We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Kona Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Tiki Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Village Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (3,092)
    Filter reviews
    3,092 results
    Traveller rating
    646
    1,234
    705
    308
    199
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    646
    1,234
    705
    308
    199
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsprivate lagoonalii towermai tai bardon the beachcombercorner kingocean frontmain towerthe big islandsalt water lagoonan ocean view roomshops and restaurantson the rocksan older hotelopen airwaves crashingparking feewatch the sunset
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1,341 - 1,346 of 3,092 reviews
    Reviewed 28 March 2014

    We stayed at the resort for our two week honeymoon. We had an ocean view room, which we watched the beautiful sunset most nights, fell asleep listening to the ocean waves and watched the dophins and whales most days. We made the most of the lagoon and enjoyed sunning ourselves in the cove. The resort location is spot on: close to shops, cafes and restaurants. The grounds are pretty, well kept and staff always friendly. We attended a Luau which was an enjoyable experience made wonderful by the open bar with Mai Tai's. We attended a couple of tours recommended by the hotels tour company, which were both amazing and we had an fantastic time.
    A couple of points which pulled my rating down: overall our room was out dated and needed a good clean; front desk staff were not the most friendly of people and when we arrived after travelling for 36 hours a smile would have been nice.
    I would recommend this resort to anyone to stay here and get a ocean view room, if only for the sunsets!!

    Room Tip: Ocean View room!
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank TmDavies2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

    Aloha TA family Happy Honeymoon to our guests! Glad they had a great time enjoying all the great things our resort has to offer. It's wonderful to know they loved the location, views, sounds of the ocean from the room etc. Sent a private message to see what room they occupied, will ensure a prompt once over for cleanliness, Sorry the front staff weren't sharing the aloha and smiles, that's a simple must, especially when their office is ocean front! Glad they shared, and so happy they had a nice honeymoon!.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 March 2014

    A great location. Our room was in Bay Towers and it was adequate, beds a little worn, but ok, clean and with a great view overlooking a bay. Wanted to keep balcony doors open but being so close to Kona activity, it was rather noisy. Staff at the Royal Kona ready and willing to help you with any need. Food was pricey but a good breakfast buffet, and lots of other choices close by.
    I would stay there again.

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Paul H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

    Aloha TA family, glad they enjoyed their stay, the views and great accommodating staff. Sorry they found it to be a bit noisy. Although we're not the newest resort on the block, we do work hard to ensure the rooms are clean and well maintained. Our food is priced moderately, make sure to try the happy hour nightly from 4p-6p at Don's Mai ta bar. it's a bonus to know we're right on Alii Drive with many other dining, shopping and fun options too. Glad they enjoyed, Mahalo!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 March 2014

    This is a pretty good hotel/resort. Its a little dated/old, but has an EXCELLENT view of the ocean and has a good bar/terrace to hang out in and drink a mai tai. Sleeping was very restful with the ocean waves lulling the guests to sleep. The Luau they have on some weekdays can get a little loud but ends at a reasonable time. Good proximity to the shops, restaurants, and other places to eat. It was very pleasant to walk down the main street after dinner during sunset. Totally loved their salt lagoon, which was basically a sheltered spot to swim in the ocean. Very nice and convenient. Overall, a good experience. PS, they charge $11 per day for room wifi.

    Room Tip: The ocean suites are worth it for the waves lulling you to sleep. Also a beautiful sunrise/sunset
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Genevieve3
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

    Aloha TA family great review from another satisfied customer, glad they loved the grounds, bar, private lagoon, and were able to sleep well with the waves against the rocks. One note, our wifi is only $9.95 and is complimentary at Don's Mai Tai Bar, a perfect place to enjoy a beverage, watch for dolphins and check your email. Remember you're on vacation, try no to do too much work!So glad these guest "get it" and had a nice stay, Mahalo!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 March 2014

    Stayed at the Royal Kona for four nights. Grounds are pretty, bar is great and location is great. Rooms really need an update. We got a corner room that overlooked the dirty rooftops of the next building and the car park. We were right where deliveries came and went and garbage was collected, it was really noisy. I assume we got these room because we didn't book direct. All staff we dealt with were friendly.

    Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    Thank Rach2411
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

    Aloha TA family, glad our friends from AU enjoyed the location and our staff. Just want to clarify, booking direct or through an agent plays no part in room selection or location, usually it's occupancy. As I mention frequently, if you are not satisfied when you arrive, please speak to the front desk, if available they'll work to change your room, we want happy customers! Glad they shared, mahalo nui loa!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 March 2014

    Had room facing bay,and nice soothing waves at night. There are three towers,all right next to city shops and food. Even a luau here. Since not a big drinker,and not in favor of just bar scene food, went into town across street. Good Big Island place to stay.

    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
    1  Thank Quasimodo47
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

    Aloha TA family,a quick and to the point review from another satisfied guest from MI. Glad the loved the location next to Alii Drive for restaurants and shops, and the fact that they were lulled to sleep by the sounds of the waves on the shore. Something you don't get in Michigan (if you don't live on the lake) so glad we were part of their amazing vacation, we'll see them again soon I hope.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews