We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“35 anniversary disaster” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Kona Bali Kai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Fort McMurray Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“35 anniversary disaster”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Rented unit 405 a luxury 2bdrm 2 bath penthouse Oct 1st for a two week stay Jan 20 to Feb 03. Paid thru VRB0 (3565821ha) after speaking with the owner. Arrived late to be told by security that there were renters there and to return in the morning at 0800. Another owner told us to call the owner that this happens often. We contacted Mike and soon found out he had double booked and we were homeless in Hawaii. The manager for the complex was called and we were put in unit 216 and we were Mike assured us he would MAKE IT RIGHT tomorrow. We spent five days going to stand in line waiting to move. This unit was filthy feet always black from the carpet(see review Jan 19 2013) The bed was king size and comfy , there was a water filter so you didn't need to haul water everyday and the deck had loungers to enjoy the beautiful view. Day 6 we were moved across the street after being homeless all day till after 3 to a studio on the first top floor with no elevator. We just left the luggage in the car and hoped it would be there in the am. Next day again homeless all day till after 3 and moved to unit 212 for the duration never did see our Penthouse suite. 212 is the first floor of apts a one bedroom two bathroom suite. The second toilet didn't flush and it was quickly fixed so it just ran and ran after using so we gave up. Had to go buy water as no water system in this unit and no lounge chairs to rest on the lovely deck. This unit was clean and stocked well but is only a queen. Went to the barbecue pit several times which were always immaculate and spoke with other owners about our situation and they assured us the owner would reimburse us fairly. In the end we were offered 5 days a t the Penthouse free or 1000.00 (less than 1/3 of what we paid) which we took as we will never return here. Mike just left us in the hands of the girls at the desk to put us wherever they could find an unrented suite We love to travel and this VRBO disaster is a first and I cannot recommend staying at this property because you never know where you will end up and it can be VERY unpleasant

Room Tip: Oceanside has the views but be careful where they put you. Some suites lovely some absolutely horrib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank red078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shickscastle, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Aloha,

Your recent booking through VRBO must have been very disappointing, arriving at 11:30 pm night and having other people in the unit you reserved. Castle Resorts & Hotels was here in less than 30 minutes to provide you with substitute accommodations. I have talked to my team about your concerns and we are working to improve our cleaning procedures. Castle Resorts has over 60 units at Kona Bali Kai so on your next trip don’t worry about overbooking or an owner on the mainland, we are here in Hawaii and on property ready to serve you.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    110
    84
    63
    49
See reviews for
130
174
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in room 201 and really loved it. The view from the lanai was the best part. We watched a surfing competition from the lanai too. The master suite was great. In the other rooms you could hear a little bit of noise from the road but it wasn't too bad. The unit was well stocked and the kitchen was great. It was a pretty clean place. I would recommend it to others. Our kids loved the pool there. There are also some great tide pools where we saw a few turtles, crabs, and a variety of fish. There was not any room service but there is a washer and dryer in this unit which was wonderful after trips to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerfromAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shickscastle, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Aloha,

We are always happy to hear when our guests enjoyed there stay at Kona Bali Kai. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit to the Big Island.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Judging by our experience and the experiences of others it is important to have confidence in the unit you select. We had unit 212 and on balance our experience was very good. The unit, as is the development in total, is somewhat tired. That shows in nicks on walls and doors and some marginal furniture. Beyond that the kitchen is well equipped and functions fine. The bed is very good and the bathrooms were clean. The highlights come from the beach exposure which faces due west enabling you to experience as good a sunset as you could imagine. Further, you overlook the lava beach area with multiple tide pools to explore and enjoy regular visit from multiple turtles. You are some what away from the action in Kona itself, it is a good 30 minute walk along the paved shoulder of the busy highway.

Room Tip: 212 is good. Close the door if the noise of the surf bothers you, otherwise enjoy the ocean experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Kona Bali Kai is a very nice facility, pool and grounds are fantastic. Very close to everything. Unit 312 is an absolute dump. Use caution renting here as many units are not renovated. This unit was very old, extremely filthy, and worn out. Everything metal was rusty. We rented this unit through Elite Property Management Services and I would strongly recommend avoiding anything they rent. They did send the cleaners back 5 days after our arrival to clean the filthy unit and they sent the Orkin man there twice to deal with the ants and cockroaches. They also sent someone to change 4 worn out ceiling fans. However they didn't do anything about the 20 plus year old worn out beds however said the owner was aware . The only plus this unit has is the amazing waterfront lani and breathtaking sunsets. This deserved my giving the unit 1 star.

Room Tip: Read reviews the pictures being posted are very misleading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Aloha

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your stay at Kona Bali Kai. Unit 312 is a private rental unit and is not part of Castle Resorts & Hotels rental program at Kona Bali Kai. Castle Resorts features over 60 units for our guests to choose from. When booking at Kona Bali Kai, go with the professionals and be sure to visit the Castle Resorts & Hotels website and book directly through us. You will receive professional service from our onsite housekeeping, maintenance and front desk team. We look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo,

Stephen Hicks

General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kailua-Kona hotels

North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have been back to this complex 3 Times now. After this visit, I would hesitate a bit to recommend Castle Bali Kai. The oceanfront apartments have a fantastic view and layout of the building is pretty good as far as the swimming pool and parking. Here is the danger; every unit varies greatly in how it is maintained. So before you book look carefully at other customers' reviews. Unit 317 was borderline acceptable. It was clean, but tired. Shower in extra bathroom didn't work, Sink hardware was rusted/frozen in place. Sliding door to balcony barely slid. Washing / dryer on its last legs. Safe didn't work. Clock broken etc, etc. If you cant book another waterfront unit first, then maybe consider this one because the view and location make up for a lot.

Room Tip: Only consider Waterfront rooms at Bali Kai. Read carefully online reviews as each room is maintained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P_and_Y2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Aloha

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your stay at Kona Bali Kai. Unit 317 in a private rental unit and is not part of Castle Resorts & Hotels rental program at Kona Bali Kai. Castle Resorts features over 60 units for our guests. We have the largest selection of units and staff on site from 8am to 10pm. When booking at Kona Bali Kai be sure to visit the Castle Resorts & Hotels website and book directly through us.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normandy Park, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This place is not worth the money. The unit (367) hasn't been updated, no dish washer, no laundry, dishes and cooking utensils were dirty, carpet was stained, stained and old tub, and the worst was the apparent urine stains on the bed spread.... Will NEVER stay here again and couldn't recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrC3422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Aloha

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your concerns. I have reviewed your comments with my team. Our property does have Laundry facilities, our mountain side units do not have dishwashers. However all of our ocean front unit have this feature. Our linens are sent out regularly for cleaning. Again thank you for letting us know your concerns.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Unit #306. We and another couple were late evening arrivals, service did not have our booking because Front Desk hadn't notified them we would be arriving after 11:00 p.m. Manager (Stephen) was called out to confirm our booking and let us in - he was apologetic and friendly. Unit 306 was very disappointing as it was dirty, very dated, moldy shower curtain, moldy tile in bathrooms around toilets, musty smell in kitchen cabinets, old dishes and cutlery, bed in 2nd bedroom very old and stiff, dryer not functioning. Manager addressed what he could, but could not move us to a better unit as they were fully booked. Unit 306 needs a complete renovation, and staff need to do a better job of cleaning. We saw inside Unit 305, it was beautifully renovated. On the positive side, breathtaking views of ocean and sunsets. Overall a very disappointing introduction to the Big Island (our first time, usually go to Maui), and we won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated unit on the ocean side, and review it on-line if you can before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R and B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your concerns. Unit 306 had new carpet and bedroom furniture installed in September of 2013 at this time the Sofa Sleeper in the living room was completely re-upholstered. We are continuously working with our owners to upgrade units; it is disappointing the recent upgrades in this unit did not meet your expectations.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
28.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#8 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Kona Bali Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kona Bali Kai

Property: Castle Kona Bali Kai
Address: 76-6246 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kona Bali Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Bali Kai is a condominium resort located on the ocean's edge, displaying an uninterrupted vista of magnificent Kona sunsets. Choose from studios, one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with full-kitchens, private lanai, and ocean or mountainside views. Amenities include a swimming pool, barbecue areas throughout the resort, and a laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Castle Kona Bali Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Bali Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Bali Kai Kailua
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hotel
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing