We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kona Banyan Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Banyan Tree
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful home away from home”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very handy to to downtown, yet easy to get out of town. It was great to be able to sit on the balcony and have our morning coffee while watching surfers or sea turtles. Sunsets were lovely to see also. And it's not far down the highway to the best coffee in the world. Very clean 2 bedroom apartment. We stayed for a week and it was a perfect base from which to go exploring all over the island. No noise from neighbors, just wind and waves and rustling palms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
40
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife, two daughters, and I spent five glorious days in this fantastic condo and came home with some memories and mental images that will last a lifetime! This very clean and gorgeous complex nearly overhangs the edge of the ocean! Its also THE spot for local surfers to test their skills which makes for amazing entertainment...as do the fabulous sunsets! The unit is laid out masterfully with a master bedroom which can be divided from living area via Japanese sliding paper panels. We opted to keep them open to capture more views and ocean sounds. One of the highlights was seeing and using the owners' selection of ocean toys, including snorkeling gear for as many as 6 or 7 users! They (owners) also provided a very well stocked spice rack for cooking and a fabulous manual on things to do, places to eat and snorkel, etc. If you're a runner you will have no problem finding a route. This place is a dream! Do your best to building your vacation around staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry-Appleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in Unit 401 of the Banyan Tree for 4 nights. As has been mentioned in numerous reviews it is a great location right on the water a few kilometers outside Kona . It is in Ali Drive and is opposite the Banyan Mart which is shown in Google Maps. The design of the building means there is no noise from the Ali Drive only the sound of the ocean. In regard to Unit 401 we found it to be well appointed and in excellent condition. It has a split air conditioning unit in the main living area and another in the main bedroom which is immediately adjacent. We found the unit to be as represented and the owner to be helpful and accommodating. I would recommend this block of condominiums and unit 401 in particular to anyone looking to stay in Kona.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

What an amazing stay listening to the waves and watching the spectacular sunsets. The reviews are just what you get with no surprises. Lanai is huge, the pool spotless and BBQ's cleaned everyday. We will always think of the ocean view with fond memories of Hawaii. Thank you Ryan!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed at this condo with my husband, sister, brother in law and niece. To borrow my niece's review of the place--AWESOME! Pictures on rental sites do not do this place justice. The views are SPECTACULAR! Floor to ceiling windows looking out over the Pacific. Surfers and body boarders every morning, gorgeous sunsets every night, dolphins swimming by mid-day and afternoon. We even saw a total lunar eclipse there last week!

The owners have thought of everything, the condo is comfortable for 5 people (4 adults and a tall 10 year old), with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths; the second bedroom, called the "Woody" had a queen and twin bed. It is stocked with everything you could possibly need. You don't need to bring anything except for a change of clothing and swimsuits. There are snorkel fins, masks, boogie boards, water shoes, beach chairs, tons of beach towels, pots and pans, 3 sets of dishes and cups, silverware, soaps for every need (bathing, dishwashing, laundry), cleaning stuff, and spices for cooking(yup, check out the spice cupboard under the counter across the stove as well as the pantry). There is no air conditioning and believe me it is not needed--you open all the sliding doors and windows for ocean breezes; and there are 3 ceiling fans--one in each bedroom, one in living room.

Finally, the owners--just wonderful to work with. Janice answered nearly a million questions for me throughout the year we were planning this trip and helped with a problem during our stay. The book of tips about the island (which she'll send you in advance once you book the condo) was consulted daily. I highly recommend this condo for couples as well as families. You will have a ball staying here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Custer, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My sister and I stayed in this wonderful condo in March of this year. We have been to the Islands many times and have a favorite condo on Maui and Kauai; now we have one on the Big Island: Banyan Tree #302!

We always stay ocean front, so the view was what we expected. We watched surfers all day, and saw many whale. Stunning ocean views are pretty much expected, in an ocean front location. However, the things that nailed it down for us as our new "Kona Home" were other details, like the keyless entry. LOVED IT! No messing with keys. Also, the way the complex is kept up. Barry practically had a vacuum in a shoulder holster, and jumped on about every grain of sand/trash he saw. The place was immaculate, from the garage up.

Also, Janice's support for our needs was outstanding. My sister was working while on vacation, and when she had trouble with the provided printer, Janice told us she would get a new one. We got the old one working, but she has since said that the printer WILL be replaced. You don't find that special service in many places.

Needless to say we had a wonderful time, and will be returning in the near future. Thanks, Janet and Barry for making the atmosphere so welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 37BonnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

What a wonderful place to stay! No wonder it books up so quickly! This condo was recommended by a friend who had stayed and loved it and we can only second her accolades. The view is spectacular, just a few feet from the ocean, and the wall of windows and doors maximizes the oceanfront setting. During our stay we loved watching experienced surfers right in front of our lanai. The access beach next door also has sea turtles. The unit is immaculately clean and stocked with every imaginable beach item and the kitchen has all cookware, spices, etc. for those who want to cook or maybe grill outside. We loved the 2 full baths and the in-room washer and dryer. 2 bedrooms with a total of 3 beds give lots of options for sleeping arrangements. Reserved first level parking and an elevator were much appreciated. Owner Janice is amazing at immediate replies to questions. Kona weather is reliably warm and sunny. I only hope I can return to Hawaii someday and to this condo.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jekjones1558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
571 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
1,520 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Banyan Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Banyan Tree

Property: Kona Banyan Tree
Address: 76-6268 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree is a small complex of 20 individually owned condos. There is a mix of owners who live full-time at the complex, owners who live part-time at the complex, long term rentals and owners who vacation rent their condos when they are not staying in them. Every condo is uniquely decorated by their owners. No two are alike! You are not just renting a condo, you are renting someone's home. Each condo does have a full kitchen, no kitchenettes here. There is a heated pool and an adults only hot tub. Check-in/out details and rental policies are different for each condo. The owner or rental agency will give you instructions. There is not a front desk or office. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Banyan Tree Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Banyan Tree Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing