We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most amazing stay!”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I and my husband stayed here for four nights in April 2013. It was our first ever trip to Hawaii. We booked a vacation through Pleasant Holidays at Royal Kona Resort for a standard garden view room. But to our pleasant surprise we were upgraded to a Partial Ocean View Room by Jay the Hotel Manager. The room was super awesome and clean. The view from our balcony was awesome and very beautiful. And the plus point, Jay even assisted us in planning out itinerary to travel the Big Island as we only had four night and five days. With his help and a little bit of planning, we covered almost all of the island and instantly fell in love with it. Definitely would stay at Royal Kona whenever we travel to Big Island again. Only reason I have given it very good as the overall rating instead of excellent is that the property is a bit old and can use some renovation. I would definitely recommend Royal Kona to all. And of all things they have a Facebook Page which one can like and they provide all sorts of assistance on the same.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjtj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Aloha TA family, I'm glad we were able to assist these guest to help them have such an amazing stay. It's refreshing to see that prior to travel they did a little homework, asked all the right questions, and even asked for advice. It's rewarding for me to see that my suggestions turned out to help make their stay awesome. While we're not the newest kid on the block anymore, we continue to work on enhancing our guest experience, for example, refurbished pool, renovated bar, remodeled lobby restrooms, refreshed landscaping and more. So glad they enjoyed and shared their experience with us too. We'll definitely see them on their return visit to Kona! Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,891)
There are newer reviews for Royal Kona Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 2,891 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the Bay tower for 2 nights. First they gave us the 2nd floor room, but it was too noise, we replaced a room on the 5fl. The view from the ocean front room was amazing. But the room shows its age. A lot of stuff needs to be clean or replaced. The air vents was full of dust, the mirror needed to replace. The bed comforter was kind of old. We walked around the hotel. The pool was kind of small. Since we didn't spent much time in the hotel, so that didn't matter much to us. The stuff here were friendly. Overall we liked our stay here. People complained the parking is limited and small, but I found that it wasn't too bad.

Tops: As other reviewers recommended, request room on the upper floor. You get better view and away from the noise. The Bay tower is closer to the bar, if you sleep early, you might want to request the tower on the left of the bar and restaurants.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Winglik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We checked in to the royal kona resort on sunday evening after a long flight upon reaching the front desk we had to wait for 15 minutes with 3 employees behind the counter and only on other couple checking in were there. To find out that we are being charged extra for Internet and parking is ridiculous..... we tried to get a room away from all of the bars so we could enjoy some piece and quiet and were told they couldn't move us to a new room because we booked online and then we asked that my brothers room be near us and were told he is going to be on the 6th floor the one right above us.... well this was not the case we were in the bay tower room 568 and he was in the lagoon tower room 656 the tower we had requested for our piece and quiet.... When we walked in to our room it was musky smelling and had an Un inviting feel to it. The room it's self was date and could use some improvements but having managed a hotel before I could tell they don't pride themselves on housekeeping.... The room was dusty the bedding was ruffled the deck could have used a broom and a little windex on the windows and mirrors couldn't hurt...... mildew in the tub the water temp was never consistent it fluctuated from hot and cold constantly. And having a puddle of water in the fridge is just going to attract bacteria. I called the front desk requesting to speak to a manager and left two notes with the front desk and never got a reply from any manager. When I spoke to the front desk they gave me excuses as to why I couldn't speak to a manager at that time but one would contact me shortly. My best advice is to pick a better place..... I've seen better customer service at a motel 6 and cleaner rooms..... The only thing the royal kona has going for it is its ocean front location and the lagoon all though small it's pleasant. Even at dons beachcomer we received poor service long waits poor attitudes from the staff.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Aloha TA family, it's dissapointing to see that these guests had such an unpleasant stay with us. I've sent them a personal message to apologize and discuss. Seems like when it rains it pours. I sincerely hope they were able to enjoy all the wonderful things our beautiful Big Island has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights in July of 2013. Overall, the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We weren't expecting anything amazing, given the price we paid, but we were pleasantly surprised. Our flight didn't leave until 10:00 PM, so during checkout I asked if they could hold our bags until we were ready to leave for the airport. Not only did they hold our bags for the rest of the day, but they reserved us an hour in a guest room before our shuttle was scheduled to pick us up so we could shower and change. That was so nice!
The only reason I give this hotel a "very good" and not "excellent" is because of the wifi. I didn't mind the charge, but was shocked to find out that the code I purchased would only work on one device. Between the two of us, we had 4 devices that we would have like to used over wifi instead of cellular data.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Aloha TA family, i'm glad to know these guests were pleasantly surprised to find our resort so accommodating for them. With the great location everyone talks about, to the friendly warm staff. it's our goal to ensure all of our guest have similar wonderful experiences. As for wifi, yes, their is a $9.95 per day charge, per device, pretty standard in the hotel world as frustrating as that may be. We do offer a complimentary hot spot in the bar area for our guests to enjoy too. I'm glad they enjoyed and had such a nice time. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed for four nights in early Jan 2014. We had booked a partial ocean view room for around $140 a night. Upon check in we were offered an upgrade to a full ocean view for $25 per night.

Our room was on the second floor, in the detached tower, closest to town. Our first impressions of the tower and our room were not great. The decor and fittings were dated and shabby. It all appeared to be about 10 years overdue for a renovation and repaint. I think maybe our expectations were set a little high after walking through the common areas of the hotel (reception/restaurant/pool etc) which appear to be maintained to a higher and more modern standard.

These first impressions were quickly forgotten when we stepped onto our balcony and saw the vista of a sparkling blue bay with a pod of migrating whales breaching not 400 meters from our room. It was at this point that we saw the hotel for what it was, an affordable (for the area), waterfront resort within walking distance of all Kailua-Kona has to offer.

The parking was an additional $10 a day. Internet was also extra, we stuck to mobile data, but found around $80 worth of charges on our bill anyway. The way the lady explained it, it was charged through the television system somehow. Maybe our kids pressed the wrong button, maybe its a dodgy system or a trap for unwary guests. Either way the lady happily removed it from our bill.

Overall the room was clean, in a prime location and a reasonable rate. After walking through town and seeing what else was on offer, we were confident we had made the right choice for our vacation.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you may want to ask for a higher room. In the ocean front rooms the waves...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJPx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Aloha TA reviewers, it's great to see that these guest found us to be a terrific value, while being provided the best location in Kona. Yes, our rooms are not the newest on the block any more, but we strive to provide clean, well maintained rooms and grounds for our guest to enjoy. As they said, we're in a prime location, which allows our guests access to a myriad of shops, restaurants, bars, galleries, historical sites, the farmers market and the pier, all within walking distance. I'm so glad we met all of their expectations, we'll welcome them back soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the Royal Kona Resort 12 yrs ago & loved it so when we returned for our 2nd time 8 nights in Dec/Jan 2014 we chose this same resort. It has the greatest views, our room was updated, it was very clean & beds were very comfortable. Its also walking distance to alot of the restaurants & stores on Ali Drive. We only ate breakfast there 1 morning & it was tasty.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrypie9087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Aloha TA family, what a nice review from a guest who stayed many years ago, to come back and have a wonderful experience. From the best location in Kona, to the views, clean and well maintained rooms, and friendly staff. We strive to provide the best value for location so all of our guests will have amazing memories on their Hawaiian vacation. I'm glad we didn't let them down, and I'm sure we'll see them again, hopefully sooner than 12 years next time! LOL Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here for a week vacation on the Big Island Hawaii. I am so glad we got an ocean-view room on the 5th floor. We were greeted each morning with fantastic sunrises &/or incoming cruise ships. The resort is located very conveniently to a multitude of restaurants & shops. Several of the days we ventured forth to bike ride various parts of the island taking in the diverse geology of the island; it was always a pleasure to return to a clean & tidy room. The staff was very friendly & our housekeeper was quite accommodating.

Room Tip: The ocean view is unbeatable.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Aloha TA crew, so nice to see that these guests also found the location of our hotel perfect. Not only are we steps away from Alii Drive, and all the restaurants, shops, galleries, farmers market, historical site and the Kailua Pier, our resort has the best view in town too. Not only from room, but the pool, private lagoon and Don's Mai Tai Bar. I'm glad they enjoyed the clean rooms and friendly staff too, another perfect vacation. Mahalo Nui Loa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £118 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing