We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was exactly as we expected”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
242 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Everything was exactly as we expected”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

and that's a good thing--I hate surprises and not knowing. We had unit 206 and were able to see photos of it before selecting it. We had a king size bed and consider that a real plus. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils and dishes. We were well pleased to have "carpets" in the living room and bedroom--it was what I would call a "burlap" texture but was quite satisfactory and much appreciated. We never saw one bug of any kind during our two-week stay. We particularly enjoyed overlooking the ocean, so close the waves crashing into the lava stones put me quickly to sleep each and every night--something that I don't often experience back in "quiet" Colorado. Breaking waves have to be the best white noise ever invented. Anyway, my bottom line is I would come back in a minute and select exactly the same room. It fit our style of living.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room where you can see pictures of what to expect. There are many good rooms he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ArtColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    90
    25
    15
    2
See reviews for
43
207
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed 5 nights in Feb at the Hale Kona Kai. As others have mentioned, Adeline was great to work with on the set up, directions were clear and everything was as she said it would be. Onsite staff also very nice. Biggest pluses (besides the people) were the location, the view, and the pool - oh, and the bbq. We stayed in unit 407, which was not fancy, but was clean, comfortable and quite adequate. Plenty of service ware, utensils, basic condiments & supplies. The closet held plenty in the way of beach towels, snorkel equipment, a travel cooler, etc. When in Hawaii, my partner likes to be able to hear the surf and we had that in spades. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank typeAexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently returned from a 9 night vacation on the Big Island and spent the first 5 nights at Hale Kona Kai. I read and considered a lot of opinions about what area and which accommodation to choose and since it was our first time here, decided to sample a little of everything. (We also spent 1 night at Kilauea Lodge and 3 nights at the Marriott Waikoloa – reviews also posted for those places.)

As with all accommodation, I believe your level of satisfaction usually relates to what your expectations are before you arrive so if you’re looking for high end luxury, you probably won’t be satisfied with this spot. If you’re looking for good value and the chance to stay right on the ocean, then definitely consider this complex. I’ve always wanted to stay oceanfront but try to stretch my travel dollars and become too practical to pay the top dollar rates for the prime rooms on the water at hotels. Hale Kona Kai was a fantastic way to get the location without paying the premium price at a hotel.

As other reviewers have noted, the degree of updating and décor ranges from unit to unit. We stayed in #302 and were very happy with it.(Yellow couch from website photo has been updated fyi). The unit was pretty clean except for a bit of residue in the tub & dusty light fixture (far from a vacation wrecking problem). It had a nicely updated and very well stocked kitchen which made cooking a pleasure. One stop at Costco and the fruit/vegetable stand and you’re set. There's also the little extras like a cooler, beach towels & chairs, and cleaning supplies....if you want them.

The location was within walking distance to touristy shops & restaurants although with the fabulous view from the lanai over the ocean, it was really tough to leave the unit! I definitely hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Just came back from 3 weeks at #409 where we had previously stayed 3 years ago. Let's just say the condo needs a major cleaning from top to bottom and a lot of maintenance issues taken care of. Location is great, pool is beautiful but other than that find a different condo in this building if you're planning to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MustangS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this review, 1 June 2015
Thank you for that input we did have your issues addressed right away; I wish you had shared that info with us upon check in or during your first couple of days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had a 12 day stay at Hale Kona Kai in mid December. I would first like to say that Adeline was phenomenal to work with. We were so pleased with the service we received at Hale Kona Kai. You can't go wrong there. We stayed in two different condos during our recent visit because of a problem with another rental. Adeline graciously found us the first condo to stay in until our originally booked condo was available. Here is where you need to be careful. Our first condo was 303. We loved it! It was beautifully updated and furnished. The kitchen was well equipped with quality appliances, dishes, glasses, cutlery, etc. We also were pleased with the two sets fins that were available to us for snorkeling. We were only able to stay there for two night since the owners were coming ( nice women, by the way ). We then moved to condo 301, a corner unit. What a let-down after 303. Even though it had a better view with the wrap-around lanai, it was a disappointment after 303. 301 had some upgrades (granite countertops in kitchen, nice bathroom, beautiful big Flatscreen TV, but the rest of the unit was "tired". Kitchen cabinets were so old and sticky. Utensils in kitchen were as cheap as could be. The cutlery was almost unusable. It seems picky to complain about forks and knives, but since we like to cook, it wasn't fun for us. There was only one set of fins, so we had to rent a second set. Good news was the the unit is close to the community barbecue, which we had almost to ourselves during our stay. The bottom line is I wouldn't necessarily pay extra for a corner unit unless it has been recently upgraded.
Overall, the condos were very a very good deal and in a good location. Just be careful which condo you choose. Pictures can be deceiving.
But we can't say enough good things about the management. Adeline took really good care of us.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank PennynGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Wow, what a view. We had breakfast on the lanai every morning and watched the turtles, dolphins and even saw a whale. This complex is fantastic, it has a wonderful ocean front pool, elevator, on a quiet street and it is a close walk to town. Since it is a small complex the pool is never crowded and we often had it to ourselves. Unit #307 had everthing we could want. It is very nicely decorated, two flat screen TV's, blue tooth speaker for my iphone, fully stocked kitchen, beach chairs, beach chairs and even snorkel gear.Oh, and did I say it's on the water. I don't think there are many complexes where you can be this close to the ocean. Everyone we met said they stay here everytime they come or that they would come back.

Room Tip: I loved 307, a few of the rooms face the lagoon and not the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Il.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is the second time that we have been to Kailua-Kona and both times have stayed in room 407 at the Hale Kona Kai. We first stayed there in Oct. of 2008 for a week and just loved the place! When we knew we would be coming this December, I requested and got the same room 407. We couldn't have been happier about that! :) The room 407 is in the corner of the L shaped building on the top floor and we have an incredible view of the ocean and the pool area. # 407 is a one bedroom place with a small kitchen and bathroom area and also a very nice sized living-room. There is also a nice deck area and we sat out there a couple of nights enjoying some cocktails watching the sun go down, pure heaven!!!! 407 also has a couple of TV's and blazing fast internet that was wonderful!!!! We cooked in the kitchen a few nights on this trip and there is a nice Safeway just up the road a couple of miles! The other nice thing is that you can walk a block and be in the heart of the restaurants / nightlife and leave your car at the condo!

All and all, if you're look for a nice comfortable place to stay that's away from the traffic and yet with-in walking distance of the fun, this is your place! :)

Room Tip: The top floor is really nice and a great view as you can see from my photo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#13 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kona Kai Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kona Kai Condominiums

Property: Hale Kona Kai Condominiums
Address: 75-5870 Kahakai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True & absolute oceanfront one bedroom condos within walking distance to beach, farmers market, restaurants, and town. Small quiet boutique condo complex well located for day trips all over the island. Full sized kitchens, AC, private lanais(balcony), free WIFI and parking. Watch the ocean, sunset, turtles, dolphins from your private lanai. Ask about our low season specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hotel Kailua-Kona
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing