We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small cozy inn”
Review of Kona Tiki Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Tiki Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small cozy inn”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Kona Tiki for a week in late May, 2014. The location is wonderful for its proximity to downtown Kona. It is located right on the water, with that said, please be aware that if you are a light sleeper you'll have a rough time with the sound of the crashing surf! My husband and I enjoyed the sounds of the water. The hotel offers snorkle equipment and float equipment for free usage as well as towels. The light breakfast is fresh fruit and bagels, but you have a kitchen and can make whatever you'd like in your own room. There are grills to use on the premises as well. Parking is very tight for this hotel but the managers will shift cars around if you have to get in and out.
We'd go back to Kona in a heartbeat, and we'd choose this hotel for all it has to offer.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a great view and the lanai in each room is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carol_nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    137
    37
    8
    22
See reviews for
46
241
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here a couple of years ago and came back again. This time the managers on site were much more friendlier and accommodating. We stayed in the same room, they have upgraded the rooms slightly, still great view at sunset. Bed slightly uncomfortable and the thin back door allows the noise of the waves crashing to sound very loud. So if you are a light sleeper this is not the place for you. We just love waking up to the ocean here, the continental breakfast included is a good starter for the day. They have free wifi too and carparking is also free. Thanks Kona Tiki!

Room Tip: We prefer ground floor with balcony straight onto the ocean a few steps away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon. The people running the joint were very nice and helpful. Although the rooms were run down, they were clean and good enough to sleep in. The views from the hotel were amazing. In fact, the guy working there told us that the snorkelling right off the sea wall near the hotel was awesome so we went snorkelling! Lots of fish and coral...good a spot as any around! We also found out about dolphins that swim not too far from the hotel where tours go to swim with the dolphins. We ended up seeing a boat and swimming over and seeing dolphins for free! Would highly recommend the place although make sure to pack some ear plugs as the ocean and road noise is pretty significant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank respect425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I can not say enough about the The Kona Tiki. This is our 3rd trip to Kona, and of all of the places we have stayed, this was by far the best. We stayed 2 weeks. It is small and personal. It is right ON the ocean (could not get any closer unless you were floating on it). It allows you to have a true Hawaii experience. The beds were comfortable. It is well run. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was fun to blow the conch shell and light the tiki torches. In the morning, we sat by the pool and ocean, sipping on coffee and watched dolphins and manta rays in the bay. The whales were not there when we were, but those would be easily visible as well. The view is spectacular and unbeatable. We could see the colorful fish from our Lanai- yellow tangs, Parrot fish, the black ones (can't remember their name). When we return, this will be the only place we will want to stay.

Room Tip: We like the upper rooms because we could look down on the ocean and see the fish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I love the Kona tiki. We've stayed here multiple times over the past 12 years. If you are looking for fancy, this is not the place. As another reviewer said, it's kind of like staying at your friends beach shack. Rustic but comfortable and not the least bit pretentious. Good points: no TV or phones, only wi-if (and it apparently doesn't reach all rooms), waves crashing right outside your window, free continental breakfast by the pool, boogie boards and beach chairs/umbrellas you can use for free, walking distances to Kona shops (about 20 minute walk), no mosquitoes.

Minuses: no AC (there's a sea breeze so I didn't miss it), fair amount of traffic noise from Alii drive, the rooms are not very noise proof (to get the breeze you need to keep the windows open) so you hear the property manager and neighbors when they get up, the decor is a bit outdated and the rooms could use a bit of TLC.

All this said, it's a great deal for the price. The pool is adjacent to the ocean break wall and waves sometimes splash into it. You can walk to "town" in about 20 minutes. I will stay again and again.

Room Tip: I would think further from the road (lower room number, ie 101 instead of 110) would have less road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

There are all sorts of things wrong with this accommodation but it has wonderful views and it's fun. Staying at Knoa Tiki is like staying at a friend's beach shack. There's no airconditioning but plenty of breeze and louver windows to let it in. The bed is comfortable and the linen clean and in good condition. Furnishings and decor are minimalist. Our room had a single and queen size bed, set of drawers, 1 bedside table and a reading lamp. There is a large hanging space in the kitchen. There is no tv but who cares because the view is spectacular from every unit. There is a small kitchen area which is well stocked with pots, pans etc. The bathroom is tiny and the water pressure poor. Toiletries consist of a box of tissues and small bar of soap. There is a small portable style bbq by the pool. A simple breakfast is served by the pool. It consisted of breads, sliced fruit, juice and coffee. It was worth attending just to chat with the caretaker and other clients, otherwise it's probably the most miserable hotel breakfast I've seen. We found the noise from the ocean fantastic. It drowns out any other sounds although I suspect the unit closest to the road may still get some traffic noise. We found keeping the bathroom door shut at night prevented this problem. Parking is available on site. On the down side the building needs some love and care. Returning after a warm day and the there was a hint of cat urine smell. The carpet looked like it had been laid poorly with bumps and lumps in it. The painted cement and timber walls add to the patched up appearance. Access to the rooms is via an external staircase. I'd give it about a 1 star rating but I'd definitely stay there again. When you see some of the other places in the area you realise it's a good option and has the best views in town.

Room Tip: The best room is on the ocean end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Booked this hotel based on location next to water and not disappointed. Great view of crashing surf, sound did not bother us. Rooms are basic (no TV, phone or AC) but clean. Air flow was enough to cool room along with the ceiling fan. Pay phone available near office. They loan towels for their pool as well as towels toys and chairs to take to beach. At breakfast (included) they serve coffee, juice, toast, bagels and fruit slices.

Would stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Laura-Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
487 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Tiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Tiki Hotel

Property: Kona Tiki Hotel
Address: 75-5968 Alii Dr, About a mile from downtown Kailua-Kona, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel only 20 feet from the ocean. The Kona Tiki Hotel is the only hotel in Kona where every room is oceanfront! Every room has a private lanai overlooking the ocean. Room rates include a continental breakfast every morning on the terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Tiki Kailua
Hotel Kona Tiki
Kona Tiki Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing