We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always, opinions depend on expectations, so let me tell you what I found”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“As always, opinions depend on expectations, so let me tell you what I found”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a pretty good hotel/resort. Its a little dated/old, but has an EXCELLENT view of the ocean and has a good bar/terrace to hang out in and drink a mai tai. Sleeping was very restful with the ocean waves lulling the guests to sleep. The Luau they have on some weekdays can get a little loud but ends at a reasonable time. Good proximity to the shops, restaurants, and other places to eat. It was very pleasant to walk down the main street after dinner during sunset. Totally loved their salt lagoon, which was basically a sheltered spot to swim in the ocean. Very nice and convenient. Overall, a good experience. PS, they charge $11 per day for room wifi.

Room Tip: The ocean suites are worth it for the waves lulling you to sleep. Also a beautiful sunrise/sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Aloha TA family great review from another satisfied customer, glad they loved the grounds, bar, private lagoon, and were able to sleep well with the waves against the rocks. One note, our wifi is only $9.95 and is complimentary at Don's Mai Tai Bar, a perfect place to enjoy a beverage, watch for dolphins and check your email. Remember you're on vacation, try no to do too much work!So glad these guest "get it" and had a nice stay, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    1,137
    626
    281
    181
See reviews for
547
1,417
111
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Royal Kona for four nights. Grounds are pretty, bar is great and location is great. Rooms really need an update. We got a corner room that overlooked the dirty rooftops of the next building and the car park. We were right where deliveries came and went and garbage was collected, it was really noisy. I assume we got these room because we didn't book direct. All staff we dealt with were friendly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rach2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Aloha TA family, glad our friends from AU enjoyed the location and our staff. Just want to clarify, booking direct or through an agent plays no part in room selection or location, usually it's occupancy. As I mention frequently, if you are not satisfied when you arrive, please speak to the front desk, if available they'll work to change your room, we want happy customers! Glad they shared, mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastpointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had room facing bay,and nice soothing waves at night. There are three towers,all right next to city shops and food. Even a luau here. Since not a big drinker,and not in favor of just bar scene food, went into town across street. Good Big Island place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Quasimodo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Aloha TA family,a quick and to the point review from another satisfied guest from MI. Glad the loved the location next to Alii Drive for restaurants and shops, and the fact that they were lulled to sleep by the sounds of the waves on the shore. Something you don't get in Michigan (if you don't live on the lake) so glad we were part of their amazing vacation, we'll see them again soon I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We just returned on 3-23-2014. Property has great Location and plush landscaping. Since Hilton does not manage the property anymore the property does not get the attention the past 10 years.
General: Wireless Internet in my room was not worth the $10/day to get dropped and a maximum download of .5MB. Parking is $10/Day and many days could not get a parking spot because the system was broken and gates stood open for free parking for shoppers and the night Luau so don't expect a spot when you return at 7:00 from dinner..
Room: Bathroom had peeling paint, rusted shower rod, over spraying onto doorknobs, walls with visible broken wall seams, etc. Dresser was badly warped so not all drawers would open or with great difficulty. Designated smoking area was within 20 feet of small pool and lounge area to enjoy ocean. Pool could use additional furniture since several pieces have been lost. Exercise area has a few pieces of equipment. I would suggest you consider the Courtyard by Marriot at the other end of town that has a beach area and a much larger pool. Price is always a factor but worth checking out.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay away from remote tower overlooking the pool and ocean. They start the Luau fires...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
General comments well taken. We're not the newest kid on the block, nor the fanciest, but I share time and time again that we pride ourselves on being the best value for the best location in Kona, while providing clean, well maintained rooms and grounds. I've sent them a personal message to locate the room they occupied with with us to personally inspect and correct the deficiencies. We respect all of our guests comments and concerns, and take them seriously. I appreciate their comments and hope they were able to enjoy their Hawaiian vacation regardless. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I pretty much sat at this bar for every sunset. LB or Albert is one the nicest and most hospitable persons on the island. If you want a solid mai tai and some hilarious conversation definitely check out the bar at Royal Kona.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Aloha! Glad to see our guests from Seattle confirmed that we've got the best bar in Kona. With panoramic views of the pacific ocean, we host some of the worlds most amazing sunsets, as well as we're blessed to see the resident pods of spinner dolphins playing in the bay. Top that with friendly staff, and great food and beverage and happy hour nightly from 4p-6p that's the magic combination to a wonderful stay. Glad they enjoyed, glad they shared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelowna bc
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We checked in after a very long flight from Kelowna. David, who was on the night desk, was very helpful and got us checked in right away. We were originally in the Lagoon Tower, with an Ocean Front Room, and I asked him about possible upgrades to Corner Ocean Front. He suggested we call down at 7 am the next morning, to see what was available. I did that, and spoke to a wonderful female named Annie. She got us squared away in to the Ali'i (the main building) and we were on the 5th floor. So simple and easily done! Plus, because they have the promotion on at the front desk with their specials, we saved almost 70$ a night and stayed in that room for the entire time.

No regrets at all and being able to sit on the very very private deck and watch the whales and the dolphins in the bay every morning was such a treat. There was a bit of a storm for a few days, and that was really exciting for this prairie girl to see those waves come so high on to the rocks. The breakfast area on the main floor had to be closed because of them. Unforgettable and exciting.

The town is very close by. We usually had breakfast at Bongo Ben's in the am, as the resort breakfast buffet was almost 30$. Lava Java is also close by, and if you drive, you can make your way in to the smaller malls that have little coffee shops. Even though the town and its bars are close, the music was seldom heard where we were. I think if you were in the Bay Tower, it might be different, but I know the Ali'i and the Lagoon was just fine.

I would have no problem recommending the Royal Kona. The decor on the main floor was quite a lovely welcome. Most of the patrons of the hotel were mid thirties to sixty. Not too many kids, which I personally liked. The lagoon area is quite intimate, and fills up quickly. If you go there on a Sunday, you might be witness to some baptisms by the local residents.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean Front Room in the Ali'i tower. The Ocean Fronts are all along the side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthpresence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Aloha TA family, refreshing to know we've met and exceeded another guests expectations. So nice to hear they found the upgrade to the corner ocean front room a great value, I'm glad our staff was able to accommodate them, and meet their needs. We'll go out of our way to ensure our guests are happy and satisfied, it's why we do what we do. they share some great tips too, but most importantly, they were able to have a wonderful vacation. We'll definitely look forward to seeing them again soon, so glad they shared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, KS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here in 1998 and loved it. Now it is in need of an update. The bathroom was nasty and dark. The restaurant is not the same and is overpriced. The staff was excellent. The luau was not. We will find another place to stay the next time we visit Kona. All rooms have either a King bed or two Doubles. No queens or any other options other than roll-away beds.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zackkirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Aloha TA family, sorry to hear a guest that has stayed with is in the past feels we're not up to par, that's disappointing. Hopefully they'll continue to return to Kona a find more suitable accommodations. Interesting bedding comments, as a King or two doubles is pretty much industry standard, though you may find queen beds in a condo, I hope they were able to enjoy their vacation regardless, Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing