We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”
Review of Kona Country Club

Kona Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Kona Country Club has been designed by William Bell and sits along the Pacific Ocean with stunning mountain views. This beautiful golf course has breathtaking Kona coastline views, trails of ancient lava flow and is enriched with Hawaiian culture and wild life. This Big Island golf course can be enjoyed by both beginners and advanced golfers. Built in 1966, this William Bell designed course maintains its charm by incorporating natural settings along the Pacific Ocean. Be ready to take a picture on our signature holes #3 and #12. Enjoy seeing the grand splash on hole #13 where you will see the blow hole known as "puka" in Hawaiian. Keep a lookout for Humpback whales during November through March. Home of LPGA Takefuji Classic in 2000 and 2001, this 18 hole championship course offers wide, lush fairways, Bermuda grass greens and numerous sand bunkers.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Ocean course close, driving range closed, restaurant closed, staff unmotivated. Blind shots aplenty on the mountain course make sure you play with a local.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank fishbait1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    35
    11
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and great island course”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Golf options in Kona proper are limited so this is the only game in town. Our last visit to the Kona CC found the mountain course to in great shape. -- substantially better than when I last played there several years ago. (The ocean course is closed for renovation for the next 9-12 months so if you want ocean front golf, you need to go up to Kohala resorts) The mountain course provides first class views not found on other courses on the island, which gives you something to look at while waiting due to slow play. A big downside was that we had to cut our round short because carts had to be in by 6pm, even though we had ample daylight left and could have easily finished our round. In Fact, both the pro shop guy and cart guy both beat us over the head with the need to have the carts back by 6, and not a moment later.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Koa-sfo-lih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Views are spectacular, staff is friendly, and food is great...curry dishes are delightful, served in papaya fruit cups!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golf”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The golf course awesome and the breakfast we had in the cafe was wonderful! Good service and friendly staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LCR1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our family just ate at the Kona Country Club on Alii Drive which is open to the public. We normally eat there at least once per stay and enjoy the food. It is a good place for breakfast and has a nice view of Keahou bay. The price is reasonable and the service is good. I always recommend the French toast to all of our guests.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank meltsmetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kona Country Club also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing