We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location and amazing staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Location, location and amazing staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Loved this location and even the vintage feel of this hotel. The staff was great! Even the first hello had us an upgrade...beautiful! They were responsive during our entire stay.

We heard the facility had once been a Hilton. We were fascinated, like kids, by the huge portraits of Hawaiian royalty in the lobby: carefully rendered faces atop hastily painted, flat bodies. Colorful.

There is a small, nearly enclosed, seawater cove on one side of the hotel, warm and perfect for supervised kids or snorkelers looking for calmer seas.
We also appreciated the parking options--free in the street--and how centrally located the hotel is to other downtown amenities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    1,116
    614
    275
    180
See reviews for
536
1,391
109
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This hotel has a stunning presence on the Kailua-Kona seafront. It was clearly a destination resort when it was first built but it has seen better days. The lobby and public spaces are beautiful and well maintained, with a magnificent position right over the sea, waves crashing and lit up at night. The pool is small but located on the terrace overlooking the sea and there is a private beach and lagoon appropriate for swimming to the side of the resort, although this area is very near the access road and enclosed by a chain link fence, not really inviting. The real difficulty with this resort happens when you open your room door. The furnishings and finish are no better than a budget motel, clearly worn and tired. All Hawaiian hotels have problems with rust on bathroom fittings, but this seemed excessive. Our king size bed had an older, thin mAttress and the quilted bed cover had been washed so many times that the polyfill stuffing had bunched up into the center of each square, both uncomfortable and offering little warmth. We were given only three small pillows to share and had to pull the sheets to cover the mattress. Other furnishings were simple - two chairs, a small table, one chest of drawers with a large television on top. Bedside tables showed lots of wear and evidence of previous occupants with rings left from wet glasses. And this was an upgraded waterfront room! It did have a fantastic view from the balcony - including a view of the luau - but it wasn't very private when we had a next-door neighbor who pulled her double mattress onto her balcony and slept there all night in full view after holding a loud conversation on her cell phone until 10 pm. The place did grow on us, but it's just a little down at the heel. Don't worry about parking charge - plenty of free parking available on the street. Free WiFi available at many restaurants nearby, especially in the am.

Room Tip: Probably best to upgrade to at least water view. Rooms at the front can be noisy during the luau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NimbusCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Love the mood and decor of the room even though not much time was spent in the room. Their luau show was excellent!

Room Tip: The room we were given was the first level ocean room view facing the ocean. Great view, but the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leilani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
148 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed at the Royal Kona as part of a group (i.e I did not select the hotel). The location of the Royal Kona Hotel is spectacular! The lobby, restaurant and Tiki bar hang right over the Pacific Ocean. Virtually all of the rooms have an excellent view of the ocean and the crashing surf. The beds were large and comfortable. The bathroom was large with an extra wet-bar area. There was a refrigerator and a security safe in the room. My room (and I assume the others as well) had a very nice lanai with chairs and a small table. One issue is that there is no separation from the lanais of the adjoining rooms. You could crawl over from one to the other. Presents some interesting possibilities. One issue I have with the Royal Kona is that it is starting to show its age. It is not shabby by any means, but the rooms could use some up-dating. I stayed here 4 years ago (2008) and since then, they seem to have gotten a bit chinchy. For example, you only get one free coffee in your room for your stay (Not a free one each day). They had a minimum number of towels in the room, although they did provide extra towels for the pool or the beach. They charged $10 a day for the wireless internet and did not have any other internet access available in the lobby.

A highlight of the Royal Kona Resort is Don the Beachcombers Bar. They claim to be the originator of the Mai Tai. I can attest that they do have one of the best, most powerful, and expensive Mai Tais I have ever had. I recommend you only have two of them max. You probably won't be able to afford more then that and you will be feeling real good after two.

The location of the Royal Kona is excellent. There are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. Lot's of shopping and, of course, several ABC Stores. There is a nice public sand beach about 8 minutes walk from the hotel.

I recommend the Royal Kona Hotel for a nice base for exploring "the Big Island".

Room Tip: Great snorkeling around the hotel. Rent snorkeling stuff from "Snorkel Bob's" next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlenLivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a great location. My 17 yr old daughter and end I stayed in a corner King room. First the "ocean view" in the Lagoon tower room was not "ocean front" so keep this in mind. I spoke to the registration person and she upgraded us to the corner King in the Bayview tower and agreed "how would you know...usually that means ocean front". The breakfast buffet was excellent (although coffee is super strong but good) and they also sell great 100% Kona in the gift shop right next to the buffet!! Yum :) We did not pay for parking because it was free on the street all 9 days during Spring break....that shows you that it is very possible to find a spot! The staff was so friendly and seemed very happy in their island living. Beautiful weddings occurred there (I snapped a picture or two) and would be ideal for wedding photos due to the contrast of black rocks against a white gown. The Don's Beachcomber has limited selection of food but was good and even better for the price with that amazing view and opened air venue. This is by no means a super fancy hotel, but it is pleasantly authentic very clean and well maintained for its age. You will find more modern hotels for twice the price but only to miss that authentic-Hawaiian feel of being in Kona (close to everything but quiet). Everyone...(chef's waitresses, housekeeping, etc. were so friendly! One gal I met named "Daisy" in the gift shop gave me a local friend of hers contact at the hospital because I told her I was possibly moving there in 1.5 years. I will be returning here.....sooner than later I hope!

Room Tip: I looked at rooms in both Lagoon and Bayview differences are a marble counter top and white bed cove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel4Fun000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Wonderful oceanfront corner rooms
Fantastic space
So lovely to be within feet of crashing waves
Staff excellent

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyoffiveEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My wife and I recently renewed our wedding vows at the Royal Kona Resort. The Sunset Cove location was breath taking with white sand boarded by volcanic rocks and the sun setting behind us into pacific ocean. The celebrant made us feel very special indeed. In fact all the arrangements right down to the photographer and flower selections were expertly handled by the staff at the Romance Centre. In fact my son and his fiancee are now thinking of getting married at the Royal Kona and I am looking forwarded to returning there. I was pleased with the hotel overall, the bar and restaurant were excellent and the hotel is well situated to all the activities the island has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing