We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!!! #407”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Il.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love this place!!! #407”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is the second time that we have been to Kailua-Kona and both times have stayed in room 407 at the Hale Kona Kai. We first stayed there in Oct. of 2008 for a week and just loved the place! When we knew we would be coming this December, I requested and got the same room 407. We couldn't have been happier about that! :) The room 407 is in the corner of the L shaped building on the top floor and we have an incredible view of the ocean and the pool area. # 407 is a one bedroom place with a small kitchen and bathroom area and also a very nice sized living-room. There is also a nice deck area and we sat out there a couple of nights enjoying some cocktails watching the sun go down, pure heaven!!!! 407 also has a couple of TV's and blazing fast internet that was wonderful!!!! We cooked in the kitchen a few nights on this trip and there is a nice Safeway just up the road a couple of miles! The other nice thing is that you can walk a block and be in the heart of the restaurants / nightlife and leave your car at the condo!

All and all, if you're look for a nice comfortable place to stay that's away from the traffic and yet with-in walking distance of the fun, this is your place! :)

Room Tip: The top floor is really nice and a great view as you can see from my photo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    90
    25
    15
    2
See reviews for
40
206
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We spent 3 nights in #304 last week and were very sad to leave it. The unit was clean and well stocked with everything you could possibly imagine--we were thrilled to find laundry soap (for the coin op laundry on the floor).

As others have posted, the location of this complex is fantastic! We loved being so close to the restaurants/shops/harbor, but far enough off the main path that we didn't get the noise. Heck, even when the Christmas parade was going on (and what a fun surprise that was!), we didn't have much noise...or at least we couldn't hear it over the water's noise...which we loved!

The condo had a nice selection of movies and books, but I'm sad to say I can't tell you whether any of the living room furniture was comfortable, because I spent every waking moment on the lanai :) The views there were incredible--we saw dolphins and sea turtles while eating breakfast!

Sunsets are also a must...we enjoyed watching from different places...balcony, Don the Beachcomber, and the harbor itself.

We also received a whole list of places to eat, shop, visit when we received our booking confirmation--so helpful! Really appreciate that someone took the time to make that list and share it with their renters...it provided us with some great suggestions, and really assured that we got the most out of our short trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slomak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We just got back from our fabulous apartment in Kailua-Kona. We were in apartment #408.

The entire complex is extremely well-run, with great heated pool right by the ocean. The management team is onsite to help with any questions. Parking is included, and they think of everything, all written down in instructions posted in the unit.

As each unit is separately owner, I cannot confirm all units are as well maintained, but 408 had everything we needed. All the small appliances, cutlery, plates, pots, etc were available. The supplies were all included for dishwasher, bathroom, paper towels for kitchen. Nothing was missing. We used the air conditioning at night for sleeping, but enjoyed the flow-through air during the day, and could hear the ocean crashing just below. We ate on the balcony most nights with great views (note the balcony gets hot during the day, but great breezes).

If you want a place where you have nothing to worry about, these units are the place to go. Right at the edge of town, you can walk anywhere (you still need a car to see other things on the island). The nearest beach is at Magic Sands about 2-3 miles away, but the best beach on the coast is at Hapuna (anout 40 minute drive).

Definitely highly recommended.

Room Tip: Units ending in 12 are the best views, but cost more. Ones with pool/ocean views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will-from-Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

6 of us rented 3 condos on the 3rd floor of the Hale Kona Kai Nov. 9-15. 2 of the condos had a spectacular ocean view from the lanai's; the 3rd had a beautiful view of the lagoon situated between the condos & Royal Kona Resort next door. Ours was #302 with a newly refurbished kitchen. Downtown is within walking distance; lots of shops, restaurants, open air farmer's market that sells everything from $7 fresh leis to fresh fruit & clothes. Bongo Ben's across the street has a good breakfast & $3 Bloody Mary's & Mimosas from 8 am! Don the Beachcomber @ Royal Kona is awesome open air bar serving great food & signature Mai Tai's during happy hour 4-6 pm $6. Watching the sunset is spectacular from there or your lanai.

Room Tip: For those wishing to save $$ on meals, Costco, Walmart, Target & other markets are in the area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikki08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San diegp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Currently staying in #305. Love the location and selected this location because friends had stayed here (in another unit.). I would return again but never stay in this unit again. The bed is like sleeping on concrete and you can't sleep on the sofa because of the construction of it. There are wooden rails between the cushions. Love going next door for a Mai Tai every evening for Happy Hour.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this review, 1 June 2015
Ahh beds... it is like the 3 bears.. some like beds hard, some like the soft, some are comfy where they lay their head. Please if a bed is ever hard to you at Hale Kona Kai let me know, we have thick mattress pads we will loan you for your visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Great condo location close to town. Website has great info and pictures.
Only slight downfall is the salt-water pool. We were in three condos, each had great views and were well appointed. Saw dolphins and turtles right from the lanai!



Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank retail20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

#204 ocean zen. Calm, clean,and amazing ocean views. Truly comfortable with a Select Comfort Sleep number queen bed, this unit places emphasis on minimal distractions. No need for curtains, with a view from both the livingroom and bedroom of nothing but ocean. Lanai high table set makes viewing easy and picture taking of the tide pools unforgettable . The unit also features a Subzero refrig, a cedar closet, exercise bike,and plenty of room to spread out. Local reading material and games make this wifi included unit a place to do something or nothing. The lanai door and bedroom window frame the beautiful ocean canvas that changes hourly. Totally private and still. This unit makes coming home, seem like home, without the distractions and sounds of Kailua town. With the detachable motion light on the entry door, the ability to see as you enter is maximized. Remodeled in 2011 the furniture and finishings are clean, no rust or smells.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Jul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kona Kai Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kona Kai Condominiums

Property: Hale Kona Kai Condominiums
Address: 75-5870 Kahakai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True & absolute oceanfront one bedroom condos within walking distance to beach, farmers market, restaurants, and town. Small quiet boutique condo complex well located for day trips all over the island. Full sized kitchens, AC, private lanais(balcony), free WIFI and parking. Watch the ocean, sunset, turtles, dolphins from your private lanai. Ask about our low season specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hotel Kailua-Kona
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing