We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Ocean Front”
Review of Kona Banyan Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Banyan Tree
Reviewed 31 January 2011

My wife, Niece and I spent 10-days at this beautiful ocean front condo (#302) in January, 2011. We found the view/proximity of the ocean spectacular. The condo is tastefully decorated from top to bottom, including the travertine bathrooms/showers. Beds are comfortable, kitchen is well equiped. The condo is equiped with WiFi, flat screen TVs and every other entertainment gadget one may desire. The printer came in handy for printing boarding passes for our return flight home. The condo is well-stocked with all things related to snorkeling/water activities clear down to foot protection for exploring the lava rock tidal pools adjacent the property. We found the on-site manager (Dana) to be very pleasant/helpful with local directions, activity suggestions, etc. Parking (covered) is very convenient to the building elevator which was very helpful in lugging in/out all those must-have vacation items/groceries, etc.

We would definitely book this condo again and certainly recommend to family/friends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stever127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2011

We stayed with friends at the Banyon Tree - Unit No. 302, for 2 weeks in December/2010 and it was an awesome holiday. Don't believe any of the negative reviews of the area as we felt very safe and had a wonderful time mingling with the locals. Our condo was the perfect location, nearly overhanging the ocean, a free show every day by the local surfers, and a perfect sunset every evening. The condo itself was lovely and equipped with everything you can imagine, the owners had thought of everything. The complex manager was wonderful and very accommodating. We are saving our nickles...we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank djasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We spent a wonderful week relaxing at this condo over Christmas. The condo is beautifully updated and remodeled. We were very comfortable and enjoyed the location right on the ocean. We loved going to sleep to the sound of crashing waves and waking up to hear the surfers already out in the ocean in the morning. Sunsets were incredible. The condo is equipped with a washer/dryer, a full kitchen of appliances and everything you need to take to the beach; including boogie boards, coolers, snorkel gear, towels, chairs and an umbrella. Fishing gear too. This condo is in a good location with covered parking and provides a great homebase for exploring the island.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank FCP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

A very cute condo literally on the water's edge - it was great fun to watch the surfers - who seemed to almost surf up to our windows! Likewise the sunsets - a truly beautiful spot.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank lam1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

WE stayed in condo 302 at the Banyan tree condos, and had the best time we have had in a long long time. We watched the turtles, dolphins, and surfers from our deck every day. The place was clean and pristine. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank rowzee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

What a fantastic discovery! This beautiful complex sits right onthe ocean, with one of the few OCEAN FRONT POOLS in Kailua-Kona! Covered parking, beautiful shared common spaces. Stayed in unit 302 which took my breath away when we stepped insode. There are floor to ceiling windows overlooking the ocean with a spectacular view--Check out the pics we got of the amazing sunsets from the lanai. Full kitchen was well stocked with equipment and great spice collection too! Master bed was devine and we left the screen open to hear the ocean at night. Everything done in tastefully elegant Hawaiian style furnishings. Daughter liked the spacious second bedroom with the "Woodies and surfboards" theme. Also a full supply of beach toys, chairs, games. Really liked the location too. Close to everything and handy convenience store right across the street. No reason to stay ANYWHERE ELSE when we come back to the BIG ISLAND!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fperf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I booked via VRBO listing #254626, which listed Unit #401 as a "luxury condo". The listing also indicated that the condo had been renovated in 2008, but the bathrooms and kitchens were outdated and in need of renovation. So I was a little disappointed when I saw that the condo was not recently updated...I have booked many places through VRBO in the past, and every time I have been pleasantly surprised by how much better the places were than how they looked on-line. This is the first time that I have been a little disappointed.

However, the condo was clean, and the oceanfront location was spectacular. There is a palm tree right in front of the balcony, but it only blocked our view of the surfers and provided us with some shade in the afternoon and evening. The building and pool area was very well maintained and felt very safe, and the other residents were friendly.

This unit did have air conditioning, although we never used it . The oceanfront location provided a nice breeze, and we just used the desk fans within the unit while the kids were napping in the afternoon and sometimes at night. The kitchen was not as well-supplied as was implied when we booked - there wasn't even a pair of scissors and it was obvious that all the utensils/appliances and pots/pans were second-hand or very cheap (except for the brand new microwave). And I was shocked at the ancient rice cooker sitting in the pantry! There were no extra bed sheets as indicated in their inventory list, so that was annoying given we stayed for 10 days and the washing machine was very small.

Overall, everything was sufficient and we had a great time on the Big Island of Hawaii!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanna100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
836 reviews
25 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Banyan Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Banyan Tree

Address: 76-6288 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2324
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree is a small complex of 20 individually owned condos. There is a mix of owners who live full-time at the complex, owners who live part-time at the complex, long term rentals and owners who vacation rent their condos when they are not staying in them. Every condo is uniquely decorated by their owners. No two are alike! You are not just renting a condo, you are renting someone's home. Each condo does have a full kitchen, no kitchenettes here. There is a heated pool and an adults only hot tub. Check-in/out details and rental policies are different for each condo. The owner or rental agency will give you instructions. There is not a front desk or office. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Banyan Tree Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Banyan Tree Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing