We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean beauty, #204”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ocean beauty, #204”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This unit is all about the ocean. No drapes, plenty of room to spread out, lanai height table and chairs, ocean at your feet. You can't get closer to the ocean. The turtles, eels, schools of fish, boats, boarders, surfers,swimmers provide constant entertainment. This view of nothing but ocean as far as you can see, with its great sunsets and passing clouds allowing tranquility or stimulation at the same time. A repeat visitor to this unit, with its cedar closet, select comfort queen bed, local reading material and games, I always leave happy. Kitchen has subzero refrigerator, rice cooker, ceramic cooking pots, and numerous other small appliances. Bedroom has two five drawer chests for clothing, as well as two three drawer night stands with fish night lights. (Exercise bike, desk, wifi, two TV s , CD player, first aid kit.) No odd smells, no rust. Ocean is the first thing you see when you open the door. Beauty of nature makes this place more than expected.

Room Tip: All different,with ocean front location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    90
    25
    15
    2
See reviews for
41
206
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for one week in Unit 305 last month. We really could have spent the entire week sitting on the lanai, watching the waves crash into the shore, watching turtles swim around in the tide pools below, and watching the sun set, and this would still be a positive review. But this place goes beyond that. The room was very comfortable. We slept very well here. The bed is relatively new and firm. The air conditioning was on when we arrived, and worked very well over the course of the trip. The parking (included!) and laundry facilities were convenient. The location is about as good as you can get staying in Kailua-Kona. It is a short walk to the shops, restaurants, bars, and farmers market on Ali'i Drive, yet you are not directly on the street, and don't get much of the noise. The location at the south end of the busy part of the Ali'i Drive makes it easy to get in and out in a car without hitting all the traffic. It's also a very good value, especially for stays of a week or longer. You don't pay parking fees, like some of the nearby hotels, but there is a cleaning fee at the end of your stay.

Room Tip: Unit 305 has a very good ocean view (all the rooms look out onto the ocean to some degree, but this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachedHonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed for 1 week in unit #404.
Clean, well equipped 1 bedroom condo. The location is excellent! Lanai literally hangs over the ocean. Watch turtles in the tide pools below, dolphins out in the bay and beautiful sunsets. Morning coffee, evening meals- we didn't want to leave...Everything was provided, well equipped kitchen, lots of towels, spices, cooler, beach chairs etc. etc. the only thing we had to buy was laundry detergent for the pay machines on every floor. Tons of shopping , tours and restaurants a short walk away. Small, rocky beach nearby but some great snorkelling a very short drive. Lovely breezes during the day and only used the AC at night. Our only problem was the AC didn't work one night- turns out the whole building had this issue which was promptly fixed by that afternoon.
Loved this place and would highly recommend this unit.

Room Tip: Each unit is individually owned and decorated. They will send you photos of each so you can pick wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shadowpieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is our second time staying here and we could never think to stay at a hotel when visiting Hawaii again! Perfect comforts of home as well as location - there is nothing else we could think to ask for! Cannot wait for our next trip back :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Unit 212..Great Unit..we just returned April 15, 2014...1 week of pure bliss. After reading all the reviews I must admit I was abit hesitant...Adeline the proprty manager assured me, it was a nice unit.

We opened the door and this is the 1st time, that we have ever said.. it shows better then the pictures.
I dont know why there have been no recent reviews.....I know...people dont want to say how nice it is for fear it will never be available. All kiding aside..No it isnt a 5 Star, its not advertized as one. If you are looking for value for your hard earned dollars this is it.
We liked it so much we are returning again. We booked it for 10 days in November.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This unit is a corner unit with a beautiful view. I was informed two days before my arrival day that the unit had had considerable water damage due to a leak in the unit above it but it would be as good as new for my check in by 3 PM. When I arrived at 3 PM there were several people in it, cleaning, repairing, etc. and was TOLD to come back later. I came back just before 6 PM and unit was vacant, fairly cleaned, carpet still damp, very cold, no wall hangings and plaster scattered through out. Wi Fi not connected and it took two trips to office to get it fixed, very good when it was. Dust pan was in bedroom closet, fry pan full of plaster, etc, etc and could not tell what had been in unit that was not put back. The whole repair work was obviously too quickly done. Garbage disposal had to be replaced, TV in bedroom had to be replaced. The first week of my three was very bad and was spent getting things done. Still not one wall hanging at the end of 3 weeks when I left. The office people and maintenance people were OUTSTANDING and did as much as they had the authority and capabilities to do. I was disappointed I was not compensated in some way by the owner. I have stayed at the Hale Kona Kai many times in other units and enjoyed it very much. This particular unit has not been well maintained and shows it. I am unsure if I will return again to the Hale Kona Kai. I hope so, but not in this unit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank louiseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaAdeline, Manager at Hale Kona Kai Condominiums, responded to this review, 1 June 2015
Aloha,

Sadly things happen and weeks before you came the condo above flooded into your condo. I have been doing this job for 12 years and this was the first and only time this has happened. We scrambled 24/7 to get your condo back to you with out compromising on the work. We did offer to move you to another condo when we knew we were cutting it close and we could not get the finishing pieces done; and you wanted no part of that move; which we honored. We offered a condo in another complex until we could finish; which you refused and we honored. Please note that after you left we went back into the condo and finished up the things we could not do with the condo being occupied. I do wish you would have let us move you for 5 nights, as suggested, so that we could finish up on something that was beyond our control. I do think you would have been happier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 306. Very well equipped apartment with new lovely updates in the kitchen and bathroom. The views from lanai are wonderful although the corner apartments with lanai at this condo complex seem to be the best and are larger than this one. We had a very relaxing and wonderful time in this condominium. Cooked most of our meals here and ate on the lanai. It was lovely.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doxiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#10 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kona Kai Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kona Kai Condominiums

Property: Hale Kona Kai Condominiums
Address: 75-5870 Kahakai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True & absolute oceanfront one bedroom condos within walking distance to beach, farmers market, restaurants, and town. Small quiet boutique condo complex well located for day trips all over the island. Full sized kitchens, AC, private lanais(balcony), free WIFI and parking. Watch the ocean, sunset, turtles, dolphins from your private lanai. Ask about our low season specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hotel Kailua-Kona
Hale Kona Kai Condominiums Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing