted for as "ghetto" free parking lot down the street rumored to be unsafe.

Room Tip: Booked room through package deal via Expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emilypierce16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I stayed 3 nights. The location is excellent for walking to the pier, walking to all of the shops and restaurants, and driving to the beaches. It's old, but clean. Staff was friendly. Breakfast is included, and it's a full breakfast at the attached restaurant. Negatives: The air conditioner was so loud that it would wake me up every time it came on. I requested no maid service on my 2nd day, but sometime between 3 & 5 pm, when I thought the maids were long gone, someone came into my room. I had stuff spread all over, my purse was wide open, etc. so it was a little disturbing that such a simple request wasn't honored. Meal tip: For good, inexpensive local Hawaiian food, go to U-Top-It. It's in a small shopping center south of Bubba Gump. If I'd found it earlier, I would have gone back for a couple more meals.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deerfield040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,847 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
13.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing