We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall experience but beware of certain rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kona by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good overall experience but beware of certain rooms”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days while on the Big Island. Our experience was good overall but there were a few issues I feel I have to mention. The biggest problem I find with this type of property is that the units are individually owned, which means that not all units are the same but they all cost the same price. We had to switch units twice when we first arrived before finally getting a good room. The first room was 323 located in the north building with a more south facing view. The kitchen was newly updated but everything else seemed very lacking. The carpet was terribly stained and the room stunk terribly of wet dog. I asked whether any of the unit owners had pets and was told that pets were not allowed, I somehow can't believe the owner of 323 didnt have a dog though. We were given another room without a problem, this time I think it was room 221 in the same building. The units kitchen was original but everything else would have been ok, however they were installing carpet in the room above us with continual banging. We were told it would be like that for 2 days, so we opted for yet another room. The final room we were given was unit 409. This was in the south building that directly faces the ocean. This unit was updated and clean and had a beautiful direct ocean front view. We were very pleased with this unit although the bed was a bit uncomfortable. The hotel was quiet and the pool and hot tub were nice and relaxing. There unfortunately isn't much in this area within walking distance and there are also no sidewalks along most of the Ali'i drive. Overall I would recommend this place but it would be nicer if there was more of a standard between the units or if the units were priced differently based on updates.

Room Tip: Request a high floor and stay away from 323 until the carpet is replaced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandJVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Kona by the Sea. We sincerely apologize our unit 323 was not up to your satisfaction and we will review your comments with the owner. I am happy our staff was able to find a unit to your satisfaction and hope that you will return and give us another opportunity to provide a great Hawaiian vacation.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    205
    49
    32
    15
See reviews for
239
218
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Traveling with two older children so we wanted to have a place large enough we weren't always on top of each other. Rooms were great - lots of space to spread out, great views from the master and living room. Kitchen came well supplied with cooking equipment, microwave, etc. Saved a lot of money versus eating out for every meal. Swimming pool okay, beach space fine. Free movies after watching spectacular sunsets was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Yes one of our features is very spacious units perfect for families and all units come with two full bathrooms. With the ocean so close by your experience of Hawaii can't get any better.

We hope you return very soon.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed 30 October for four days. Beautiful accommodation, and so big I rattled around a little!

The downside was that it was a way out of town, and whilst I had a fabulous time on the Big Island, and especially on the bus, I probably should have chosen somewhere more central.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay on the Big Island. We don't know if a rental car was an option for you but it is a great way to see the Island and makes a 5 minute trip to our town.

Please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We got a 2 bedroom unit and the apartment was awesome. The common area was neat and clean. The pool was clean and the surrounding area of the hotel was clean as well. The unit was well taken care of and it felt like home. I would recommend Aston Kona by the sea to anyone wanting a place to stay in Kona.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time and letting our readers know Kona by the Sea is a great choice to experience Hawaii. Thank you for staying with us.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic view and beautiful place. A 1 maid service. Would definitely stay here again. Easy access to downtown Kona and lots of restaurants and shopping near by. Helped make my first trip to Hawaii a wonderful one.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
It is important your first experience of Hawaii was good so you will want to return. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you can return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

After going through many reviews,we settled on the Aston Kona, as most reviews were quite positive for this accommodation. My partner and I were very disappointed however for many reasons. The positives first - our 2 bedroom unit was spacious with a very well equipped kitchen (many dishes and appliances), 2 good sized bathrooms and a big lanai with a nice view. The pool and lovely grounds were a bonus. Sadly though, there were many other factors that we were not impressed with! Although spacious, our unit was old and tired and in desperate need of a really,really good clean and update- including the bed linen which had stains on it. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows even worse! Some of the furniture was broken (like the lounge which you sank down almost to the ground in) and overall the unit did not seem cared for. Most kitchen appliances were really grotty which meant we refused to use any of them. The housekeeping was underwhelming and the extra amenity fee was an absolute joke as you didn't really get much apart from a paper! When asking for a later check out (on the actual day of check in) as we had a later evening flight when leaving and wanted a few more hours in our unit rather than waiting at the airport, we were told to come back on the morning we were leaving and ask again to see if our unit would be available! We were shocked with this as there were quite a few other units empty so didn't think it would be a hassle,and had never had this kind of request before! They did give us one extra hour (better than nothing), however, reception did not communicate this to housekeeping who proceeded to enter the unit, with us still there, to do the exit clean!! Perhaps the reviews we read were for a different unit than what we were put in?? We prefer not to give bad reviews, however in all of our stays in Hawaii, this place was utterly disappointing. Needless to say we will never return here again and would not recommend it to others! It does not deserve a 3 star rating in our eyes!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We sincerely apologize your unit was not to your satisfaction. I am disappointed we did not have the opportunity to resolve the situation and provide other choices. I am confident if given the opportunity we may have found a unit to your satisfaction. Unfortunately late check outs cannot be granted until day of departure so we may have the opportunity to sell the unit and better manage our inventory. While we did not have the opportunity to remedy the situation while you were here I offer my personal assistance in the hope you will return for I am confident we can show you that great Hawaiian vacation you expected while here at Kona by the Sea. Please feel free to contact me directly for my assistance.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is our second time staying at Kona by the Sea. Once again we found the ocean view spectacular no matter if we were down in the beach chairs, poolside or from our lanai. Housekeeping and office staff were helpful and did a great job. Our 2 bedroom, ocean front (#324) was not as nice or updated as the room we had on our previous visit. The lanai screen doors did not function properly. Sofa was old and lumpy and needed an update. TV's were small and old style, and the reception was a little fuzzy. Come on, fuzzy reception? No flat screens? Definitely needs up date. Carpet also had alot of stains on it. Kitchen was not stocked with all the needed cooking items for example no baking sheets and pizza pan for oven use. Entry door seemed a little beat up. All in all, it just wasn't as great a suite as we had had on our previous visit. Can't beat the ocean view though and the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks. So I rate this a 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5fromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We are disappointed learning your return was not to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies. We will definitely colaborate with the owner and make improvements. We hope you will give us another opportunity for I am confident we can exceed your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly for my personal assistance.

We hope for your return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
28.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
24.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
24.1 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Property: Aston Kona by the Sea
Address: 75-6106 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2312 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing