We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”

Bite Me Sportfishing
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.66*
and up
Dolphin Encounter and Kealakekua Bay Reef Snorkel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With 6 top-of-the-line fishing boats to choose from, Bite Me Sportfishing offers diverse Hawaiian charter fishing experiences at their finest. With charters available for private or shared groups of up to 37 people, we can accommodate your dream fishing trip, no matter what your needs. It’s for these reasons and more that we’ve been voted “Best of West Hawaii” for years!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sedona, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Set up this trip for my boyfriends 53 bday.
Front desk staff was rude. Especially Myrrh.
I paid for his trip and bought him a bite met shirt and the front desk staff said nothing to him about it. Captain and deck hand were nice. Boat had bad co2 fumes that made my boyfriend so sick he threw up and he is a seasoned boat, he owns one himself.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deneen W, Manager at Bite Me Sportfishing, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Your boyfriend was very lucky to have you buy his fishing trip and shirt for his birthday. We’re sorry that your boyfriend was seasick on his trip. However, your review is inaccurate. Since you had a unique situation we remember exactly who you are. We followed your instructions when your boyfriend checked in with us. We gave him the shirt and he seemed happy with it. The person that was there, did indeed, wish him a Happy Birthday when he checked in. If she was direct and to the point it was because she was checking in many other guests. We hope the rest of his 53rd birthday was great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    25
    21
    11
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Caught 4 Fish!! Need I Say More!!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Chad and Sandy of the Bite Me 1 gave our family the experience of the trip and probably a lifetime. Luck was also certainly on our side as I know that sport fishing is always a 50/50 that you'll catch a fish especially when you do a half day charter. With a little luck and Captain Chad on our side though, we found the fish within an hour of setting off. Be sure to join Chad on the bridge as there are some comfy seats up there and an excellent view. He enjoys the company as he has to be up there to drive the boat and find the fish! The boat was comfy and Sandy did a great job keeping the deck tidy. His demo of catching a fish was a great learning experience and prepared us all in the event we hooked the big one. If we hadn't caught any, at least we have learned what it would have been like, but we did catch a fish, so more on that.

Our first 2 fish were some beautiful spear fish, followed by a nice size Ono, but those were all warm ups as the last one was an incredible striped marlin, which after reeling in, Sandy expertly brought boat side for pictures and then released. You have to understand that it is exceptionally rare to catch 4 fish in 4 hours sport fishing, so please don't have this expectation, but even had we not got a fish, we saw whales, flying fish and dolphins during our time, just a fantastic excursion.

If you do bag a fish, the Bite Me team make is super easy to take some home. Just tell them how much and just 10-15 minutes after docking the fish was beautifully filleted and ready to go.

This was our family's first trip together to Kona and 5 days in, we were looking for an adventure, well this certainly delivered. Just remember it's called fishing for a reason, if you got one every time you went out, they'd call it "catching"! (Quote by Sandy!)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love the Bite Me!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have been chartering for over 10 years with Bite Me and have never been disappointed! We have caught some outrageous fish and there have also been some down times (fishing wise), but it is always a great time. Brian and his crew always treat you right and put in the time to try and catch the fish. What most people don't realize is that it is "fishing" not "catching" and Kona offers you the chance to catch a monster, but does not guarantee it. Some years it is feast and some years not, but the crew always works hard! Enjoy the view and if the line starts zipping off then great and get ready for the fight of your life.

This year we only caught a couple of small tuna, but Brian and Allen worked hard all day to try and entice the big one, but to no avail. Throughout the years we have brought to the boat 3 Blue Marlin (lost one), 25+ Ahi Tuna, 30+ Mahi Mahi, 4 Short Billed Spear Fish, and numerous other fish. If nothing else roll the dice and maybe you will catch the big one.

Thanks again to Brian and the great staff of Bite Me for a day for fishing!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We booked a six hour private charter for $600 and it was worth the money. We caught two fish and lost one. The trip was better than expected the crew was very nice and provided a lot of information about the fish and tackle. I would recommended this charter and will book with them again if I decided to come back in the future to Kona.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fishing trip of a life time”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A day we will not forget! I felt it was pricey when we handed over the credit card. When we arrived, the boat was top notch with the best fishing equipment. The crew Daneen and Mike work hard to make sure we were happy and have the experience of a life time.

My eleven year old caught a 40 pound short nose spear fish and we caught tuna, within a short time of getting off the boat, they had our fish cleaned,bagged on ice.

Glorious day had by all. This is on our top three of favorite things to do in Kona.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kendrapollack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bite Me Sportfishing also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Bite Me Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing