We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This place made me happy. It feels like vacation. The lobby and bar areas are nicely decorated and the waterfront location is perfectly situated. The building design is not aesthetically pleasing, but this is not an issue once you are inside the premises. We stayed in a corner king room with a wrap-around deck, and the views were fantastic. The furnishings are nice enough, though the hotel would do well to add a nice sofa to each room and add some upscale furnishing to the patio. But they probably figure that the outside is too ugly to warrant too much dressing up of the inside, and they might be right. The room was large and clean, and I loved the sound of the ocean waves crashing outside. All the workers were very helpful. We liked the location, central to so many things, and enjoyed the restaurant as well as the bar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeccadA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Aloha TA fans, another great review. Remember, the Royal Kona resort was built in 1968, hence the retro building design. Many people love our look, as we're an icon on the Kona Coast, some think we're funky. I say we're a bit of both! The Corner King Ocean Front rooms are very popular, and it's a great suggestion to add some furniture to the lanai and room. We're always thinking of ways to upgrade the resort, to keep it fresh, and still affordable. I'm glad they had a nice time, Kona is a wonderful, sleepy town, the resort is perfecly located on the ocean front, great staff, great food and beverage, and great value. Warmest mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,800 - 1,806 of 2,994 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

The grounds, location, restaurant, and lobby area are absolutely beautiful. And, of course, the views were breathtaking! The staff was very friendly and our dinner at the bar and grill was excellent. Unfortunately, we cannot say the same about our room. It was very dated and had a strong musty odor. We could have upgraded for either $30 or $40 but opted not to, we had already paid enough for the package. There was rust around the bathtub fixtures and even the walkway and elevators to the rooms in our tower are badly in need of updating. Had we planned on staying longer than 2 nights we would have requested better accomodations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMKuykendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Aloha TA family, sounds like these guests loved everything about their stay, and loved their trip to the Big Island. Unfortunately we missed the mark on their room. I've sent them a personal message to determine what room they stayed in, so we can rectify the concerns immediately. Our goal is to provide a clean, well maintained resort. And although we're not the newest kid on the block, we strive to provide a quality product at a great value. Mahalo for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I stayed and were married at the Royal Kona Resort on April 25, 2012. The hotel offered beautiful locations to have a wedding and a recepton for any budget. The wedding coordinators (Brian, Ashley and Karen) from the Romance Center were so helpful from day one and they went above and beyond to make sure our wedding was perfect.

We stayed 8 days in a corner King Room in the Alli Tower. Our room is very comfortable and was decor was traditional Hawaiian style. The hotel is located in a great location and most restaurants and shops are within walking distance. We will definitely be returning to the Roal Kona Resort in the future. Aloha!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miranda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Aloha TA family, the Royal Kona does offer some beautiful, affordable venues for weddings, ceremonies, vow renewals, receptions, private romantic dinners, etc. and our staff does go out of their way to shine when making your special occasion special. We offer rooms with amazing views, and are happy to arrange group rates for your guests who plan to attend your event. Glad these happy honeymooners had a great stay, just another satisfied "couple" here at the Royal Kona. Much Mahalo for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

old,smells, out dated, big room with a bed and two chairs, patio doors rattle in the wind cause the have no weather stripping at all.large lani with two chairs only.....big enough for six chairs and a couple of loungers. would recommend sleeping in your car. so we spent our 4 days staying with friends.....i should have demanded my moneyback but i think they need the donation...................................................spend more money and find something better than this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cnsllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Aloha TA viewers, we can with them all, it's very unfortunate that rather than discussing the concerns immediately giving the hotel the opportunity to rectify the issues at hand, some guests prefer to write down their frustrations for the world to see. I would have gladly considered compensation for these guests at the time. In all fairness, our sincere goal is to have happy customers, though it's pretty much a mute point after the fact. Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is an updated property with BEAUTIFUL views of the Pacific. From the hotel, there are many shops and restaurants within walking distance. There is a sheltered swimming lagoon on property for some low stress snorkling (good practice area for the kids, before they go on a snorkle cruise...) The hotel's restaurant is nothing to brag about... at the prices they charge, you can do much better with a short walk to the shopping/restaurant district.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50StatesOrDieTrying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Aloha TA viewers, this avid traveler pretty much nailed it, amazing views from the resort, and of course, best location in Kona. Steps from alternative dining and libation, shopping, farmers market, galleries, the pier, etc. I recon a Hawaiian Shave Ice parlor and a tattoo shop or two as well! We have great food and beverage options here at the Royal Kona Resort, and pretty attractive Happy Hour pricing from 4p-6P daily. Glad they enjoyed, that’s the goal! Warmest Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My husband and I, along with our 3 sons (6, 10 and 15) had a fantastic 8 night stay at the Royal Kona resort. We had a corner King Room and an adjoining double room in the main tower. The hotel was clean, comfortable and felt very traditional "Hawaii". The staff was always friendly and helpful. The common areas were peaceful, beautiful and welcoming. The boys loved the private lagoon and we all loved sleeping with the sound of the surf crashing beneath our large balcony. We had a great experience planning our sight seeing adventures with Kathy, the local expert from Expedia. She was so enthusiastic and knowledgable about the island. She even called us one day to let us know there was rare sighting of a Hawaiin Monk Seal that we should check out on the beach. It was invaluable for us that Expedia has an office onsite.

Room Tip: Corner Kings have a huge balcony and you can hear the surf while you sleep. For large families you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Aloha TA family, it’s nice to see a review where you know this was their family vacation of a lifetime. All expectations met and in some cases, i.e. their activity desk choice, exceeded. The guests offers some great tips, and yes the Corner King Ocean Front rooms are extremely popular and in demand, mainly for their views and wrap around private lanais. Our resort isn’t a marble and glass palace, nor do we sell ourselves that way, we’re traditional, Hawaiian style contemporary. Great location, amazing staff, best value. Much Aloha!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We knew going into this the age and location of the Royal Kona. That was one of the things we found appealing. Upon check in Elizabeth was very helpful and friendly in getting us into our room. We stayed in the Lagoon Tower in a corner king room. Great view of the ocean and lagoon. The location was perfect for strolling through Kailua-Kona Village. Only ate in the hotel restaurant one time and it was for breakfast. It did have a great view of the bay.
Never had an issue with other members at the front desk the few times I needed to inquire about anything.
Really enjoyed the luau and having it at the hotel was very convienient. The room, while old, was clean and the bed comfortable. Loved the openess of the Lagoon Tower and the Koi pond in the center.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMojoRising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Aloha TA family, I’m glad these guest loved their stay, it makes coming to work every day, doing what we do, fulfilling. Goes to show though, if you do your homework, a little research, ask questions, talk to the desk agents, (wherever you stay) can really make a difference between a good stay, and an amazing stay. Sometimes unfortunately we miss the mark, but looks like for these guests we nailed it. Much Mahalo, A Hui Hou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.4 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
13.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £112 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing