We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aston Kona by the Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kona by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked Aston Kona by the Sea through Donna Bender of MauiCalls who is an Aston Specialist. The unit was huge and had such a lovely view of the ocean! There was a sandy area under the palm trees that was perfect for reading and relaxing. We used the outdoor BBQ grills a couple of times, and found it to be kind of a social hour with the other residents! Covered parking was nice, and the pool was great. We had a rental car so getting around was easy. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your great review it will help our readers make the right decision.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have stayed at this condo resort twice in the last 10 years. The condo was wonderful with a fabulous view, nice furnishings and linens. The kitchen was nicely equipped for our cooking needs. Perhaps what stood out the most was the staff. The lobby staff was always attentive and wonderfully friendly. The housekeeping staff was friendly and met our requests in a timely way. We highly recommend this place !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

We always believed our staff is why our guests return year after year.

Thank you for sharing with our readers what we believe in.

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We again stayed here on our trip to Kona this past January. We stayed in a two-bedroom ocean front condo. The condo was perfect, the staff was helpful and friendly and it's a great location. We'll be back next year again.

Room Tip: The ocean front condos are your best view but are a little more expensive. We also like to be higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We look forward to be of service to you and your family very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed here with family (dad, mom and two teenage kids) in a two-bedroom ocean front suite. We booked it using Costco travel and got a reasonably good price. The suite was a fully furnished condo, with a living room and kitchen. We never cooked but used the kitchen to make tea/coffee or cut fruits and warm food (when we had take out). Kitchen was well equipped with all utensils and a dish washer. We stayed for 4 (four) nights. It was very comfortable. View of the ocean from the balcony was gorgeous. The property is very well maintained. Free covered parking is available in the basement. There is an Expedia travel booth near the front desk. The agent of the travel booth gave us various choices to book activities on the big island. We booked the sub-marine ride with her. There is pool and hot tub on the property but we never used the facility as we were mostly out and about. There is no provision for room service, basically no food. Drink is only available from a vending machine. I wish the owners offer at least some breakfast on the property (reason for giving them 4 stars instead of 5). By the way, there is a free DVD rental and we used it to watch movies in the room. The room had a flat screen TV and DVD-player-cum-game-console. They also have free wi-fi in the room. Overall very happy with the service. Will recommend my friends to go to this property, any time.

Room Tip: Pick a ocean front accommodation and you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mksahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for your great review. We appreciate your suggestion unfortunately it is not in our future plans but always a possibility.

Please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Being prepared for a "value accommodation", we were very pleasantly surprised by everything about it. The suite (322) was in excellent condition with nice finishes including marble counter tops, and a full suite of appliances that all worked flawlessly. The King size bed was just like our own at home. The ocean breeze moved so effectively through the unit (once we opened some vents in the back bedroom), we didn't need the AC.

The front desk staff were very helpful and pleasant and our (very) late arrival was professionally handled. We felt like we were being welcomed home. The housekeeping staff were a treat and kept us well cared for and short of nothing.

The location was ideal, just far enough outside of downtown Kailua to be away from the "tourist bustle", but close enough so that our morning runs facilitated a wake-up brew at Lava Java. While the surf on the rocky public beach out front was a little too adventurous for us, the surfers loved it. The pool and small sandy beach area on the property were well maintained and provided a perfect venue to tan, swim, bar-b-que and watch the waves, surfers and sunsets.

Overall, an excellent experience at a good price. We will be back.

Room Tip: We didn't check out the 1 bedroom units, but the two bedroom, oceanfront unit is worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stubbsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We always appreciate our guests that know how to have a great Hawaiian vacation. We are happy that we were a part your experience. Thank you for with staying us.

Our Ohana awaits your return.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for 1 week in Feb 14. Nice place, good location, beautiful pool. The rooms are good size but do need a new coat of paint. Unfortunately our bed room was at the front and when sleeping, you could hear people walking by.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 450dominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your review. Our owners will read your comments and appreciate your feedback. When you return you might want to try our two bedroom where the master bedroom is in front of the ocean with its own sliding glass door.

Please return very soon.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We chose Aston Kona by the Sea through our travel agent’s broker, Go Go Travels. We have yet to learn how much is cost us per night.

Pros:
- washer/dryer
- fully equipped kitchen
- nice view from the lanai
- friendly staff
- clean
- Covered parking

Cons:
- No beach within short walking distance. Feel the photos on the internet were deceiving.
- Bedroom at opposite end of ocean; could not be lulled to sleep by the waves
- Too far to walk from bedroom to lanai
- Too far from “downtown”
- Two full baths with one bed. What was the point?
- Amenity fee for mostly useless items; daily paper, DVD, Play Station, local toll free phone calls.

We were there to explore that side of the Big Island, not read the paper, watch movies or play games regardless of the weather. In fact, we toured the Kohala Coast in the rain! Don’t miss it!

This has nothing to do with this establishment but Kailua Kona has certainly exploded since we were there 20 years ago. It has become a terrible tourist trap. After this most recent trip, we have no desire to ever return.

Room Tip: If you want to walk to a beach, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank milbillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We sincerely hope you one day change your mind of our beautiful Island. Kona by the Sea will always welcome you back.

Mahalo

Brian Hirata
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
28.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
24.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
3.6 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#10 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75-6106 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2312 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £163 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing