We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently returned from a 9 night vacation on the Big Island and spent the first 5 nights at Hale Kona Kai. I read and considered a lot of opinions about what area and which accommodation to choose and since it was our first time here, decided to sample a little of everything. (We also spent 1 night at Kilauea Lodge and 3 nights at the Marriott Waikoloa – reviews also posted for those places.)

As with all accommodation, I believe your level of satisfaction usually relates to what your expectations are before you arrive so if you’re looking for high end luxury, you probably won’t be satisfied with this spot. If you’re looking for good value and the chance to stay right on the ocean, then definitely consider this complex. I’ve always wanted to stay oceanfront but try to stretch my travel dollars and become too practical to pay the top dollar rates for the prime rooms on the water at hotels. Hale Kona Kai was a fantastic way to get the location without paying the premium price at a hotel.

As other reviewers have noted, the degree of updating and décor ranges from unit to unit. We stayed in #302 and were very happy with it.(Yellow couch from website photo has been updated fyi). The unit was pretty clean except for a bit of residue in the tub & dusty light fixture (far from a vacation wrecking problem). It had a nicely updated and very well stocked kitchen which made cooking a pleasure. One stop at Costco and the fruit/vegetable stand and you’re set. There's also the little extras like a cooler, beach towels & chairs, and cleaning supplies....if you want them.

The location was within walking distance to touristy shops & restaurants although with the fabulous view from the lanai over the ocean, it was really tough to leave the unit! I definitely hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    90
    25
    15
    2
See reviews for
41
207
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Just came back from 3 weeks at #409 where we had previously stayed 3 years ago. Let's just say the condo needs a major cleaning from top to bottom and a lot of maintenance issues taken care of. Location is great, pool is beautiful but other than that find a different condo in this building if you're planning to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MustangS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this review, 1 June 2015
Thank you for that input we did have your issues addressed right away; I wish you had shared that info with us upon check in or during your first couple of days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had a 12 day stay at Hale Kona Kai in mid December. I would first like to say that Adeline was phenomenal to work with. We were so pleased with the service we received at Hale Kona Kai. You can't go wrong there. We stayed in two different condos during our recent visit because of a problem with another rental. Adeline graciously found us the first condo to stay in until our originally booked condo was available. Here is where you need to be careful. Our first condo was 303. We loved it! It was beautifully updated and furnished. The kitchen was well equipped with quality appliances, dishes, glasses, cutlery, etc. We also were pleased with the two sets fins that were available to us for snorkeling. We were only able to stay there for two night since the owners were coming ( nice women, by the way ). We then moved to condo 301, a corner unit. What a let-down after 303. Even though it had a better view with the wrap-around lanai, it was a disappointment after 303. 301 had some upgrades (granite countertops in kitchen, nice bathroom, beautiful big Flatscreen TV, but the rest of the unit was "tired". Kitchen cabinets were so old and sticky. Utensils in kitchen were as cheap as could be. The cutlery was almost unusable. It seems picky to complain about forks and knives, but since we like to cook, it wasn't fun for us. There was only one set of fins, so we had to rent a second set. Good news was the the unit is close to the community barbecue, which we had almost to ourselves during our stay. The bottom line is I wouldn't necessarily pay extra for a corner unit unless it has been recently upgraded.
Overall, the condos were very a very good deal and in a good location. Just be careful which condo you choose. Pictures can be deceiving.
But we can't say enough good things about the management. Adeline took really good care of us.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank PennynGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Wow, what a view. We had breakfast on the lanai every morning and watched the turtles, dolphins and even saw a whale. This complex is fantastic, it has a wonderful ocean front pool, elevator, on a quiet street and it is a close walk to town. Since it is a small complex the pool is never crowded and we often had it to ourselves. Unit #307 had everthing we could want. It is very nicely decorated, two flat screen TV's, blue tooth speaker for my iphone, fully stocked kitchen, beach chairs, beach chairs and even snorkel gear.Oh, and did I say it's on the water. I don't think there are many complexes where you can be this close to the ocean. Everyone we met said they stay here everytime they come or that they would come back.

Room Tip: I loved 307, a few of the rooms face the lagoon and not the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Il.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is the second time that we have been to Kailua-Kona and both times have stayed in room 407 at the Hale Kona Kai. We first stayed there in Oct. of 2008 for a week and just loved the place! When we knew we would be coming this December, I requested and got the same room 407. We couldn't have been happier about that! :) The room 407 is in the corner of the L shaped building on the top floor and we have an incredible view of the ocean and the pool area. # 407 is a one bedroom place with a small kitchen and bathroom area and also a very nice sized living-room. There is also a nice deck area and we sat out there a couple of nights enjoying some cocktails watching the sun go down, pure heaven!!!! 407 also has a couple of TV's and blazing fast internet that was wonderful!!!! We cooked in the kitchen a few nights on this trip and there is a nice Safeway just up the road a couple of miles! The other nice thing is that you can walk a block and be in the heart of the restaurants / nightlife and leave your car at the condo!

All and all, if you're look for a nice comfortable place to stay that's away from the traffic and yet with-in walking distance of the fun, this is your place! :)

Room Tip: The top floor is really nice and a great view as you can see from my photo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We spent 3 nights in #304 last week and were very sad to leave it. The unit was clean and well stocked with everything you could possibly imagine--we were thrilled to find laundry soap (for the coin op laundry on the floor).

As others have posted, the location of this complex is fantastic! We loved being so close to the restaurants/shops/harbor, but far enough off the main path that we didn't get the noise. Heck, even when the Christmas parade was going on (and what a fun surprise that was!), we didn't have much noise...or at least we couldn't hear it over the water's noise...which we loved!

The condo had a nice selection of movies and books, but I'm sad to say I can't tell you whether any of the living room furniture was comfortable, because I spent every waking moment on the lanai :) The views there were incredible--we saw dolphins and sea turtles while eating breakfast!

Sunsets are also a must...we enjoyed watching from different places...balcony, Don the Beachcomber, and the harbor itself.

We also received a whole list of places to eat, shop, visit when we received our booking confirmation--so helpful! Really appreciate that someone took the time to make that list and share it with their renters...it provided us with some great suggestions, and really assured that we got the most out of our short trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slomak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We just got back from our fabulous apartment in Kailua-Kona. We were in apartment #408.

The entire complex is extremely well-run, with great heated pool right by the ocean. The management team is onsite to help with any questions. Parking is included, and they think of everything, all written down in instructions posted in the unit.

As each unit is separately owner, I cannot confirm all units are as well maintained, but 408 had everything we needed. All the small appliances, cutlery, plates, pots, etc were available. The supplies were all included for dishwasher, bathroom, paper towels for kitchen. Nothing was missing. We used the air conditioning at night for sleeping, but enjoyed the flow-through air during the day, and could hear the ocean crashing just below. We ate on the balcony most nights with great views (note the balcony gets hot during the day, but great breezes).

If you want a place where you have nothing to worry about, these units are the place to go. Right at the edge of town, you can walk anywhere (you still need a car to see other things on the island). The nearest beach is at Magic Sands about 2-3 miles away, but the best beach on the coast is at Hapuna (anout 40 minute drive).

Definitely highly recommended.

Room Tip: Units ending in 12 are the best views, but cost more. Ones with pool/ocean views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will-from-Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kona Kai Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kona Kai Condominiums

Property: Hale Kona Kai Condominiums
Address: 75-5870 Kahakai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True & absolute oceanfront one bedroom condos within walking distance to beach, farmers market, restaurants, and town. Small quiet boutique condo complex well located for day trips all over the island. Full sized kitchens, AC, private lanais(balcony), free WIFI and parking. Watch the ocean, sunset, turtles, dolphins from your private lanai. Ask about our low season specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hotel Kailua-Kona
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing