We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alii Villas #319 - comfortable and great value”
Review of Alii Villas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alii Villas Resort
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Alii Villas #319 - comfortable and great value”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed in unit #319, found on VRBO, for 5 nights at the end of May. The unit has been fully remodeled and upgraded with very nice touches. The kitchen is beautiful and actually stocked well enough to be usable if you wanted to actually cook meals there (we didn't). The host has left tons of towels, beach towels, pillows, etc. The on-site condominium manager is super nice (we had a flat tire, he saw my husband moving stuff around and trotted right over to help him change it). The pool and bbq area are also very nice and mostly quiet. I suspect most of the live-in owners are older folk, so the only kids you will see are those who are renters. Unlike others who have mentioned unfavorable interactions with residents, I don't think we ever even saw one.

The downside is that the A/C unit in the bedroom is nowhere near powerful enough to cool the whole condo so we kept the bedroom doors closed so it was cool enough to sleep, but the living area remained somewhat sticky and uncomfortable. Opening the windows and turning on the fans really didn't help. We're from the Pacific NW so heat and humidity that other people wouldn't even notice seem oppressive to me, so that was kind of a bummer. Plus, as others have mentioned, the windows could really use blackout curtains because we were awake around 6am every morning from the sunlight, which isn't really MY idea of a fabulous vacation of sleeping in.

Anybody who has trouble climbing stairs should not stay here, no elevator.

The location is great, but unless you're super healthy and into walking, you're not going to walk into Hilo-town. Luckily there seems to be plenty of free parking in town so that's no big deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaeded07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    14
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

First the "bad" then the "incredibly good". The unit has "outdated" elements such as white formica counters, no garbage disposal, rusted parts of the dishwasher basket, and 70's style furniture, but the following items totally make up for not having "granite counters" or things the in-crowd must desire: books, binoculars, games, puzzles, 3 boogie boards, 3 beach chairs, mats, umbrellas, ice chests, and a kitchen stocked with air-tight sugar, rice, oatmeal, etc., plus spices beyond belief and nice olive oil, vinegars, etc. I'm not sure how much is left by each tenant (I left a great jigsaw puzzle, for example, and two mysteries) but the unit has what you need. I've stayed in other Alii Villa units, and this one is oceanfront, so the two bedrooms were perfect. Finally, Alii Villas as a living, breathing, entity is one great condo complex. The people meet ocean front every evening and chat about the sunset: the bbque tables are in great condition and kept clean; the poolside chairs are brand new in 2013 (I know..I was in a different unit in 2012 in the same complex). The complex has not only the manager (Jack) but also the assistant manager and groundskeepers. In other words...the unit was great, the people are great, the ocean is great...and the granddaughter handling the rental was easy to work with and very professional.

Room Tip: The higher the unit address, the closer to the ocean (I think). 330 is in the next-to-the-last buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I was looking for an inexpensive two-bedroom condo, near downtown, on the water, with a view of the water and a decent pool. This condo is exactly what we wanted. The best thing about this condo is the outstanding, unobstructed view of Kailua Bay from the balcony. The two large beds easily accommodated my family of four (kids 8 and 4). The pool is nice -- deep end is eight feet, shallow end is 3 feet -- and not crowded. The two clean gas grills available for the entire complex are on a nice patio and were always available for our use. The interior of the condo is a little tired, the furniture a bit shabby and no high-end appliances, but very clean and no mold. The only thing that kept me from giving a 5-star rating were the "rules" of the complex. On a few occasions the manager approached us at the pool to tell us to be quiet even though it was early in the evening and we were not shouting or screaming. We were also told not to bring sodas to the pool deck. The manager was not rude, but it was kind of a buzz-kill. Still, it was a relatively minor inconvenience and did not significantly diminish our overall enjoyment of the condo. If your criteria for a condo is similar to mine, I recommend renting this condo.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark5881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I am so in love with Kona and this property. Mind you I'm not old, but not a "spring breaker" either. To be honest, I LOVE the fact that they have rules and regular residents there. The property was extremely well kept AND so quiet! Yes, I like to sleep while on vacation and its comforting to know that someone is actually living on site in case you need assistance. We stayed at the King Kamehaha Courtyard before and the experience was HORRID. Constant noise, tourists in and out, too much drinking and drunks etc... NOT a relaxing experience. Sure, you dont have anyone catering on you hand and foot, BUT if you are looking for a place to stay where it feels like "home", this is it. The hubby and I ate on their awesome Lanai and grilled some fantastic fresh fish on the community Gas BBQ grill by the pool. PLUS, the ocean is literally a 2 minute walk from the unit. We loved having our breakfast looking out at the ocean on the benches they have. So peaceful. For $85 bucks a night, you cant go wrong.

FYI, I dont know what VRB is, but we went through Kona Coast Vacations and they were great to work with.

Room Tip: no fitness center or room service, cause its not a hotel. didn't know how to rate. FYI, the far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Excellent. Stayed four weeks and enjoyed every minute including views from lanai of whales and dolphins just off shore. The pool next door is not a problem. Condo and amenities in excellent condition. Kono village and shopping convenient by driving though unless you're into Ironman type running or biking, it's a little too far to walk. I discovered that the Kono Municipal Swimming Pool is true olympic size and free for lap swimming daily. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Alii Villas and look forward to our next trip. The property is beautifully maintained and centrally located. Our only complaint would be that the unit we stayed in, #123, was not quite as nice as the pictures would lead you to believe. It's a ground floor unit, dark and very musty smelling. When we arrived, we found the smell overpowering and thought about moving out. However, after a few days we realized what a great find the Alii Villas are. The hosts of this unit have thought of everything - no matter what you need, they have it. One word of caution - the advertised "memory foam bed" is actually an old (gold fabric) box spring and mattress with a 2 inch memory foam pad on the top. This makes for an extremely soft mattress which some people will love and others will hate.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed in condo #123 - very nice condo updated and clean had no problem with condo - just had a problem with the residents that lived there - it felt like we were imposing on them - they were not friendly at all - plus rules about everything posted everwhere. The locals residents had a exercise program in the pool every morning at 10 am - so therefore not room for us to have a swim!!!! As quoted in the Big Island Revealed guidebook by Andrew Doughty (great book for Island dos and don'ts). This resort is INSTITUTIONAL FEELING and is not the greatest place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank whitegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.6 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#12 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
#4 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kona Islander Inn
Kona Islander Inn
#34 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
311 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kona Seaspray
Kona Seaspray
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kona Billfisher
Kona Billfisher
#20 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alii Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alii Villas Resort

Property: Alii Villas Resort
Address: 75-6016 Alii Dr., Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tumble out of bed and enjoy a morning ocean walk, returning to breakfast on your Italian tiled lanai overlooking the ocean. The view of the ocean is wonderful. Tastefully renovated dream kitchen with granite countertops, two flat screen TV's, five appliances (including washer/dryer) and romantic bedroom with four poster bed, two new memory foam mattress and beautiful Egyptian bedding. Alii Villas is a popular, well maintained resort located on scenic Alii Drive, with nothing between it and the ocean except palm trees and lush gardens. Everything provided, including custom bath robes and aloha welcome basket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Alii Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alii Villas Hotel Kailua-Kona
Alii Villas Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing