We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lodging for snorkelers”
Review of Kona Seaspray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kona Seaspray
Juneau, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great lodging for snorkelers”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Our group of 3 stayed in #303 which was just right. I agree with a commenter that the large laundry room was a huge bonus. However, the best part was the view, view, view. We loved watching the surfers and overlooking the snorkel beach which we enjoyed to no end. I don't think anyone could match our view experience-we were watching surfers from our deck and were delighted to see a surfing goat, with his owner! The pool at sunset was also a treat with the lovely gardens. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskatravel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    11
    4
    11
    5
See reviews for
40
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Our unit (#203) was a two bedroom/two bath apartment with an open kitchen to the living/dining room and lanai. It also had a laundry room (yay! We got to go home with clean clothes!). Our group of three adults found it to be perfect - perfect size, location, and price. The views of the Kahalu'u Beach Park were fantastic! The sunrises and sunsets were great too!

It is on Ali'i drive (the main road), but the road noise was not bad at all. It is a short walk to Kahalu'u Beach Park - you must snorkel there! They have great educational folks there, helping everyone understand the coral reef ecosystem. There were daily surfing and paddleboarding lessons from the school 2 doors down. There is a grocery store within 1 mile. If you forget something or are looking to rent stuff, check the closets. They had noodles, goggles, beach towels, water shoes, buckets, etc. left from others that you might be able to use.

The only downsides: the dang telephone/power lines are in the way of the view, the close-in parking, and the proximity to the Kailua town. It is approximately 4.5 miles from the center of town. If you want to visit there often, be prepared to drive (between 15 and 30 mph) into town. I didn't consider it to be a hardship - just be aware. The parking was a little funky too. You have a spot per condo, but someone kept parking in mine. Luckily, I could park in the spot next to our assigned spot. The spots are small, but it IS off-street parking.

Room Tip: You would want to stay on 2nd or 3rd floor to have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austinamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The Kona Seaspray was an incredible find and property. We typically consider where we stay from a purely utilitarian point of view. We sleep there and do little else. Our condo - 302- was captivating. We found ourselves sitting on the lanai and looking at the ocean and grinning. This is what a Hawaiian vacation is supposed to be. To say the unit was furnished is an understatement-everything you need from laundry facilities to snorkels, masks and fins were in the unit. Bob was very accommodating to our requests for a late check in (10PM!) and late check out (6pm!). We have referred several of our friends to the property and looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: The upper floors offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anaheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Just got back from a great stay in Kona at the Seaspray unit 102! Great location, steps from the beach, great snorkeling area. The unit is beautifully decorated, and immaculate. Lots of room for the family. In the next building is a large swimming pool with BBQ and a nice big deck to watch the sunsets every night. The main town is only about 4 miles away with plenty of shops and restaurants. Up the hill from the Seaspray is a shopping center with a KTA market, and a few really nice restaurants. Ate at the Italian resaurant one night, and had burritos from Jalepenos the next. What a great location, beautiful views of the ocean, and paddle boarders. Will stay again next time, only longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our unit was more like a little apartment with two bedrooms and a roomy living and dining room, plus kitchen, two bathrooms, and a laundry room (which we used every day). Our group of two adults and two children found it perfect. Second floor unit was key to enjoyment of a view of the ocean from the lanai porch where we enjoyed meals and snacks. In spite of road traffic close by, the unit was peaceful. And the road provided walking access to a terrific snorkeling beach which never disappointed, plus enough surf for surfing lessons. Our girls thought it was perfect (and so was the price)!

Room Tip: Second floor units provide ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Our 3rd Floor Ocean view unit's were clean, spacious, comfortable. I was fearing the worst on the beds but both mattresses were comfortable. We knew we weren't booking 4 star accommodations, and for the price this place was better then expected (2 bedroom, 2 bath, under $200 a night). The road noise was distracting, but again we expected that. The landscaping looked great and maintenance seemed active and current. The kitchen offered only the minimum requirements but it was great to have garbage bags, laundry detergent, dish soap, paper towels, and more provided for a least the first few days of the trip. It would have been nice to have a better equipped kitchen though.

The pool area was a nice surprise . . a great place to hang out, enjoy a cocktail, and watch paddle boarding and surfing.

Bob through a Pool Party and the Mai Tai's soon had every one of us dancing to the great band he brought in for the occasion. Wish they could have played all night!

Sonya works in house keeping and took time out to take our group out paddle boarding. She had the boards waiting on the beach for us, gave us some hints, and stayed with us as we barged around into the other surfers and paddle boarders waiting for a swell to come in. Definitely a highlight of everyone's trip. Thanks Sonya!

I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor in the SeaSpray building is better then second and WAY better then first. If you book les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanYogiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This place is amazing! We stayed in Unit 203 (2nd floor) so we did have a view of the sea - units on ground floor don't have an ocean view. The condo was clean, comfortable, and well equipped, the units are huge 2 bd/2 ba units, very nice! We loved dining out on the lanai that overlooks kahalu bay, excellent snorkeling and just a super short walk away. The condo had beach towels and chairs, water toys, and even water shoes (a must for lava rock beaches). This place was exactly what we were looking for and it would be perfect for all.

Room Tip: Remember if you want an ocean view you need a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimee g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
4.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.5 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.8 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,573 reviews
3.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaspray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaspray

Property: Kona Seaspray
Address: 78-6665 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2473
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Seaspray 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kona Seaspray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaspray Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing