We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with a great price.”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location with a great price.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice. I found the staff helpful and friendly. This is not the Ritz, but who goes to Hawaii for the hotels? The price is great and the rooms are comfortable. It is close to restaurants with plenty to see in walking distance. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clash56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    535
    262
    57
    57
See reviews for
245
506
121
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We arrived and were immediately checked in with no hassle. The room was older in good condition and everything worked. We found the staff consistently helpful and cheerful. There was adequate parking available at $5.00/day. The parking spaces were small but manageable. There are a at least 2 restaurants and a coffee shop within 100 feet of the hotel. Both restaurants are quite good and reasonable. Actually one of the restaurants and the coffee shop are on the same property as the hotel. It is not ocean front but is only 1 block from the beach, pier, Alli'i Drive. Nice pool but with ocean that close who needs it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel around noon and the room wasn't ready yet. So we asked where we could have lunch because there's no restaurant on the property. We were directed to take a ride to the shopping center close to the hotel and enjoy a local meal. We ate at an L & L restaurant which was quite busy during lunch time, but the food was local and we liked it.

We called the hotel to ask if the room was ready, was told checkin isn't until 3:00 so don't call back, just come back at 3:00. So we did, and needless to say the room was still not ready. There were a lot of people trying to checkin and obviously not enough help at the front desk, but we waited until it was our turn. Were we surprised when told that our room was ready earlier and we could've checked in earlier? The girl checking us in must've been new as she said that the earlier shift doesn't want to do much checkins because it's too much paperwork so they tell everyone to come back later. Surprised still, we got our luggage from our car and went to our room. There is a charge for parking and the stalls are very, very tiny. Later, we found out that we could've stored our luggage instead of lugging it around with us, but were never offered that option when we first arrived. We also found out that there was also a free parking area close to the hotel.

But the biggest surprise was that roaches were crawling in our bathroom and tub at night. Yuck. And the bed was uncomfortable as I could feel the springs in the bed. Another yuck. I thought about just not complaining at all but decided to call the Front Desk to see if there was another room to sleep in, one without the roaches and a bad bed. Well, needless to say, the gal at the desk said that it was too late to change a room because we were already checked in and plus, no one could help move our bags because she was the only working? She even told us that the roaches only come out at night and we should expect critters because we're in a tropical paradise?

I was so surprised of the way we were treated that the next morning, we decided we were just going to checkout and look for another place to stay.

And we did, we stayed at the Sheraton Kona....and loved it! Kona Seaside, you are not getting our business again.

Room Tip: Ask first if there's critters in the room....and check at night if there are any?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Meilin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Staff are incredibly helpful and pleasant. This hotel is perfect if you want to save money and stay for a couple of nights coming into Kona like we did, before splurging on more expensive hotels for the balance of our visit to Kona. It was perfect for us. Location is CENTRAL to everything ! When we left Seaside, we could not check into our new hotel until 4pm and Seaside was so accommodating to us by allowing us to use the internet after checking out and tagged and held our luggage as long as needed. Great staff ! They take a lot of pride in their work and hotel. Thank you Kona Seaside !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCbeachgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We travel to Kona frequently and have stayed at many of the hotels. We have found this hotel to have GREAT customer service and an excellent value for the money. Their front desk is especially friendly and accommodating. If you are wanting a gorgeous ocean view, this isn't the hotel for you. But, if you are wanting a value priced hotel within walking distance of everything in Kona, this is one I would recommend. We live on-island in Hilo during the winters and in Colorado Springs during the summer and fall.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PikesPeakCaroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Booked hotel for 1 night through Hawaiian Airlines. When we arrived we were told that all parking at the hotel was by permit only and that we would have to park in a public lot, located 1 block away, IF there was a space available. We were allowed to park in the hotel's lot to unload. When we returned to the car (less than 1 hour) we found it had already been tagged by hotel security with a threat of being towed. Considering it was Friday evening, during dinner time, alternate parking was not easily found. Also, the hotel is listed by AAA in their Tourbook, with a promise of free breakfast for AAA members. The front desk claimed to not know of this benefit. Otherwise the hotel was in a good location, only one block from the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobY5176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimea, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here in March 2014. We booked 2 rooms, and asked if we could have the rooms next to each other. The girl at the check in desk didn't seem to be listening and was only interested in getting us done to assist the next customer. We were placed in the Garden Wing, 6 rooms apart, and we noticed throughout the day that they were empty. Parking is terrible, not only are the spaces crooked and small, it is nowhere near enough to accommodate guests, we had to park at King Kam for $25.00 a night. Rooms, in need of upgrades, if not make it cheaper!!!! Sorry, I stayed at a Motel with a bed for sleeping only. The one good thing is that the rooms are so bad that you look forward to getting out and checking out the town!!!

Room Tip: Go to King Kamehameha Hotel across the street!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luisa32214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,847 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
13.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing