We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired but we will come back”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had originally booked the Hilton north of the Kona Airport but changed to the Royal Kona when we saw the resort fee at the Hilton and the reviews on how big the place was. We cancelled and switched to here. Price was not a consideration. We are glad we did. We had a good room with an astonishing view at a low price. This resort is not in the Four Seasons or even Marriott class of resort but I can't fault it for that. That is what makes this a great find. Great staff, awesome location in easy walking distance to a lot. A luau that other resorts send their people to and a bar that has great music, drinks, and food. In summary we loved it. It is tired and it needs some TLC and money for some updating but even as it is, the Royal Kona will be getting my business as long as she will be there to take it.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must and worth every penny.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Aloha TA family, really nice to see such a solid review from another satisfied guest. I enjoy the fact that they appreciate our amazing resort for what we are. We're the best value for the best location in Kona, hands down. Our location on the ocean is divine, along with the close proximity to Alii Drive and all the shops, restaurants, galleries, historical sites and the Kailua Pier, Glad they love the music and food at the bar, and our friendly service, we'll look forward to welcoming them back again soon! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,891)
There are newer reviews for Royal Kona Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,096 - 1,102 of 2,891 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a great location, walking distance to Cafes and Shops.
The view from our balcony over the ocean was great especially when the spinner dolphins were cruising by.
The private lagoon is nice particularly when a turtle dropped by to visit.
Don's Mai Tai bar is a good place to relax by the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean Front not Ocean View
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patat2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Aloha TA family, sounds like our friends from down under had a terrific time staying with us. nailed all the great things we have to offer, from amazing views of the ocean, warm friendly staff, and the best location in Kona, definitely the best value in Kona! We're constantly working to improve our services and guest experience so all of out guests take home amazing memories, really glad they shared, mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

"Royal"?
Well, the King is dead!
Long time ago.
Location is nice - that's it. The hotel is modern and in good condition - in the 90's maybe. A general touch up is required. Peeling paint, rust on handrails, mold in the now empty cases for flowers at the balcony, a permanent closed private sand beach...
Breakfast: if you love coffee, take a tea. Even asking for a fresh cup of coffee did result into the same. There is a nice shop who sells Kona coffee next to the BF location - rather sample a coffee there!
The Hotel charges 10+ dollar a day for Internet access - like 10 years back in China. I had that not anymore for a long time...
The fourth Accommodation for us on the Hawaiian Islands - so far the worst.

Thank ADAM-Family-Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Aloha TA family, I'm dissapointed we didn't live up to these guests expectations this time, though we truly appreciate them staying with us and sharing. We strive to provide the best balue for the best location in Kona, offering amazing views, great service and clean, well maintained rooms. Remember too, we offer complimentary wifi at Don's Mai Tai bar for your convenience, and our private lagoon is only closed when the surf makes it dangerous to swim. I'm hopeful they had a wonderful vacation in Hawaii regardless, enjoying all of the amazing things our islands have to offer. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 July 2014

In March, my boyfriend and I traveled to Kona for a friends wedding. We stayed here at the Royal Kona Resort, overall I wasn't very blown away by the resort as a whole. The location is fairly decent, too bad there isn't a full sandy beach in front of the hotel! Our room location was very far away from everyone else (in a separate tower) that was here for the wedding, we booked our room in October you think they would have been able to place our room close to everyone else in the room block that was set aside for us.

The resort doesn't accommodate free wifi and we had to pay about $40ish for 7 days use of it, I had previously looked into the wifi option before we travelled down here and it was standard for hotels in the area to charge for wifi access.

The rooms don't have kitchens in them, so much for cooking for ourselves! Eating in Kona was very difficult as I am 100% gluten free as I have a Non-celiac Gluten Sensitivity. Every time we dined out, I let them know that I was allergic to wheat etc, they looked at me like they had never heard anything like that before and it was a huge inconvenience to them that I was.

All and All... to sum it up we had a pretty great time, our friends wedding was absolutely hands down beautiful and the resort wedding planner did an AMAZING job, two thumbs up for him!

Room Tip: Choose "Ocean Front Room" when you book. We requested Ocean View and only had what I consi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TayMet1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Aloha TA family, it's really great to know these guests had a nice time at their friends wedding with us. I'm so glad to know they found our resort romance team did such a great job. We have amazing locations for weddings, receptions, vow renewals etc. and a talented chef to create beautiful cakes and delicious food. Sorry they felt the in room wifi was too pricey, but it's there for your convenience. I'm glad to know overall they had a nice stay with us. Mahalo for sharing~!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed in early July 2014 - overall great accommodation. The furnishings/rooms are a bit 1960-70 era (look and smell of mustard), BUT for the prices of the rooms compared to other accommodations, the Royal Kona was great.

A negative aspect about the hotel is the fact you have to pay for SLOW internet. It is 2014 and the internet is important for planning etc for holidays and it ought to be included with the accommodation prices. It is a shame that for the high internet price the Royal Kona charges that the internet isn't faster and more reliable (it would cut in/out, on/off every 15 minutes or so) - so Skyping etc is limited and lags.. ALOT.

Highly recommend the Royal Kona to those looking for affordable accommodation.

Service, sleep and location - A++, 10/10

Room Tip: Higher level floor away from the lift to avoid the noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Luke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Aloha TA family, great to see our guests from Australia really enjoyed their stay with us. I'm a bit concerned about their internet issues, I've sent a personal message to determine the room they occupied. Our internet wifi is traditionally very reliable. Pleased to know they found us quite affordable and a great value as well. We'll hope to see them again on their return trip to Kona! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had a wonderful time here…I did not get to go to the Luau but I hear it is wonderful. Just stayed at the pool and relaxed. The Happy hour is wonderful, make sure to get there early…its the #1 spot for sunset views…..oh and the pupu's were great and great prices!!

Room Tip: must ask for a Oceanfront View….incredible !!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Aloha TA family, its nice to see one of our Kamaaina (residents) had a nice stay with us. We do have great views, a wonderful bar, relaxing pool area that sits right next to the ocean. We're know to be the best value for the best location in Kona, hands down. So glad they had a nice stay, we'll look forward to seeing them again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We picked this hotel because it was reasonable value for money, well located, and gave us a base from which to explore Big Island. In essence, this is a resort hotel, geared up for families, built some while ago and beginning to need a thorough refurbishment to bring it up to date. However, it does have good views, the room we stayed in was a good size and the bed adequate for comfort. The bathroom looked a bit grey, as if had been cleaned so many times that the surfaces had worn away.

As so often with large hotels, the service was a bit impersonal. The bar has a great location, but the food was ok rather than memorably good. The lagoon to one side was a pleasant feature, and even had some sea life to spot and appreciate.

In summary, this hotel is adequate rather than exceptional - it "did the job" rather than being the "experience" it could be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dew's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Aloha TA Family, I'm glad to know these guest enjoyed their stay with us. Our location right on the waters edge, right in Kona town is ideal as they mention. A great place to stay when exploring all the wonderful things the big island has to offer. Although we're not the newest kid on the block, we do strive to provide a clean and well maintained facility for all to enjoy. Glad they enjoyed their stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £118 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing