We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High walkability, room average, breakfast poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Easy walking to a couple of sites and restaurants. Plenty of room to move around in our room, but carpet was old and smelled musty, but had to keep windows closed while we were gone because our room was on the ground floor. we had no balcony or outside sitting area for our room though the other rooms had them.
The breakfast was a joke, plain bread, little containers of jelly and fake butter, papaya, and canned pineapple. The farmers market just a block away was selling papaya for 6-8 for 1$.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on second or third floor. You'll have more secure outdoor space and maybe a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

I had heard the hotel had been recently remodeled. Our room was large enough, the bed comfortable, the bedding seemed fresh, carpet didn't look new however the room was recently painted. The breakfast was marginal. We supplimented with our own cereal, milk and fruit so didn't mind that. I didn't consider it a bargain. However Kona was fun and we enjoyed the location. I would look for something different next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Followthesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great as a budget hotel. Nice spacious rooms with lots of furniture, microwave, fridge/freezer and balcony. All the rooms face the centre pool and reception area in a semi circle, all roughly pointing toward the ocean, so any room is fine. Decent pool. Breakfast was a little disappointing, just toast, guava and a muffin/pastry, same/similar every day but at least it was included. Very friendly staff, some parts of the hotel itself could probably do with a little attention and the air conditioning unit was noisy at night but it was absolutely fine if you're not looking for 5* and I would definitely recommend it. In a great place right in the middle of Kona, just over the road from shops, restaurants and the beach. The two big car parks behind the hotel parking offer free parking and we didn't struggle to find a space, don't bother with hotel parking although they will tell you this themselves!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clockworkradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We chose Uncle Billy's for its location and its price. Both were favorable. However, this hotel is in need of major upgrades and refurbishing so if you don't want to walk on well-worn and even dirty carpeting, sleep on old and very soft mattresses, don't stay here. There is so much to be done that it seemed plausible to us that Uncle Billy's is awaiting, as Bruce would say, the wrecking ball. On the other hand, the staff are nice and genuinely helpful and friendly. However, I would not stay there again even if for one night while awaiting a change over in resorts as we did this time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our room had just been renovated and just fine. If you are looking for a good budget room this it. Continental breakfast was ok. Nothing special but only one fruit choice. Swimming pool was great. No complaints would do it again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TexasEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We deliberately stayed here to compare to the "other" resorts in the immediate area. Uncle Billie's is a little outdated but clean and at a reasonable price. Great location near the ocean front means you can walk to a variety of shops and restaurants. Rooms are large but need some minor repair. Kitchenette included in the room. Free wifi is a plus. Free continental breakfast. Private parking is available for $5 bucks or free public parking is also available. Rates are better than the resort hotels.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank powellite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel couldn't be a better value for its location. It's not the most up-to-date in terms of decor but it's an economical hotel in the middle of Kona. You really can't go wrong, who comes to Hawaii to stay in their hotel room the entire time anyway. It was the perfect home base if you come to Hawaii to be out doing stuff. The entire staff was super friendly and helpful! I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmr323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,999 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Address: 75-5739 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1736
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £113 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uncle Billys Kona Bay
Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billys
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing