We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort with an island vibe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfort with an island vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The staff is pleasant and efficient, the rooms are big, and clean, the beds are comfortable, and they have an extra electrical strip to plug in all the chargers! Internet access is free, and easy to use, nice grounds

Room Tip: the rooms on the fourth floor of the main building are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    504
    256
    56
    54
See reviews for
224
489
111
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Good location, this place is clean, tidy, and is great value.
I would recommend it for anyone looking for a place to stay in downtown Kona if you are on a budget.
Great hospitality, close to the waterfront, shops, cafes, and all amenities!

Room Tip: We stayed here twice in 2 different rooms on the 3rd floor - both were nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Excellent location and friendly staff. The only thing I would suggest is that they stop charging for parking since the stalls are tiny and limited. We travel to Kona once a year from Maui and enjoy staying there, but the parking situation is not great. It used to be included. Room rates are excellent and you can't beat the location

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice during our recent holiday in Hawaii. The staff was courteous & efficient. The room was adequate & provided everything we needed. Location was perfect, we walked to several places.
A real plus was on check out day, our flight out was at 10 PM. The hotel stored our luggage, offered us the use of the pool & hospitality room to use during the day. We were also allowed to park our car in the lot until we left.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here in April, 2014. Third time. Stayed on the fourth floor, over looking the pool. The room was nice, clean and looked to have a freshly cleaned carpet. One of the best rooms we have stayed in . In the downtown Kona area. Everything is an easy walk. From this hotel. Quinn's Pub, next store. It's a bar, but has the best fish dinner's around. Kona has lots of older hotels Most are well kept, but some need a re fresher. Just ask for another room. If you don't like a room , say something. People an the Seaside are very nice. This hotel has many rooms in it's three buildings. So we seem to always to find a room here on dates we what. The "Iron man" race , starts around the corner, so I imagine this hotel is full up around race time. We booked through Priceline.com. But did not save much money. But our room may be one they set aside for these booking companies. Kona has it all. Been here 5 or 6 times. Always fun to come back and find a beach that is new to us..but I can't give you it's name. Everybody will go there.

Room Tip: The only tip I have is...if money is no object or you just won the lottery. Get one of the rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stringtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice. I found the staff helpful and friendly. This is not the Ritz, but who goes to Hawaii for the hotels? The price is great and the rooms are comfortable. It is close to restaurants with plenty to see in walking distance. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clash56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We arrived and were immediately checked in with no hassle. The room was older in good condition and everything worked. We found the staff consistently helpful and cheerful. There was adequate parking available at $5.00/day. The parking spaces were small but manageable. There are a at least 2 restaurants and a coffee shop within 100 feet of the hotel. Both restaurants are quite good and reasonable. Actually one of the restaurants and the coffee shop are on the same property as the hotel. It is not ocean front but is only 1 block from the beach, pier, Alli'i Drive. Nice pool but with ocean that close who needs it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.2 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing