We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoying Kona”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Royal Kona Hotel can be a good fit some people but not the best for others. It is an old hotel that really hasn't been kept up in terms of maintenance and facilities. It is also a hotel that does not have any beach area in front of it but more of a rocky cliff area. This said, if your plan is to go to Hawaii and stay in the hotel, this would not be the best fit.
However, if like me, you are planning to use it basically as a stop to sleep, take a shower, etc. this would be the perfect stop. It is not on the very expensive range, staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and you can at some point take advantage of the pool, restaurants and overall its magnificent location. The views from the hotel are amazing and it's location is ideal to travel from here to other places on the Big Island. If walking, it is located centrally near the tourist area and you are close to everything. If you are driving, you are just in the midpoint to go the other locations.
In summary, I am not crazy about the hotel but I think it was a good fit for my plan to stay in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Look for a room in the corner of the buildings and not at the height of the palm trees because it ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CaroWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Aloha TA family, it's great to know we were a great fit for this guest needs. I'm happy to know they loved the views, location and friendly staff. Remember, we have the best location in Kona, in relation to Alii Drive, the main road, with restaurants, shopping, galleries, historical sites and the pier for water activities. I'm glad this was a great stay for them! Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,099 of 2,915 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Many years ago, the Hilton flag flew above this property. Located on the waves! Spectacular water setting. The hotel provides a pretty salt water, sandy bottom lagoon that's approximately 1500 sq feet. Private and lovely. It was a spectacular, comfortable place.


Hilton moved out a number of years ago and so did the professionalism.

Ann, at the front desk is attractive, affable and accommodating. The front desk is professional. But, that's it. The property is in complete disrepair. Musty odors in the inside/outside lobby, rust everywhere, deferred maintenance throughout, poorly maintained buildings. A total catastrophe. Specifically, our room on the 5th floor fantastically boasted a view on steroids, but was musty, carpet-stained, ceiling stained, devoid of inside sitting furniture, excessively loud air conditioner, rusty hardware on the door fixtures and bathroom fixtures. My wife and i shared our room with two uninvited roommates, a dead cockroach and a live cannibal buddy. Also, the management charges for parking. This hotel was once, lovely. One may surmise that the present non-caring ownership has other ideas for the edifice. Condos?

Room Tip: A Sheraton is down the road and Marriott King Kamehameha is close ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Aloha TA Family, too bad we cant win them all, all of the time. This review is their honest opinion, and I respect that. though as I frequently suggest you do your homework prior to staying at any hotel, so you know what to expect, and are not dissapointed. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was our first stay in this hotel . The room was quiet , the bed was comfortable . The breakfast was delicious . We enjoyed our visits to the bar where we had free wifi . In walking distance there were a lot of restaurants and shops . Staff was very friendly and helpfull . Would certainly recommend this hotel !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TristanTremelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Aloha TA Family, here we are with another solid review, from a guest who did their homework, found us, and found the best value in Kona, Our comfortable rooms, fantastic food and beverage, free wifi at Don's Mai Tai Bar and of course the location. I'm glad they'll recommend us to their friends and family! We'll look forward to seeing them again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Have a time share but when we over extend our stay we hop over to the Royal Kona for a great view at good prices! We enjoy the location which is right in the heart of Kona Hawaii! We have always been treated very well by the staff. They have a nice Luau too!

Room Tip: Get the ocean front! Wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zim1totravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Aloha TA family, it's really nice to see a vacation ownership guest loves our hotel, and Kona. Definitely have the corner of the market with our excellent location. We're right on Alii Drive, the main lifeline in Kona for dining, shopping, etc. I'm glad they shared they love the location, staff and great prices, we're truly the best value in Kona. We'll see them back again soon I'm sure, Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had an excellent stay at the Royal Kona Resort Hotel!

I did not want to hire a car and I certainly chose the right place to stay. It is located about 7 minutes from downtown Kona, with a great nearby coffee place called Java on the Rocks where they do excellent food and wonderful coffee with a stunning view!

Also right next is Snorkel Bob's where you can rent your water gear and book your water sports.

Kona downtown has great bars, restaurants and shops, with a mixture of tourist gift shops and supermarkets.

For brunch go to Fish Hopper, they do the best "Catch of the Day" benedict"

There is a hop on and hop off bus $2.00 which can take you to beaches and an hour tour of that side of the island.

The hotel has a lovely pool, open planned pool bar, restaurant and four tennis courts.

Ideal for couples and families!

The only downside, but not enough for me not to go back, is the hotel could do with a bit of sprucing up! In its glory days it must have been awesome, but it could do with a lick of paint in some places, but DON'T let this put you off!

A cab from the airport to the hotel is $33.00

Room Tip: I stayed in room #342, a Master corner room, not quite over looking the pool, but certainly a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Aloha TA family, what a nice, solid review from another satisfied guest. They mention and comment on all of the great things about our resort, and the location we maintain, Being at the end of the strip we have unobstructed views of the ocean from many rooms, and we're steps away from all the dining, shopping and fun you can imagine. I'm grateful they shared their experience, and I'll definitely look forward to welcoming them back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We loved the hotel grounds so much it was hard to leave to other activities off-site. The hotel is situated right on the ocean and it's a magical view whether eating breakfast in the restaurant, sipping mai tais in the open tiki bar, swimming in the pool, lounging in the seats along the veranda, or gazing out your room window! Hotel staff was phenomenal. Everyone from the front desk staff, to the hostess at breakfast, to parking lot staff, to housekeeping, to bartenders and servers, were courteous, professional, and helpful. Everyone we came across helped make us feel special and our stay enjoyable. We loved our room--it's spaciousness, cleanliness, comfort, and the view! We will definitely come back. We had come to Hawaii to find a time-share, but we both agreed--we'd rather stay at the Royal Kona Resort!

Room Tip: Even a partial ocean view is a great view. You'll be able to see the ocean and HEAR the ocean w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank VictoriaMJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Aloha TA crew, here again we have really satisfied guests who's expectations were met and exceeded. I'm glad staying with us was key in changing their minds to buy a time share. Let our staff pamper you, clean your room, cook your food, and make you feel at home without the work. We'll welcome them back when their travels bring them to Kona again. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Pros:
Good room, with all usual amenities.
Friendly staff.
Good breakfast selection.
Excellent location with walking distance if the town, with several restaurants and shops ( including 4 x ABC stores!).

Cons:
Our room overlooked air handling equipment and the roof of the restaurant. As a result, there was constant low-level noise.
Everything looked a bit tired and in need of refurbishment.
The "high-speed" internet service reached an average of 0.25mb in the evenings and 0.46mb, just OK for emails only.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kvukwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Aloha TA family, glad to know these guests love our friendly staff, the great breakfast etc. We are working to upgrade the in room wifi that we charge a nominal fee for. When we installed 8 years ago it was the best you could get. We do offer complimentary wifi at Don's Mai Tai Bar, but that's pretty much for checking email not streaming videos. Glad they enjoyed their stay with us, we'll look forward to seeing them again soon. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £122 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing