We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing short of Paradise, Condo 302”
Review of Kona Banyan Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Banyan Tree
Reviewed 18 March 2013

With thanks to Janice and Robert for sharing their little piece of paradise on the big island in Banyon Tree Condo #302. We were greeted by an immaculately clean and updated condo with all or more than the comforts of home. The view was second to none on the whole island, and Janice thought of everything that travellers would need from the well stocked kitchen to boogie boards/flippers/umbrella/beach toys etc. for everyone. We really appreciated the Island 'to do' and 'best of' book that Janice & Robert put together. We have used VRBO quite a bit in our travels but have never stayed in such a perfect spot with everything we needed and more. Really enjoyed watching the surfers & whales & perfect sunsets from the lanai too! The building is safe & very well managed. We really couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jkholman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

One of the most beautiful condos we've ever stayed at. Fantasitic amenities. Janice thought of everything from binoculars on the lanai, frosted mugs in the freezer, well stocked kitchen and plenty of beach toys (fins, googles, boogie boards, beach mats, beach towels, coolers and beach chairs). The pictures on the web site don't do it jusice; its far more beautiful. It's also in a wonderful location!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This condo is even better than the pictures indicate! Yes, the ocean is THAT CLOSE, and yes, it is THAT BLUE! The part you can't "see" in the photos is the wonderful sound of the ocean! We loved the "white noise" of the waves through the open windows at night. The only negative was trying to watch TV with the sound of the waves, but who needs to watch TV when you can sit on that lanai and watch the surfers!

The location is great too. Not too far from town, but far enough to not have all the foot traffic out back. I took so many videos and photos from the lanai. Every time I looked there was something I wanted to save from the view. Sunsets were amazing, and we were fortunate to have a full moon while we were there. The moon shining on the water was an amazing sight. We never once closed the curtains, because we felt like we were totally isolated enough to not worry about leaving them open.

Janice and Robert have provided everything you could imagine to make your stay feel like "home". We didn't have children with us, but there was plenty there that would have kept them busy if we would have had them along. There was any manner of water play things from snorkel to sand.

The cupboards were well stocked with anything you might need while preparing your meals, and we liked that we could leave our leftover staples for the next guests to enjoy. Janice even left all kinds of notes about places to eat and beaches in the area, and she also left guide books for guest to use.

An added bonus is that the complex is not large, and is very well managed. We saw the resident manager out and about keeping things so clean and neat all the time. It really added to the wonderful experience. I hope we can come back to this same spot again in the future, and if we do, I'll hope this unit is available for our trip!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianeDAire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This was a beautiful condo to spend some quality time watching for whales. The third floor gave us a full view of the ocean to enjoy our morning coffee watching for the whales and enjoying surfers/boarders right out our window. Security was great - felt very safe leaving windows and doors open while we were in the unit. Although the unit did have air conditioning we didn't use it being so close to the ocean and utilizing the tradewinds. Loved being able to use the BBQ's located near the hot tub and pool. Condo was very clean and well stocked with stuff - we shared this condo with friends - lots of room. Would highly recommend this condo for families and couples. A great place to stay to enjoy Paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanfrontBanyanTree, Owner at Kona Banyan Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed our condo #302 and the amenities that the Banyan Tree offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This condominium is right on the ocean with pounding surf just below the unit. The views are fantastic. The way the units are laid out makes them feel very private. It does not have the feel of a big, busy resort, which we liked very much. There is a pool and hot tub, which we did not use as we were mostly out and about exploring. There is convenient, reserved parking below the units. It is conveniently located just about 10 miles from the Kona airport.

It is a two-bedroom unit, sort of. One of the bedrooms is very large with views of the ocean which completely opens into the living room. It has a nice, useful ceiling fan. The other bedroom is in the front and a bit of a cave. In our unit it had twin beds. So, this is a unit for a single couple, possibly with a couple of kids. It would be difficult to really accommodate two couples, unless one couple does not mind sleeping in the dark, view-less, stuffy bedroom. There are two separate bathrooms.

The unit has all of the usual amenities, including a washer and dryer in the unit. There is no air conditioning, which was not a problem as there are great ceiling fans and it has the ocean breeze. There is good, separate for the unit, Wi-Fi available. There is a phone which we did not use. All appliances worked well. The unit was in good repair and clean when we arrived. It might have a bit of a dated look but that did not bother us.

We will certainly stay at this unit again.

Room Tip: Each unit is individually owned so will vary by unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasTravelerGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I started my search last year for a condo in Kona to spend my 60th Birthday this year-I kept coming back to this one as it looked like a very nice place and the reviews were excellent. I was not disapointed-in fact it is even better then the pictures show. Janice was wonderful to work with and everything that was presented was there. It was stocked very well with towels, snorkeling equipment,everything for the beach as well as a kitchen to die for!!. The view from the condo is beautiful, from watching the surfers in the morning, to the breathtaking sunsets in the evenings. The beds and furniture were very comfortable. The location is great. The book of tips for eating and places to go was so right on. I could go on and on. It is so obvious that the owners take great pride in making sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. Thanks Janice for making my 60th very special!
Kathy A

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

Split this two bedroom condo with family. Great central location. Good parking and condo well stocked. Overall it was a nice visit but a few upgrades are needed.
Pros: clean, great view of daily surfers, comfortable furniture, well appointed kitchen, games, beach towels, chairs and even a wheeled cooler!! Market across the street with all the stuff you forgot or can't take on the plane.
Cons: cheap mattresses, loud old toilets, really poor air conditioning and no water pressure in the showers. The AC units are in the main bedroom and living room so the kitchen, main bathroom and second bedroom are intolerably hot . It's like showering in a sauna with a drizzle to rinse the soap off. While I love Hawaii, I live in Seattle and I would expect an AC unit that would work reasonably well. This was my 6th visit so I am fairly well versed in how things work (or don't) and I expected us to be reasonably comfortable. The windows to the second bedroom and main bath are on the main hallway so leaving them open was not am option due to safety (not the safest neighborhood). If they fixed the shower heads, put in 1.6 toilets and added a window AC unit I would come back; until then no thank.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.7 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,913 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,588 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Banyan Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Banyan Tree

Address: 76-6288 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2324
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree is a small complex of 20 individually owned condos. There is a mix of owners who live full-time at the complex, owners who live part-time at the complex, long term rentals and owners who vacation rent their condos when they are not staying in them. Every condo is uniquely decorated by their owners. No two are alike! You are not just renting a condo, you are renting someone's home. Each condo does have a full kitchen, no kitchenettes here. There is a heated pool and an adults only hot tub. Check-in/out details and rental policies are different for each condo. The owner or rental agency will give you instructions. There is not a front desk or office. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Banyan Tree Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Banyan Tree Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing