We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha in Kona”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Tremelo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Aloha in Kona”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was our first stay in this hotel . The room was quiet , the bed was comfortable . The breakfast was delicious . We enjoyed our visits to the bar where we had free wifi . In walking distance there were a lot of restaurants and shops . Staff was very friendly and helpfull . Would certainly recommend this hotel !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TristanTremelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha TA Family, here we are with another solid review, from a guest who did their homework, found us, and found the best value in Kona, Our comfortable rooms, fantastic food and beverage, free wifi at Don's Mai Tai Bar and of course the location. I'm glad they'll recommend us to their friends and family! We'll look forward to seeing them again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    1,147
    634
    283
    184
See reviews for
556
1,433
111
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southern california
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Have a time share but when we over extend our stay we hop over to the Royal Kona for a great view at good prices! We enjoy the location which is right in the heart of Kona Hawaii! We have always been treated very well by the staff. They have a nice Luau too!

Room Tip: Get the ocean front! Wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zim1totravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha TA family, it's really nice to see a vacation ownership guest loves our hotel, and Kona. Definitely have the corner of the market with our excellent location. We're right on Alii Drive, the main lifeline in Kona for dining, shopping, etc. I'm glad they shared they love the location, staff and great prices, we're truly the best value in Kona. We'll see them back again soon I'm sure, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had an excellent stay at the Royal Kona Resort Hotel!

I did not want to hire a car and I certainly chose the right place to stay. It is located about 7 minutes from downtown Kona, with a great nearby coffee place called Java on the Rocks where they do excellent food and wonderful coffee with a stunning view!

Also right next is Snorkel Bob's where you can rent your water gear and book your water sports.

Kona downtown has great bars, restaurants and shops, with a mixture of tourist gift shops and supermarkets.

For brunch go to Fish Hopper, they do the best "Catch of the Day" benedict"

There is a hop on and hop off bus $2.00 which can take you to beaches and an hour tour of that side of the island.

The hotel has a lovely pool, open planned pool bar, restaurant and four tennis courts.

Ideal for couples and families!

The only downside, but not enough for me not to go back, is the hotel could do with a bit of sprucing up! In its glory days it must have been awesome, but it could do with a lick of paint in some places, but DON'T let this put you off!

A cab from the airport to the hotel is $33.00

Room Tip: I stayed in room #342, a Master corner room, not quite over looking the pool, but certainly a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha TA family, what a nice, solid review from another satisfied guest. They mention and comment on all of the great things about our resort, and the location we maintain, Being at the end of the strip we have unobstructed views of the ocean from many rooms, and we're steps away from all the dining, shopping and fun you can imagine. I'm grateful they shared their experience, and I'll definitely look forward to welcoming them back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We loved the hotel grounds so much it was hard to leave to other activities off-site. The hotel is situated right on the ocean and it's a magical view whether eating breakfast in the restaurant, sipping mai tais in the open tiki bar, swimming in the pool, lounging in the seats along the veranda, or gazing out your room window! Hotel staff was phenomenal. Everyone from the front desk staff, to the hostess at breakfast, to parking lot staff, to housekeeping, to bartenders and servers, were courteous, professional, and helpful. Everyone we came across helped make us feel special and our stay enjoyable. We loved our room--it's spaciousness, cleanliness, comfort, and the view! We will definitely come back. We had come to Hawaii to find a time-share, but we both agreed--we'd rather stay at the Royal Kona Resort!

Room Tip: Even a partial ocean view is a great view. You'll be able to see the ocean and HEAR the ocean w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaMJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha TA crew, here again we have really satisfied guests who's expectations were met and exceeded. I'm glad staying with us was key in changing their minds to buy a time share. Let our staff pamper you, clean your room, cook your food, and make you feel at home without the work. We'll welcome them back when their travels bring them to Kona again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Pros:
Good room, with all usual amenities.
Friendly staff.
Good breakfast selection.
Excellent location with walking distance if the town, with several restaurants and shops ( including 4 x ABC stores!).

Cons:
Our room overlooked air handling equipment and the roof of the restaurant. As a result, there was constant low-level noise.
Everything looked a bit tired and in need of refurbishment.
The "high-speed" internet service reached an average of 0.25mb in the evenings and 0.46mb, just OK for emails only.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kvukwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha TA family, glad to know these guests love our friendly staff, the great breakfast etc. We are working to upgrade the in room wifi that we charge a nominal fee for. When we installed 8 years ago it was the best you could get. We do offer complimentary wifi at Don's Mai Tai Bar, but that's pretty much for checking email not streaming videos. Glad they enjoyed their stay with us, we'll look forward to seeing them again soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent a week at the Royal Kona in June. Was my 2nd time there. It was as great this time as the first. The location is amazing for the price. You can walk pretty much anywhere in Downtown Kona, all the shopping and dining is around you. Don the beachcomber was great as well, exactly as I remembered. This place is just great. Everyone is friendly and very helpful and even though the rooms are a bit older, they are large and very clean. We had a burnt out light in the bathroom and we did not even have to call down to get it fixed, when we came back later in the day it was already taken care of. We did get engaged sitting over looking the ocean one night, and it was the perfect place for it. I will always have nothing but great things to say about the Royal Kona, and hope to return back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawsVanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha TA family, Another really satisfied return guest, I love seeing that they again had their expectations met and exceeded. We strive to provide our guests with clean well maintained rooms and grounds, as well as friendly staff and great food and beverage. It's our goal to have loyal customers who return time and time again, that enjoy their stays with us. Glad they shared, we'll see them again soon! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our second visit to the Royal Kona Resort and we are still very impressed with everything about the hotel.

The Rooms are fantastic. The appliances available in the kitchen assisted with letting us have coffee and breakfast/dinner in our room. The fridge is a standard hotel fridge but big enough to hold basic items. The lanai is large and comes with a great view depending on the room you select. I definately recommend choosing a room with a view of the ocean. You're in Hawaii and you will enjoy waking up to a view of the ocean!

Staff: Once again we never encountered a staff member we didnt like. They are always friendly and willing to help you if you need it. From the parking attendent, front desk, maintance staff, everyone always said hello and asked about our day.

Location: This has to be the best location on the island for us. It is located minutes from various restaurants and happy hours. Walking distance to anywhere on Ali'i Drive is a big selling feature for us. Rent a car because you will need it to explore everthing the island has to offer!

We would not hesisitate to stay here for a third time and look forward to our next return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank addicted2thesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha TA family, we love seeing loyal return customers sharing their experience with us. I'm pleased to know they love our location, our rooms, our amazing staff, and all the other great things about our resort. True we're not the newest kid on the block, but for what we lack in being brand new, we make up for in style, ambiance and class. We'll look forward to seeing them again soon! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing