We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked Uncle Billy's with certain expectation from photos.
The pluses for Uncle Billy's are the location, location, location.
It was a clean, maintained property with limited amenities.
It would seem that they have shifted their business model with changing economic times.
It appeared a very good place for kids. There is no longer a pool side bar. Breakfast is maybe even less than continental with choice of toast (three breads), tiny muffins, two types of cereal, and some mango. Coffee sometimes tasted burnt.
We enjoyed are stay, but wasn't exactly what we expected.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmax101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    117
    162
    85
    84
See reviews for
101
192
54
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Uncle Billy's in Kona is within walking distance to most places you might want to visit in the town. If you do want to go somewhere further, they have .plenty of parking on site. The daily breakfast consisted on some yummy fruit, eggs, toast, coffee and anything else you could expect from a continental breakfast.
The AC worked well and you get what you pay for in terms of decor. Nothing extravagant but if you're looking to spend your days exploring he many beaches and being outside, then the inside of a room shouldn't matter for this price.
If you're lucky, you will get to met uncle Billy rolling around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nataliah86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed one night at Uncle's Billy's before heading over to the Hilo side for the rest of our trip. We are a down-to-earth family who tries to find affordable places to stay without spending a fortune. We enjoyed our night and would recommend the hotel, even for longer stays. It was clean, and pleasant. The kids loved sitting on the deck and spotting small geckos in the trees. The morning breakfast was continental as advertised. After reading some reviews I was ready for the worst, but it was good - a variety of bread items, fresh Hawaii fruit, hard boiled egg, several juices and coffee to choose from, as well as a few cereals and milk. We really enjoyed the location. We wondered around the shops in the evening and had dinner overlooking the ocean. The next morning we got up early and swam at the beach (~10 minute walk), which we had entirely to ourselves from ~7:30-8:00. There were some tide pools here, and a nice cove safe for kids. The staff was accommodating - they had a room available at 1:30 and checked us in although official check in time isn't until 3:00. If you are using this as a stop over prior to Hilo as we did, and you're looking for a luau while in Hawaii, I'd highly recommend you book one at the hotel at the end of the road (Marriott?), or elsewhere nearby. We didn't realize that there are no luau's on the Hilo side. Overall a nice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hkkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Affordable, convenient & comfortable! This is an older hotel, but the mattresses were comfortable and the staff was friendly. We checked in late one night and checked out right after breakfast (which is free). It was an excellent hotel for a quick pit stop.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CulturalCompetence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, OR
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The bed was comfortable. There were two very comfortable chairs, one with an ottoman. The hotel had a nice smaller swimming pool. There was a refrigerator in the room. It was clean. The best part was the location. Downtown Kailua-Kona on the Big Island. Shopping, restaurants and the beach were all within short walking distance. Second floor room had windows that could be opened at night and I could hear the surf. The price was right.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationletsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-kona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Uncle Billy's was built many years ago and needs a new face lift bad but...the grounds are established and lush, the pool is clean, th4e location is right in the middle of downtown-sweet, and it is next door to a fabulous farmers market. Oh, and did I mention the staff-excellent! I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth Colleen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

1st room on second floor had non working AC(did not cool), dirty and ripped carpet, old bedding and curtains and damage to the front door lock area. Finally was moved to 3rd floor to a room with a non working safe so was moved again to the next door unit. Breakfast was super basic which was fine for us but the fake flowers in the pots did nothing for me. Pool area was actually the nicest part of the hotel.

Elevator was dirty, smelly and original

Now the last room was actually not bad, you could tell it had been somewhat upgraded with flat screen and cleaner carpet. However it still had dirty curtains, broken toilet lid, dirty shower curtain, older bedding and the kitchenette sink plumbing removed with a nice PVC wrap tape over it as well as a missing door.

For the price paid the 3rd level room was not bad but the AC again did not cool down the room sufficiently.

If they can't provide clean working rooms then close the place down, I would not stay here again unless the whole place was renovated.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't end in the oldest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlcallissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kailua-Kona hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,847 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
13.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Property: Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Address: 75-5739 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1736
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uncle Billys Kona Bay
Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billys
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing