We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel deal in Kona.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel deal in Kona.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We travel to Kona frequently and have stayed at many of the hotels. We have found this hotel to have GREAT customer service and an excellent value for the money. Their front desk is especially friendly and accommodating. If you are wanting a gorgeous ocean view, this isn't the hotel for you. But, if you are wanting a value priced hotel within walking distance of everything in Kona, this is one I would recommend. We live on-island in Hilo during the winters and in Colorado Springs during the summer and fall.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PikesPeakCaroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    504
    256
    56
    54
See reviews for
224
489
111
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Booked hotel for 1 night through Hawaiian Airlines. When we arrived we were told that all parking at the hotel was by permit only and that we would have to park in a public lot, located 1 block away, IF there was a space available. We were allowed to park in the hotel's lot to unload. When we returned to the car (less than 1 hour) we found it had already been tagged by hotel security with a threat of being towed. Considering it was Friday evening, during dinner time, alternate parking was not easily found. Also, the hotel is listed by AAA in their Tourbook, with a promise of free breakfast for AAA members. The front desk claimed to not know of this benefit. Otherwise the hotel was in a good location, only one block from the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobY5176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here in March 2014. We booked 2 rooms, and asked if we could have the rooms next to each other. The girl at the check in desk didn't seem to be listening and was only interested in getting us done to assist the next customer. We were placed in the Garden Wing, 6 rooms apart, and we noticed throughout the day that they were empty. Parking is terrible, not only are the spaces crooked and small, it is nowhere near enough to accommodate guests, we had to park at King Kam for $25.00 a night. Rooms, in need of upgrades, if not make it cheaper!!!! Sorry, I stayed at a Motel with a bed for sleeping only. The one good thing is that the rooms are so bad that you look forward to getting out and checking out the town!!!

Room Tip: Go to King Kamehameha Hotel across the street!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luisa32214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarita Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed at Kona Seaside Resort for 1 night before heading off around the Big Island! The hotel is very relaxed with comfortable rooms and a great pool! The staff are very friendly and accommodating! Excellent location adjacent to beach and lagoon with cute shops and an easy stroll along sea wall to lots of other laid back restaurants and little beaches and parks! Picture postcard moments abound, cute trolley to get you further along the road if you choose not to drive! We had a car which is essential to explore this amazing island! Great shopping centres up behind the town and beach areas, swimming with turtles a highlight of our time there, plus incredibly fine weather! Love the place! Can't wait to go back! Will stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: Doesn't much matter because you will be too busy outside enjoying the scenery and ambience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetstream2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Yes, the place may be a bit "dated", but you get what you pay for. I thought it was very cute Hotel. It was clean & the view from our room was very good. They do have a "Hospitality" room to clean-up in after you check out. The people at the reservation desk were very courteous & helpful to us... Enjoyed our stay ~~~~

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieJoS_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

It was our last day in the island and we wanted to find a hotel close to the airport. My wife did a few search online and found this hotel. She found places in the website saying that we can get an upgrade if we are aaa member or if we can tweet it about it, and we decided to book it because of that. We did tweet it and we are also aaa members. When checking in, we were told that we got an upgrade and it was a supreme room. However, when we walked in, no way this is a supreme room. It is a standard two beds room for sure! Also, we did not get coupons for the breakfast. When we asked the front desk, the lady was very unhelpful and had a bad attitude. She seemed to have no knowledge about the tweet upgrade and aaa upgrade. I will not recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I dont know about these positive reviews, This place is dated looks like a hotel from the 1960 that has not been updated, beds are hard, very small room, things falling apart,
THIS IS NOT A HOTEL, ITS A MOTEL. Should charge 49.00 a Night . The a 5.00 parking fee. STAY AWAY if you want to get some rest .

Photos look great on web site, soon as you see your room you will be disappointed

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.2 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing