We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family style!”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Mission Viejo, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family style!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Last week my family visited Kailua-Kona Hawaii and stayed at Kona Seaside Hotel. It was delightful! The lobby is decorated with hand-made Hawaiian quilt samplers made lovingly by Mama Kimi, matriarch to the family-owned chain.The staff at the front desk are so warm and welcoming, you just want to hug them. Always calm and serene, exuding the Aloha Spirit!. Rooms were sunny and clean with big balconies for resting, reading and watching. Location is perfect! We walked everywhere...refrigerators in the room let us store fresh fruits for noshing. No matter where you want to go in the charming Kona village, this hotel was perfectly situated. We walked to the beach areas and garden walks in every direction. Great eateries and modern conveniences like food markets, drug stores, Costco and Target nearby too. Took refreshing dips in the pool and across the street at the sandy beach cove. If you're looking for the best value and the best Aloha, you gotta try Kona Seaside Hotel. They have streams of return visitors from around the world and we'll be part of that crowd too. Of course, free use of Apple computers in the lobby topped it off!

Room Tip: The ocean side is great. We stayed there before. This time we were overlooking the pool and it was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckymello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    538
    262
    57
    58
See reviews for
246
509
123
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

In addition to a wonderful, friendly staff, the location is fabulous. Thanks to a refrigerator in our room (I think in all rooms); we enjoyed breakfast on our lanai in the mornings. There is a nice pool at the hotel, but there is also a small beach across the street where you can watch the cruise ships and fishing boats.

The hotel is owned and managed by a local Hawaiian family and is located in the heart of Kailua-Kona. It is easy walking distance to restaurants, Hulihee Palace and the Kona Farmers Market.

The Aloha Spirit is alive and well from the great front desk staff to the room maids. As we met other guests in the elevator, it seemed many were returning guests. I know our family will be back on our next trip to Kona!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macjac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Budget friendly hotel in great location near a couple of small but nice beach areas. At the southern tip of tourist area, the only problem was noise from traffic on busy road. Nothing fancy but room was large and clean with balcony, o.k. bathroom with lots of counter space. Very nice pool area. Friendly staff. Within walking distance of every shop and restaurant on the downtown strip. Good location for day trips to other areas of Big Island.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you pay the extra for an inside room facing garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Witch666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A clean, reasonably priced hotel in the middle of everything. Super friendly staff. Comfortable rooms with some amenities. The pool is pleasant, although the ocean is acrosd the street.

The beach, pier and great restaurants are all in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Try to reserve ocean side room. A little quieter than street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I believe it is the same family owned Maui Seaside hotel in Maui. Excellent rate with excellent service. Reasonable parking fee. Staff is extremely friendly, helpful, and courteous. In room air conditioner is a bit noisy. However, after cooling the room down, ceiling fan is more than adequate for sleep. Good location in Kona. As in Maui Seaside, micro wave oven available at hospitality room. I believe one can shower there even after checkout on the same day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful staff. Really went above and beyond to make sure my recently disabled wife could make it around their property and the neighborhood.

Everything is older but sooooo well taken care of. The owners and staff show their pride in looking after their property.

Free breaky was great!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipetester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBUQUERQUE
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was one of our last hotels during a 2 week island hopping vacation and I had my reservations prior to the stay, however I was pleasantly surprised. The room was well maintained and clean. Breakfast at the nearby restaurant was good, large servings and good quality. Hotel was located within a block of the ocean and near the heart of the main shopping/eating area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALISHA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,864 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
20.8 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing