We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pluses and Minuses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Judging by our experience and the experiences of others it is important to have confidence in the unit you select. We had unit 212 and on balance our experience was very good. The unit, as is the development in total, is somewhat tired. That shows in nicks on walls and doors and some marginal furniture. Beyond that the kitchen is well equipped and functions fine. The bed is very good and the bathrooms were clean. The highlights come from the beach exposure which faces due west enabling you to experience as good a sunset as you could imagine. Further, you overlook the lava beach area with multiple tide pools to explore and enjoy regular visit from multiple turtles. You are some what away from the action in Kona itself, it is a good 30 minute walk along the paved shoulder of the busy highway.

Room Tip: 212 is good. Close the door if the noise of the surf bothers you, otherwise enjoy the ocean experie...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Castle Kona Bali Kai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Kona Bali Kai is a very nice facility, pool and grounds are fantastic. Very close to everything. Unit 312 is an absolute dump. Use caution renting here as many units are not renovated. This unit was very old, extremely filthy, and worn out. Everything metal was rusty. We rented this unit through Elite Property Management Services and I would strongly recommend avoiding anything they rent. They did send the cleaners back 5 days after our arrival to clean the filthy unit and they sent the Orkin man there twice to deal with the ants and cockroaches. They also sent someone to change 4 worn out ceiling fans. However they didn't do anything about the 20 plus year old worn out beds however said the owner was aware . The only plus this unit has is the amazing waterfront lani and breathtaking sunsets. This deserved my giving the unit 1 star.

Room Tip: Read reviews the pictures being posted are very misleading.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Aloha

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your stay at Kona Bali Kai. Unit 312 is a private rental unit and is not part of Castle Resorts & Hotels rental program at Kona Bali Kai. Castle Resorts features over 60 units for our guests to choose from. When booking at Kona Bali Kai, go with the professionals and be sure to visit the Castle Resorts & Hotels website and book directly through us. You will receive professional service from our onsite housekeeping, maintenance and front desk team. We look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks

General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have been back to this complex 3 Times now. After this visit, I would hesitate a bit to recommend Castle Bali Kai. The oceanfront apartments have a fantastic view and layout of the building is pretty good as far as the swimming pool and parking. Here is the danger; every unit varies greatly in how it is maintained. So before you book look carefully at other customers' reviews. Unit 317 was borderline acceptable. It was clean, but tired. Shower in extra bathroom didn't work, Sink hardware was rusted/frozen in place. Sliding door to balcony barely slid. Washing / dryer on its last legs. Safe didn't work. Clock broken etc, etc. If you cant book another waterfront unit first, then maybe consider this one because the view and location make up for a lot.

Room Tip: Only consider Waterfront rooms at Bali Kai. Read carefully online reviews as each room is maintained...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_and_Y2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Aloha

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your stay at Kona Bali Kai. Unit 317 in a private rental unit and is not part of Castle Resorts & Hotels rental program at Kona Bali Kai. Castle Resorts features over 60 units for our guests. We have the largest selection of units and staff on site from 8am to 10pm. When booking at Kona Bali Kai be sure to visit the Castle Resorts & Hotels website and book directly through us.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This place is not worth the money. The unit (367) hasn't been updated, no dish washer, no laundry, dishes and cooking utensils were dirty, carpet was stained, stained and old tub, and the worst was the apparent urine stains on the bed spread.... Will NEVER stay here again and couldn't recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrC3422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Aloha

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your concerns. I have reviewed your comments with my team. Our property does have Laundry facilities, our mountain side units do not have dishwashers. However all of our ocean front unit have this feature. Our linens are sent out regularly for cleaning. Again thank you for letting us know your concerns.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Unit #306. We and another couple were late evening arrivals, service did not have our booking because Front Desk hadn't notified them we would be arriving after 11:00 p.m. Manager (Stephen) was called out to confirm our booking and let us in - he was apologetic and friendly. Unit 306 was very disappointing as it was dirty, very dated, moldy shower curtain, moldy tile in bathrooms around toilets, musty smell in kitchen cabinets, old dishes and cutlery, bed in 2nd bedroom very old and stiff, dryer not functioning. Manager addressed what he could, but could not move us to a better unit as they were fully booked. Unit 306 needs a complete renovation, and staff need to do a better job of cleaning. We saw inside Unit 305, it was beautifully renovated. On the positive side, breathtaking views of ocean and sunsets. Overall a very disappointing introduction to the Big Island (our first time, usually go to Maui), and we won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated unit on the ocean side, and review it on-line if you can before accepting it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R and B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your concerns. Unit 306 had new carpet and bedroom furniture installed in September of 2013 at this time the Sofa Sleeper in the living room was completely re-upholstered. We are continuously working with our owners to upgrade units; it is disappointing the recent upgrades in this unit did not meet your expectations.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We are avid travelers to Hawaii, this being our first time on the Big Island (we're usually on Maui). We find it greatly convenient to stay in a condo, on the islands, as opposed to a hotel. And, being that we had our 10 month old daughter with us this trip, a condo was all the more convenient. We were assigned unit 334. Its across the street from the main building. The unit itself is a little outdated. It could use a good deep cleaning. Thankfully, I checked the tea kettle before using it to boil water for my daughter's bottles, its completely rusted inside. Its missing a few basic cooking utensils (baking sheets, especially). We had a small view of the ocean, from our lanai. Our view was mainly the back of the Banyan Market, next door, and the riff raff that congregates there to smoke Marijuana. Needless to say, we didn't keep our sliding door open, when we were in the unit, because the smell would infiltrate it.

When we've stayed in units, on Maui, we tend to pay a cleaning fee. It doesn't cover daily cleaning of the unit, per say, but it does apply to a swap of kitchen/bath towels. At the Bali Kai, clean towels were an added cost. If I remember correctly, $10/daily. So, you either suck it up, and use the same towels all week, pay the added cost, or go down to the laundry area. That's another thing, the unit lacked a washer/dryer, when clearly there were a couple of spots that would've been perfect for a set. All our previous units have had them as well.

One of the perks we did like about the Bali Kai was that it was a few minutes drive outside of the center of town. So, we were away from all the car/foot traffic. Our favorite thing about the Bali Kai - DA POKE SHACK!!! My husband could've eaten there everyday. I'm not in to raw fish, but they have Huli Huli Chicken and Kalua Pork Bento Boxes (both are awesome).

We will be visiting Kona again, but we will most likely look into staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: I've read quite a few reviews where people have booked units directly from their owners on websi...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcosta511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know the details that we missed in your unit. I have reviewed our procedures with my team and assured them that we have the supplies needed for the units and we need to make sure that we replace items as needed. The Bayan Market is visited by many, tourists and locals alike, it is a very popular and convenient location. They do not allow people to hang and in their parking lot and have a party. We provide additional services both daily and weekly and just like other properties there is an additional fee, this is not a hidden cost as it is clearly included on our Website and that of our travel partners. On you next visit I ask that you contact me directly and I will work with you to ensure that you are in the best unit available.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were initially excited about returning here having stayed in an ocean front condo some years ago and loved it then. This time we were not so happy. It is pricey for very basic accommodation. The unit was very dated, we had to repeat requests for supplies to clean dishes (which weren't there initially), staff had to fix WiFi and toilet (which never worked well). There is a $50 charge for cleaning fees, but our room wasn't very clean when we arrived (found dusty toys from previous guests, crumbs on the floor, dishes in dishwasher). On a positive note, staff responded promptly when we called, and the property itself is beautiful (if you can get an ocean view unit). We've stayed here twice, and we won't be back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank A and L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Aloha,

It is disappointing that our property did not meet your expectation and that due to our high occupancy we were not able to accommodate your upgrade request for an Ocean Front unit. Our owners are continuously upgrading their units and although some items may appear dated we maintain them in good condition and in proper working order. I have reviewed your concerns with my housekeeping staff. If is very encouraging that my team responded professionally to all of your concerns. Given another opportunity our property and my team will meet and exceed your expectations.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
59.9 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.0 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#10 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
818 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
22.7 mi away
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
#8 of 13 in Waikoloa
246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
#8 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Kona Bali Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kona Bali Kai

Address: 76-6246 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £82 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kona Bali Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Bali Kai is a condominium resort located on the ocean's edge, displaying an uninterrupted vista of magnificent Kona sunsets. Choose from studios, one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with full-kitchens, private lanai, and ocean or mountainside views. Amenities include a swimming pool, barbecue areas throughout the resort, and a laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Kona Bali Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Bali Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Bali Kai Kailua
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hotel
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing