We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kona by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic view and beautiful place. A 1 maid service. Would definitely stay here again. Easy access to downtown Kona and lots of restaurants and shopping near by. Helped make my first trip to Hawaii a wonderful one.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

It is important your first experience of Hawaii was good so you will want to return. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you can return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for Aston Kona by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

After going through many reviews,we settled on the Aston Kona, as most reviews were quite positive for this accommodation. My partner and I were very disappointed however for many reasons. The positives first - our 2 bedroom unit was spacious with a very well equipped kitchen (many dishes and appliances), 2 good sized bathrooms and a big lanai with a nice view. The pool and lovely grounds were a bonus. Sadly though, there were many other factors that we were not impressed with! Although spacious, our unit was old and tired and in desperate need of a really,really good clean and update- including the bed linen which had stains on it. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows even worse! Some of the furniture was broken (like the lounge which you sank down almost to the ground in) and overall the unit did not seem cared for. Most kitchen appliances were really grotty which meant we refused to use any of them. The housekeeping was underwhelming and the extra amenity fee was an absolute joke as you didn't really get much apart from a paper! When asking for a later check out (on the actual day of check in) as we had a later evening flight when leaving and wanted a few more hours in our unit rather than waiting at the airport, we were told to come back on the morning we were leaving and ask again to see if our unit would be available! We were shocked with this as there were quite a few other units empty so didn't think it would be a hassle,and had never had this kind of request before! They did give us one extra hour (better than nothing), however, reception did not communicate this to housekeeping who proceeded to enter the unit, with us still there, to do the exit clean!! Perhaps the reviews we read were for a different unit than what we were put in?? We prefer not to give bad reviews, however in all of our stays in Hawaii, this place was utterly disappointing. Needless to say we will never return here again and would not recommend it to others! It does not deserve a 3 star rating in our eyes!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

We sincerely apologize your unit was not to your satisfaction. I am disappointed we did not have the opportunity to resolve the situation and provide other choices. I am confident if given the opportunity we may have found a unit to your satisfaction. Unfortunately late check outs cannot be granted until day of departure so we may have the opportunity to sell the unit and better manage our inventory. While we did not have the opportunity to remedy the situation while you were here I offer my personal assistance in the hope you will return for I am confident we can show you that great Hawaiian vacation you expected while here at Kona by the Sea. Please feel free to contact me directly for my assistance.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is our second time staying at Kona by the Sea. Once again we found the ocean view spectacular no matter if we were down in the beach chairs, poolside or from our lanai. Housekeeping and office staff were helpful and did a great job. Our 2 bedroom, ocean front (#324) was not as nice or updated as the room we had on our previous visit. The lanai screen doors did not function properly. Sofa was old and lumpy and needed an update. TV's were small and old style, and the reception was a little fuzzy. Come on, fuzzy reception? No flat screens? Definitely needs up date. Carpet also had alot of stains on it. Kitchen was not stocked with all the needed cooking items for example no baking sheets and pizza pan for oven use. Entry door seemed a little beat up. All in all, it just wasn't as great a suite as we had had on our previous visit. Can't beat the ocean view though and the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks. So I rate this a 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is well worth the price.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5fromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

We are disappointed learning your return was not to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies. We will definitely colaborate with the owner and make improvements. We hope you will give us another opportunity for I am confident we can exceed your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly for my personal assistance.

We hope for your return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

From the time we entered our one-bedroom, two bathroom suite, we knew we had made the right decision in staying at the Aston. We arrive late at night and the security personnel had our access cards ready along with a great smile. The interior décor was inviting us to just sit and enjoy a cup of tea on the lanai. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and the staff worked hard at maintaining our comfort. We started all our mornings enjoying a cup of Kona coffee on the lanai, watched the sun rise and planned our day. The kitchen had everything we needed to eat in and we used the bbq's at the beach quite often. We met some very nice and interesting people, eating by the water in the evenings. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Aston.

Room Tip: definitely ask for an ocean view; worth it!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MYLemoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

We thank you for the great review so our readers will stay with us with confidence.

Please return very soon.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We scheduled our trip through a travel agent and reviewed the website when we agreed to this hotel. Unfortunately, we did not get the nicely decorated rooms. Our #105 unit was a sorry mess. Shabby (and not in a chic way), outdated and not extremely clean. We only staying for 3 nights so thought it wasn't that bad. Well it just got worse as the days wore on. Afraid to run the dishwasher as the door was broken and were afraid it would leak. Fan in the on suite bathroom was so noisy you really couldn't stand to be in there. Mattress was poor, salt water rust on the metal fixtures and cracked and or broken molding. Although in good condition the ugliest floor tile I've ever seen (personal opinion). Had to go to the front desk the second morning to get the coffee, which has already been stated was horrible. The new coffee vendor has not kicked in yet. The $10.00 AMENITY fee is pretty ridiculous for one package of lousy coffee and a small local paper, we didn't use wifi. The staff was not apologetic and the housekeeping was poor. I will say that the view is amazing and the balcony was a great way to relax. Will call the travel agent when I finish writing this review.

Room Tip: Not sure - request pictures of your unit before you rent it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

We sincerely apologize that your unit and coffee was not up to your expectations. We are disappointed we missed the opportunity to resolve your concerns while you were here. I am sure we could have offered another unit that would have met your expectations and be assured we will investigate and address your concerns. While I cannot remedy what has happened I would like to offer my personal assistance if you decide to give us another opportunity. I am sure with my help we can provide that great Hawaiian vacation you expected while here at Aston Kona by the Sea. Please feel free to contact me directly and as you mentioned we have started using a better coffee.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in one bedroom , ocean front , unit 419 from Nov. 20th to Nov. 28th. The property location was great ! The unit was beautiful. The on site management and workers do everything without even knowing they are around.We have spent a week on each island on different trips and this was our best experience. The "Big Island" is great ! Even the view from the Safeway parking lot on Henry Street is spectacular !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PETER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

We truly appreciate our efforts to provide a great Hawaiian vacation are recognized once in a while. Our staff takes pride in meeting our goals. We hope you return very soon our staff is waiting to be of service.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our experience at this resort was great. Wonderful ocean view from the lanai which was accessible from the living room and master bedroom. We were maybe 50 feet or so from the ocean. Sitting on the lanai and listening to the surf was so pleasant, and at night it helped to lull us to sleep. Spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo that was well appointed. Decent pool, hot tub, and barbecues. The team here was great, from security that checked us in due to our late arrival, to the activities desk, housekeeping, and the front desk that arranged for a late checkout due to our flight departure time...no complaints at all from us. We would definitely consider this property on a future trip to the Big Island.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mountainguy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your great review and sharing your experience with us. Our readers look forward to first hand experience.

Please let us welcome you back very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
28.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
24.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
3.6 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#10 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75-6106 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2312 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £155 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing