We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston Kona by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$348
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
316
220
52
34
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
220
52
34
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontsandy areafull kitchendaily maid servicethe big islandliving roomwasher and dryerbedroom oceanfrontsalt water poolcovered parkingcleaned dailyunderground parkingoffice staffgreat place to staysand beachgreat ocean viewswaves crashing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days while on the Big Island. Our experience was good overall but there were a few issues I feel I have to mention. The biggest problem I find with this type of property is that the units are individually owned, which means that not all units are the same but they all cost the same price. We had to switch units twice when we first arrived before finally getting a good room. The first room was 323 located in the north building with a more south facing view. The kitchen was newly updated but everything else seemed very lacking. The carpet was terribly stained and the room stunk terribly of wet dog. I asked whether any of the unit owners had pets and was told that pets were not allowed, I somehow can't believe the owner of 323 didnt have a dog though. We were given another room without a problem, this time I think it was room 221 in the same building. The units kitchen was original but everything else would have been ok, however they were installing carpet in the room above us with continual banging. We were told it would be like that for 2 days, so we opted for yet another room. The final room we were given was unit 409. This was in the south building that directly faces the ocean. This unit was updated and clean and had a beautiful direct ocean front view. We were very pleased with this unit although the bed was a bit uncomfortable. The hotel was quiet and the pool and hot tub were nice and relaxing. There unfortunately isn't much in this area within walking distance and there are also no sidewalks along most of the Ali'i drive. Overall I would recommend this place but it would be nicer if there was more of a standard between the units or if the units were priced differently based on updates.

Room Tip: Request a high floor and stay away from 323 until the carpet is replaced.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandJVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Kona by the Sea. We sincerely apologize our unit 323 was not up to your satisfaction and we will review your comments with the owner. I am happy our staff was able to find a unit to your satisfaction and hope that you will return and give us another opportunity to provide a great Hawaiian vacation.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Traveling with two older children so we wanted to have a place large enough we weren't always on top of each other. Rooms were great - lots of space to spread out, great views from the master and living room. Kitchen came well supplied with cooking equipment, microwave, etc. Saved a lot of money versus eating out for every meal. Swimming pool okay, beach space fine. Free movies after watching spectacular sunsets was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Yes one of our features is very spacious units perfect for families and all units come with two full bathrooms. With the ocean so close by your experience of Hawaii can't get any better.

We hope you return very soon.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed 30 October for four days. Beautiful accommodation, and so big I rattled around a little!

The downside was that it was a way out of town, and whilst I had a fabulous time on the Big Island, and especially on the bus, I probably should have chosen somewhere more central.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay on the Big Island. We don't know if a rental car was an option for you but it is a great way to see the Island and makes a 5 minute trip to our town.

Please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We got a 2 bedroom unit and the apartment was awesome. The common area was neat and clean. The pool was clean and the surrounding area of the hotel was clean as well. The unit was well taken care of and it felt like home. I would recommend Aston Kona by the sea to anyone wanting a place to stay in Kona.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time and letting our readers know Kona by the Sea is a great choice to experience Hawaii. Thank you for staying with us.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic view and beautiful place. A 1 maid service. Would definitely stay here again. Easy access to downtown Kona and lots of restaurants and shopping near by. Helped make my first trip to Hawaii a wonderful one.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

It is important your first experience of Hawaii was good so you will want to return. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you can return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews