We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February 2014 stay”
Review of Kona Seaspray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kona Seaspray
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“February 2014 stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Excellent accomodations! Ocean views from our second floor 2 bedroom suite. Enjoyed relaxing private pool area when not enjoying some of the best snorlkeling available on the island right across the street. Our boys also surfed this beach every day.

Management was available and very accomodating with beach accessories and more than enough information when inquiring about the island's specific sites or information.

Enjoy and looking forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    11
    4
    11
    5
See reviews for
40
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was our second visit to the Kona Seaspray, first trip we stayed in 203 which was nice with an ocean view; this time we stayed on the top floor in 302, which has an even better ocean view. We loved eating on our lanai overlooking the sea, watching whales from inside (while cooking dinner), and hanging out at the awesome pool area. Bob is great, he made sure we had everything we needed - even brought us a crockpot on request (for easier meals). I love this place, and will definitely be back! If your looking for fancy, this may not be your place, but it is clean and comfortable and was perfect for us. It's also nice that it's a small 9 unit building, not a giant condo compound; and the proximity to the best snorkeling on the island makes it a primo place to be. Give it a shot, you won't be disappointed! Note: make sure you're on 2nd or 3rd floor if you want the ocean view.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank aimee g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Our location was optimal for everything we wanted to do-across from snorkelbeach, we did not have to hassle driving. Snorkeling ,surfing and a beach were in front. On the 3rd floor we saw it all and it was stunning. A few minutes from farmers markets and town also.Management was helpful, friendly and watchful of guests. The only problem is that we had to leave.

Room Tip: Lanai will keep you coming back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umeå
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The owner tried to rip me off for an extra foldable bed and one extra night stay when I was ill with fever for four days. To my suprise my credit card was charged way too much before I´d checked out. Not nice!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lars M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Wow! Relaxing, beautiful and priced right. My wife and I stayed at the Kona Seaspray for five nights in May and we wished we had stayed much longer.

The Seaspray is located just minutes from Kailua Village shopping and restaurants. Our "room" was more like a spacious condominium: two bedrooms, two baths, living room, washer, dryer, and fully equipped kitchen. The bedrooms were quiet (located away from the Ali'i Drive side), the mattresses were soft, and the ceiling fans created a silent breeze. Bob Johnson is the manager, he's friendly and laid back and full of good suggestions for day trips. Just ask and he may offer you an extraordinarily low rate in the off season.

Our 3rd floor apartment had a gorgeous view of Kahalu'u Beach Park: sunsets, surfers, and ocean spray. You can easily walk to world-class coral reef snorkeling - keep an eye out for the sea turtles around high tide! Each morning we sipped our freshly brewed Kona coffee on the shady lanai while watching the surfers in the azure blue waves. It rained on the last night of our stay - wonderful! Imagine awakening to tropical bird song, ocean breakers and the sound of rain gently hitting the roof. Paradise.

We've stayed at large resorts in the Kona area, but next time we are going back to the Seaspray.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed at the Seaspray for a week this March. First of all, you can't beat the location. Downtown Kona is only a short drive away and this place is within walking distance of Kahalu'u Bay where some of the best snorkeling takes place.

Our unit was pretty nice, large laundry room, decent sized rooms. As a family, it was nice having more than one bathroom. The kitchen and dining room area were also large enough for multiple people to occupy at the same time.

The view from the lanai was also superb. We sat out every night and watched the sunset and every morning to watch the surfers. Our unit, on the third floor, was a full ocean view. Only complaint is about the stupid telephone wires that are hanging above the street (not the Seaspray's fault).

Would definitely recommend this place.

Bob the owner is a really nice guy and helped us with whatever we needed.

Also, they have free boogie boards for rent!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Our group of 3 stayed in #303 which was just right. I agree with a commenter that the large laundry room was a huge bonus. However, the best part was the view, view, view. We loved watching the surfers and overlooking the snorkel beach which we enjoyed to no end. I don't think anyone could match our view experience-we were watching surfers from our deck and were delighted to see a surfing goat, with his owner! The pool at sunset was also a treat with the lovely gardens. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskatravel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
4.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,864 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#8 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaspray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaspray

Property: Kona Seaspray
Address: 78-6665 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2473
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Seaspray 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Kona Seaspray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaspray Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing